We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First impressions do count”
Review of Hyatt Palm Springs

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Palm Springs
Ranked #36 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Palm Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“First impressions do count”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I had the opportunity to stay at the Hyatt Regency in Palm Springs. First, the location is hard to beat. This is the only major hotel that is on Palm Canyon Drive and literally within walking distance to all the restaurants, shopping and sights. Here comes the however - I really think that first impressions count. As I arrived I parked underground and the signs directed me to the parking garage elevator. The space was tired, scuffed and not reflective of a Hyatt Regency hotel. (Yes, I know it is a garage, but I want to point out it is part of the entire experience, which to me begins when I turn in off the street.) The elevator from the garage to the lobby is dirty, in need of a good cleaning and new paint and paneling. Once I arrived in the lobby, I knew I was in a Hyatt Regency. The space was cool, and fit in with the city.(As opposed to the drab outside) The staff was friendly and I had the key to my room in no time. Once again the elevator to my room was in need of maintenance. What's the matter Hyatt? The tough stuff is in the details! Your management should notice scuffs, damage and railing covers inside the elevators that are coming off! My stay was decent enough, although my room was supposed to have Queen beds, they looked more like Doubles.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to stay on the Palm Canyon Drive side, the street is not noisy and the balcony d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bsimonis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattPSGM, General Manager at Hyatt Palm Springs, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
First impressions absolutely do matter and I will definately be addressing these issues you experienced with our staff. There is no doubt the garage is old....and could use a facelift. I always recommend the valet services of the hotel...they provide such a wonderful arrival and departure experience for our guests. Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback so that we may improve on the areas that need attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    679
    523
    283
    160
    101
See reviews for
432
647
98
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, CA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We enjoyed our 2-night stay here very much. The all-suite hotel boasts huge rooms with modern decor, perfect for our family of 4. Rooms are clean and very quiet. We loved our balcony overlooking the main street, with gorgeous sunrise views.

The location is walking distance to shops and all the dining and nightlife of downtown Palm Springs. Not exactly a "resort" but they do have a nice gym and basic pool (salt-water, I believe) and spa. Nothing fancy like some of the high-end resorts in the area, but more than adequate. The staff was friendly and professional. We were allowed early check-in (1pm) and late check-out (1pm). Very nice!

Be advised there is a $20/day resort fee, which supposedly covers the water and coffee in the room and who knows what else. And parking is $15/day, although there is free street parking behind the hotel as was suggested by another poster. These fees are the way they recoup some money lost by the low room rates. Hard to complain as we got a fantastic rate of $51/nite on Priceline, but not everyone will get this deal so the extra fees may matter.

Highly recommend, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newportfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattPSGM, General Manager at Hyatt Palm Springs, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Most guests who never have stayed with us before are always pleasantly surprised with our location in downtown Palm Springs, our two room suites with large balaconies and the fabulous views whether you are on the mountain side or the city side. Our resort fee is $15.00 per night and includes internet access, fitness center, two bottles of water daily, free local phone calls, complimentary business center access and nightly appetizer's during happy hour and we are very competitve with all the large hotels in Palm Springs. Thanks so much for staying with us and taking the time to write a wonderful review of your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Just had 11 glorious days in sunny Palm springs at the Hyatt it was mostly really really good !! just a couple of hiccups but they were sorted pretty quick. We made some great friendships with some of the staff there especially Micheal, Adrienne and Ember these guys make you so welcome and provided some great evenings at the bar when we returned from eatin y"Thanks Guys"
Alittle updating would make the place a little better but overall a great stay

Room Tip: Ask for aroom at the back of the hotel looking at the mountains as it is quieter there
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theoldsWeymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattPSGM, General Manager at Hyatt Palm Springs, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
I am very fortunate to have some of the BEST bartenders in Palm Springs. I like to create a "Cheers" atmosphere in our lounge and our bartenders certainly have stepped up to the plate - what's remarkable is that they are sincerely genuine when it comes to providing excellent service and a fun atmosphere. Thanks so much for acknowledging Michael, Adrienne and Ember...I will most certainly share this information at our next employee rally. Come back soon...we are opening an outdoor restaurant and bar in front of the hotel and boy are we going to have some fun out there! Thanks for staying with us...we truly appreciate your business. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We traveled to Palm Springs over Christmas and stayed at Hyatt Regency Suites. They provided microwave and crib promptly without any extra charge. Weekend buffet was included in our stay and the spread was great! The location is awesome! Located in the heart of downtown with amazing restaurants and cute little shops. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floor, facing the mountain/golf course have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarab18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattPSGM, General Manager at Hyatt Palm Springs, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Nothing better than spending Christmas in Palm Springs wearing flip flops and T-Shirts! I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed the holiday season with us and that we created some lasting memories for you. Thanks for sharing your impression of our hotel and service and we look forward to having you back at the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Wow - right at the start line! Perfect location. Closed the street right on the main drag the night before with dozens of High School Bands and the Bike Carnival atmosphere in full gear. All rooms are suites and nicely styled. View from 5th floor room was very nice of golf course and mountains. Staff was super helpful - especially since we brought our three wiener dogs. They are tearing up corner restaurant 7 days a week and might even be finished by now. Poolside after the race was very nice with plenty of heaters and nice bar staff. There is a nice grassy spot for dogs that prefer grass vs the crushed granite area that is right out the door and many dogs seemed to enjoy. Most all the restaurants along the main drag were also dog friendly.

Room Tip: Higher floors with a mountain view over the pool seemed to be idea for views and noise control.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OCTraveldude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattPSGM, General Manager at Hyatt Palm Springs, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
You were here at the perfect time. The Tour de Palm Springs drew more than 10,000 bikers to our valley all to rasie money for local charities. We got some great pictures from our rooftop of all the bikers getting ready to pedal their way through beautiful Coachella Valley. Our outdoor restaurant is almost finished and we are hoping to open on March 1st. Live entertainment on Friday and Saturday nights will make this one of the hottest places to enjoy an evening in Palm Springs...good food, good service, and good entertainment! Come back soon so you can experience it! Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.8 km away
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
#24 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,572 reviews
0.1 km away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,257 reviews
0.9 km away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
0.7 km away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
0.5 km away
Hilton Palm Springs
Hilton Palm Springs
#18 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Palm Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Palm Springs

Property: Hyatt Palm Springs
Address: 285 North Palm Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-5525
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#10 Family Hotel in Palm Springs
#11 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
#20 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Palm Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Springs' only all suite, newly renovated hotel located in the heart of the historic village. Just footsteps from shopping, restaurants, galleries, museums, casino and theaters. Enjoy a mountain or village view from your private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Palm Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Suites Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Hyatt Regency Palm Springs
Palm Springs Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing