We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come for the Crab Won Tons-You’ll Be Hooked! Believe Me.”
Review of City Wok

City Wok
Ranked #64 of 295 Restaurants in Palm Desert
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Description: City Wok offers fresh, made from scratch Chinese cuisine at affordable prices. Each dish is made to order using the highest quality ingredients. It's our 23rd year in the Coachella Valley. Dine in. Efficient take out and delivery.
Reviewed 15 January 2018

If there’s such a thing as a five star quick/casual restaurant that delivers, City Wok definitely is one of them. If you’re hungry for Chinese Cuisine and live in Palm Desert —there’s a City Wok (on the northwest corner of Monterrey and Country Club) waiting to deliver some of the best quick/casual Chinese cuisine around. City Wok has managed to take quick/casual Chines food to a new level with high quality and flavorful menu items —dine in, take out, or delivery. The restaurant prides itself on its use of only the freshest produce, meat, and seafood available as well creating dishes so flavorful and vibrant you’ll be lucky if you don’t become addicted.

City Wok has some great appetizers like the China Plate or some crispy chicken Won Tons. Their crab wontons are The Best around —there’s no comparison! Each sauce used at City Wok is homemade and every meal is made to order. My wife loves the Wokamole -Pureed edamame and broccoli with Asian spices and fresh lemon juice, served with crispy won ton skins. You can even add a touch of your own creativity to your order, and City Wok will do their best to accommodate your wishes. City Wok uses state of the art packaging of your online delivery order so when your food arrives you will always get fresh hot food, the same as if you were sitting in the restaurant itself (You can check out the full delivery menu online).

City Wok’s salads are delectable — like the Chinese Chicken or Chin’s Spinach salad. And their Won Ton soup never fails to warm the body and soul like City Wok’s Spicy Saigon Noodle Soup. There are house specials at City Wok like the Chinese Burrito or Catfish Two Ways, —or my favorite Candied Walnut Shrimp —all simply delicous. Whether it is pork, beef, chicken, shrimp, or straight vegetables you are seeking, City Wok has you covered with a variety of flavorful dishes. As should be, there is always the rice and noodle dishes as well to choose from on the delivery menu.

The restaurant’s kitchen affords a behind-the-scenes peek as gobs of freshly battered orange chicken and heaping mounds of chow mein noodles fly in the woks. The menu at City Wok contains  all the familiar Chinese favorites one would expect: the delectable kung Pao Chicken and sumptuous Sweet and Sour pork —including Broccoli Beef and Singapore curry noodles —not to forget, the their incredible Won Ton Soup!. House specials like Chicken Lettuce Cups, Garlic Chili Scallops and Spicy Salt and Pepper Calamari. Entrees are also their for your enjoyment.

City Wok’s customer service is exceptional —you can ask for your meal just the way you like it  —and they always deliver! And on the rare occasion you’re ever disappointed with an order they will do anything to accommodate your needs and make you happy . City Wok’s food is consistently amazing  —excellently prepared, addictive and of the highest of quality. Just go fo for the Won Tons -you’ll be hooked! Believe me, you’ll know what I mean.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking88, Owner at City Wok, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Wow Michael! Thank you for the wonderful review/testimonial. As someone with 82 published reviews on this site, that means something. You've obviously experienced all aspects of our concept.

Couple minor corrections. We've changed the Catfish to Filet of Sole. It's incredible in black bean sauce. Also, we're on the corner of COOK and Country Club. Not Monterey.

After 23 years here in the desert, it's very satisfying to hear how much we're appreciated.

Best regards.

Stuart Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2018

Ordered home delivery. One of the main dishes of the order, shrimp lobster sauce, was missing . Cashew chicken had practically no chicken, and Mongolian beef overcooked. Rice dry. Pricey to boot. Never again.

Thank wolverine61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking88, Owner at City Wok, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2018

Dear Wolverine.

Please accept our sincere apologies for this inconvenience.

Please contact me directly for a full refund if our staff has not handled this issue already. Sdavis@citywok.com.

Best regards.

Stuart Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

This was our first time picking up from City Wok, which came recommended by some friends from home. Given we have many options for Chinese/Asian food where we live, we come to expect at least a minimum standard. Unfortunately, everything we ordered here, from the mongolian beef to the sesame chicken was not good. Even the sweet and sour sauce was unfortunately one of the worst I have had. It pains me to write this review, but this was just not a good experience and our group was left hungry after the meal.

Thank bigsur221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking88, Owner at City Wok, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Bigsur.

It must've been very disappointing to have a negative experience after our restaurant was recommended by a friend.

The 3 dishes you mentioned are obviously some of our more popular items. We sell hundreds of orders per week of these.

We will look very closely at this as the previous reviewer said the same thing about the same items. (Wondering if you were together?).

We'd like to make it up to you and show you why your friends recommended us. It would be very much appreciated if you gave us that chance.

Please contact me directly at either sdavis@citywok.com or 7603467764.

Thanks very much.

Stuart Davis



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

The food from this place was horrible. The Mongolian Beef was like chewing gum.The Sesame Chicken was terrible
Their sauces were not even close to what they were suppose to be. To be fair the Pot Stickers were good. Look for some place else to eat Chinese.

Thank Howie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking88, Owner at City Wok, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear Howie.

Please accept our sincere apologies for a meal that was apparently well below your standards and ours.

We've been serving the Coachella Valley for 23 years and have always prided ourselves on a fresh and tasty product. Our entire menu is made from scratch and to order. This includes all.of our sauces.

We'd like the opportunity to serve you again to prove this was not a normal occorance by any means. I can be reached directly at sdavis@citywok.com or 7603467764.

Thank you for your time and input.

Best regards.

Stuart Davis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

One of favorite desert Chinese restaurants. Informal atmosphere, broad menu and excellent choices and will not leave hungry. Prices reasonable and you will love the portions and food. Usually pretty busy every time have visited, however, waits not excessive. Have always found service to be good. Recommend the Chicken and mixed vegetable bowl. A challenge to finish.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed City Wok also viewed

Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 
Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 
Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to City Wok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing