We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top public access course”

Desert Willow Golf Resort
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Varied elevations and unique water features have been carefully incorporated into the indigenous desert landscape at this prestigious Coachella Valley course.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
128 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Top public access course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

36 holes with public access. City owned but the quality of the best private courses in the desert.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank otisokansascity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    57
    16
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

I haven't played the course but, I have eaten there. I would recomend it!

Helpful?
Thank Thepianoperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Can be busy and for good reason.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed at the Westin Desert Willow Villas which, coincidentally, do not own these courses but have a working relationship. Both courses, Mountain View and Fire Cliff, are very well maintained and, if you choose the proper tee box, can be a good test. Fire Cliff a little more difficult and a little prettier, if I had to choose. My only suggestion to them was to work on the tee boxes to level/flatten them out as several were not. We played three times this trip, the third day was very busy. To the staff`s credit, they effectively marshalled the course and improved the pace. Consistent on course cart service as well.
Would also recommend th eclub house for meals before or meals and drinks after with great views.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChipMeade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best in the Desert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

This place - Firecliff course - is fabulous. Great pace - Vista on almost every hole and great condition. Lovely clubhouse and restaurant for apres-golf fun. We play this every year!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank irysh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indio, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Who golfs?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Very good restaurant. Lovely views. Great place to plan an event.

Helpful?
Thank therealOracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Desert Willow Golf Resort also viewed

Palm Desert, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, California Desert
 

Been to Desert Willow Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing