We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rick's Desert Grill

Rick's Desert Grill
Ranked #26 of 316 Restaurants in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$28
Cuisines: American, Cuban, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
99 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Really cute atmosphere, somewhere between a family coffee shop and a stylish upscale diner. Wonderful service, friendly and fast. The chicken tamale was delicious and so were the black beans and plaintains. They have a mixed menu of American, Mexican and Cuban. The sliders were good and the salmon was very good. They offer "petite" plates so you don't have to have a huge portion, unless you want to.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank nadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    95
    30
    12
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warminster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
131 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Walking distance from Rendezvous B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

We enjoyed excellent service and great food when we walked in for a Tuesday night dinner. One of us had a ahi tuna salad with 2 large pieces of tuna on a bed of greens. The other had the Cuban ribeye withe veggies, rice and beans. Both were delicious. We didn't really have room for dessert but couldn't pass up the flan - thankfully, because it was the best ever and there's always room for flan!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best coleslaw ever!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

lol...ok...maybe not everyone is crazy about coleslaw ...but I sure am and it truly is the best with that little cuban flare to it that makes it outstanding!!
Great service, super sweet host. Nice little touch with a free deviled egg instead of bread!! so nice not to always get loaded up with carbs.
I had the fish taco's and never having had fish tacos before I did not know what to expect...totally yummy!! I am sure when I have them anywhere else it will be a tough dish to beat! I also had the asparagus soup which almost tasted better than my home made asparagus soup...and I make dam good soup! The prices were the most reasonable on the strip and its definitely a place I would love to go back to.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank vonnyline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good food for a good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Half of Palm Springs showed up the night I first went to this restaurant but I think that was because we had just had a huge power outage. Nonetheless the food was very good and priced reasonably so I imagine they draw a good sized crowd on any night. Their menu is Cuban themed and if you have not had this taste before then I suggest you go give it a try.

Although they were very crowded the staff was very pleasant and managed to make the wait seem not quite so long.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rkw820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london uk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food at Ricks Palm Springs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

We first found Rick,s last March 2010 when we were staying at a budget hotel on North Palm Canyon Drive . There are 2 "Ricks" one that serves superb breakfasts and lunch until 3pm ( a little like an American Diner) and the other a little further down the road on the corner of VistavChino and Palm Canyon Drive, which opens at 3pm until, I believe around 11pm, which serves evening meals and is more of an "evening" place.

The food in both places is excellent and although not " up market" it is good "homemade "type of food. Service is friendly and efficient.
The prices are good and as an example , I had one night a really nice T bone steak with Fies and a selection of vegetables for $17.99/. Another occasion I had a Cuban rib eye steak with Garlic with a selection of potatoes or Rice and black beans, for $15.99.

I believe that they will also shortly be serving Draft beer , besides tha usual bottled variety. Good for Cocktails too.

They are classified as Cuban American food. Well worth a visit. We keep going back.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank supafly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rick's Desert Grill also viewed

Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 

Been to Rick's Desert Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing