We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palm Canyon Resort & Spa
Ranked #60 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We were assigned this hotel on Hotwire and just wanted a place to stay in Palm Springs after a long day of flying across the country. Look, the rooms are a little dated, but they were clean, no offensive smells, no bedbugs, and quiet for that matter. When we got there in the afternoon we went out to the pool area and had a few overpriced beers ($5 for a bud I think) but the pool looked quite nice. Anyways, I slept good that night and we were off to the desert the next morning!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hiker49463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    235
    170
    98
    97
See reviews for
324
190
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eldridge, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012 via mobile

Our 2 bedroom/1 bath villa was a good place to stay for a week. We had a kitchen, dining area, patio area with 3 chairs, 3 tvs, and a great pool area. I would not say that this is a five-star resort. If you want that sort of resort, maybe go to Indian Wells, but if you want a family-friendly clean, comfortable, condo for an extended stay in Palm Springs, this is a good choice. Our room faced the pool on the ground floor. There was lots of activity, but that did not bother us. Resort provided pool towels, shampoo, conditioner, and lotion, housekeeping if wanted, plenty of clean towels, and kitchen amenities. We had a frozen pizza one night, made guacamole twice, and had breakfast every day in our unit. We had all the kitchen utensils needed for our one week stay. The bed was very comfortable with a pillow top mattress. We had our own sink in the master bedroom. We had a king sized bed in one room, a queen sized bed in the second bedroom, and a pullout sofa bed in the living room. Sliding doors led to a patio off the living room. Some appliances/electronics may not have been technologically state of the art, but we are on vacation. We had wifi, cable tv and would stay here again. I booked through Expedia and feel that we had a good value for our money. I recommend for families looking for room to spread out and stay in a unit rather than a hotel room with two queen beds. After reading some of these reviews on Trip Advisor, I was not sure what to expect at Palm Canyon Resort, but I would stay again, and recommend it to other like minded travelers. The pool is the star here! It is big, clean, and well-maintained. It was open from 8 am to 10 pm. There is also a pool side bar/grill that serves food and drink during those same hours. We didn't use it but it is a nice service provided. There are also planned activities provided free every day, such as a desert hike, ping pong tournament, volleyball, and many others. There is a basketball court and fitness room available, too, at no extra cost. We did not use either of these either, as we were usually gone during the day. I really liked the location of this resort, right on the south end of town. I went on a walk one morning, and the neighborhood is great for walking, having sidewalks everywhere.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank joaniemaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Ok, so this my second time staying at Palm Canyon resorts in Palm Springs. The first time was a learning experience, and wasn’t much of a bad trip (loud noises, and hot Palm Springs summer days). It had been almost a year earlier since I have stayed here last. The last time I stayed here the front desk representative said they were remodeling the rooms. So it was food for thought for a second trip. Now the second time was a total waste of money and time. I never knew of a place that could be so tacky and cheap after a remodel in a city that’s surrounded by nice resorts. They care more about the outside appearance of the resorts than the rooms and guests.
My villa itself was small and super outdated and very dark. It felt as if I was trapped in some awful episode of Miami Vice. Upon entering the villa the smell of stale air filled the room. I’m guessing the house keeping staff feels that since there isn’t anyone in the rooms there isn’t a need to keep them fresh smelling? Since the smell of the last guests was left to fill the air in the room, this is where this review began to take shape. Mind you this is a remodeled room. One half of the villa was so dimly lit I had to remove the lampshade to light up the rest of the room. Who stays in these rooms sub terrain mole people? No to mention I was sandwiched on a floor with families with kids complaining and making noise in the middle of the night. It’s a common thing when at a resort but still worth mentioning. But thanks for the false fire alarms that went on for about a half an hour that’s not so common.
The bed in the villa was ok until it happened. (Keep reading and see what happened). For a remodel the villa seemed super old and out dated in a modern age. This room was filled with outdated appliances and faucets, and a very old pre millennium standard definition TV. The TV was a joke. Yes I’m reviewing the TV too. It was one of the older fat standard definition models with inadequate ports. You earn pretty good money at this place and there is packing tape with the word “good” written on it stuck to the top of my TV like was from a second hand store in my villa. The set didn’t even have a HDMI port (its 2012 is pretty common port these days) so much for using my laptop for Netflix. Ok now on to what had me really write this review. My villa has the most disgusting to wake up to, SOMEONE ELSES USED BAND AID WAS IN THE BED AND STUCK MY CHEEK!!!! So now I know the maids and housekeeping staff don’t clean anything. There were long hairs all over the villa; it wouldn’t be a problem if I had long hairs myself. I don’t I am bald. I would have been better off staying at a motel 6. Ok I’m reasonable, I pay good money for things and I’d expect a room with clean sheets at least. This is a resort with the worst customer service, in history. After a rude 6 am wake up to a possible hepatitis scare I called the front staff and alerted them and requested management. I called down and was told a manager wasn’t in, which was odd to not have management on duty for a resort. Four hours later I go down to the front desk only to get offered a dining certificate. Are you serious?? A dining certificate this isn’t a suitable fix for all the problems that were wrong with this room. Fine I take the certificate and they said they would send housekeeping back up to clean the bathroom and change the sheets. I’m gone about a hour and a half and surprise it was absolutely the same sort of. Most of the visible hairs were picked up the villa stopped smelling like the last guests and then sheets were changed so I thought. There were stains on the pillow cases. How did you manage that when you’re the one making the beds? I wondered. Once again I'm back on the phone calling housekeeping and looking for management. This resort isn’t worth staying at let alone being used as a timeshare. So my three day weekend was a wasted due to bad housekeeping staff and overall bad management. With all the other resorts around in Palm Springs, I’ll be sure to use Yelp and trip advisor to find better places to stay in the future. Be warned this is a awful place to vacation at even for a short weekend. You’re better off at some other boutique resort, or just skip Palm Springs all together.

Room Tip: Here's a tip, don't stay here. unless you really love mediocre rooms and poor service. Stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Terrence O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Palm Springs hotels

West Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We had been planning our trip from Canada there for 6 months and have to say that it was very disappointing!!
The outside is very deceiving because once you get into the building it is very grungy and outdated. We were staying in a two bedroom villa and when we opened the door all we could smell was urine so we immediately phoned the front desk and asked to be moved - which they did.
The kitchen was barely stocked and actually missing things from a set of six so we had to phone the front desk to let them know so we wouldn't be charged for the items. I have to say the only good thing about the suite is that the beds were comfortable but everything else was the cheapeast quality.....
The pool was very nice but nowhere on the web site does it say that there is a height restriction for the slides and travelling with my kids it would've been nice to know! They claim you can't go on the big slide unless you're 48inches and measure you with an old broom stick - my kids were both too short to go on it which was bizarre seeing as we had just come from Disneyland and they were tall enough there?? When I let them know that they responded by asking me if I'd like them to measure the stick...not very friendly!
I would definitley never stay there again nor would I recommend it to anyone...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rae F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Let me start by saying to the only reason we stayed at Palm Canyon Resort because my mother in law has a timeshare there. We had visited my mother in law there once before, so we kind of knew what to expect.

We arrived late at night on our first day, and were placed in a room that had not yet been cleaned by housekeeping - in fact, the room was absolutely disgusting. The manager was kind enough to upgrade us to a 1 bedroom suite because of the mix up, which definitely made our day... Like most of Palm Springs, this hotel is rather dated - the furniture was all pastel pink and the phone had a dial up internet jack on the side - I couldn't help but laugh when I saw that! Don't expect wifi here either - in fact, your cell phone won't even work - my husband and I had horrible reception for the entire stay... if you wanted to use the internet you had to go into the main office and pay to use the internet there or walk down the street with your smartphone until you were away from the resort... Really??

What is the hotel's saving grace is the pool complex. We had our son with us and he loved the pool slides!! The bar / restaurant out by the pool was also a really nice perk. I took advantage of the spa as well & got a facial, though it was very expensive.

The hotel did have a lot of activities to choose from on various days of the week, though we chose not to. The hotel itself is located close to downtown Palm Springs so you are close to restaurants, shopping and all the rest.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amcozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
4.8 km away
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
#24 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,572 reviews
5.0 km away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#37 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,744 reviews
7.2 km away
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
#41 of 73 in Palm Springs
2,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Caliente Tropics Resort
Caliente Tropics Resort
#44 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,284 reviews
4.6 km away
Palm Mountain Resort & Spa
Palm Mountain Resort & Spa
#35 of 73 in Palm Springs
387 reviews
2.8 km away
The Saguaro Palm Springs
The Saguaro Palm Springs
#33 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Canyon Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Canyon Resort & Spa

Property: Palm Canyon Resort & Spa
Address: 2800 S Palm Canyon Dr, Palm Springs, CA 92264-9337
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Palm Canyon Resort & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palm Canyon Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Canyon Resort And Spa
Palm Canyon Hotel Palm Springs
Palm Canyon Resort Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing