We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience San Jacinto Mountain
from US$25.95
More Info
from US$105.00
More Info
Reviews (870)
Filter reviews
870 results
Traveller rating
709
140
16
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
709
140
16
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews degrees cooler tram ride hiking trails ranger station aerial tramway amazing views desert floor the palm springs tram state park pine trees round valley mountain station mountain top valley floor great hiking the desert view trail cable car
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 870 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2017

The tram ride up the mountain is spectacular and the views of the Coachella valley from San Jacinto are breathtaking. It is hard to believe this alpine setting exists just a short ride from the desert valley. Great way to spend a few hours on a hot day!

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank DarmenW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

While it was 102-degrees in Palm Springs, we knew to expect at least a 30-degree temperature differential in the mountains. And even though our lightweight polartecs were unnecessary I would encourage day visitors to bring with them as a sensible precaution. While the trails we opted for were low impact, a sturdy hiking shoe is advisable and not the sandals, flip-flops and smooth soled shoes so many of the casual visitors were wearing. Depending on time constraints, you can have a very enjoyable 2-hr hike on one trail or spend the entire day exploring a number of the routes. Some of the trails will take you through scenic groves of tall pines on fairly level terrain. With a slight gain in elevation, we happened upon a 5 station series of ‘notches’ that provide magnificent vistas of the valley and surrounding mountains out to the Salton Sea. We almost passed by the separate Grubbs Notch and, though not well marked, it is not to be missed. Before departing the mountaintop, you should definitely go out onto the wrap around deck at the restaurant level, walk around the building and go up the metal staircase for a rewarding viewpoint.

Date of experience: October 2017
3  Thank DP49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

We enjoyed hiking the shorter paths here. There's a paved pathway that circles around to the bottom. It was steep. But, it wasn't that difficult to get back to the top. We just took our time and stopped frequently to look at the views.

Desert View and Long Valley trails are easy dirt trails that are mostly level. A few stones to go around. Sneakers or hiking shoes work best because of the dirt. Views were awesome and well worth the time. There are picnic tables available if you want to bring along food. And there are lockers at the mountain station if you have extras that you don't want to carry on a hike.

Temperatures can be cooler, so a jacket is a good idea. Take a bottle of water too. Restrooms are at the mountain station. If you aren't used to the altitude, it's more difficult to breathe at this altitude. We found that it wasn't difficult if we took out time.
There are plenty of more strenuous hiking trails, but we didn't attempt those.

There is an informative movie that plays continuously before you go out the door. It isn't very long. Take a few minutes to watch it if you can.

We definitely enjoyed our day

Date of experience: October 2017
2  Thank KatWat39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

Had a fantastic few hours here with girlfriends The cable car ride was awesome.I loved the rotating floor which allowed us to see the full view around us.Not to be missed whilst visiting Palm Springs.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Humberdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

My brothers and I took two different hikes- ours was one hour , relatively flat and easy with beautiful views, their's was about three hours, more demanding and also satisfying. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank couplessPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews