We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpretentious and delicious”
Review of Le Normandie - CLOSED

Le Normandie
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Los Altos, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unpretentious and delicious”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Friendly service and delicious French cooking with an emphasis on satisfying your palate rather than impressing your eyes with showmanship. Go elsewhere if you're trying to impress someone with tuxedo-clad waiters, extensive wine selections and ocean views. Go here if you want a well-prepared meal served with a smile.
Our Saturday evening dinner was accompanied by live jazz that was performed at a volume that still allowed for table conversations to be heard. A nice touch.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    10
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tn.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

This is a great find. The food is amazing. It is not fancy nor expensive. The service is friendly and the food is so good.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smjsmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We spent the night at the seven gable inn, and the concierge told us to go try Le Normandie. Lets just say I have been to some expensive places all around the world and five star restaurants. This place was amazing. The onion soup and the duck was to die for. 5 star in my book

Helpful?
Thank steve l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
126 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in Pacific Grove”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

This is a family run restaurant with great service, friendly service, reasonable prices and food to die for. Seriously. I had pork roast in cream sauce. It's the best I've ever had in the USA, bringing back memories of meals eaten in Normandy, France. The vegetables were perfectly cooked - fresh, delicious and beautifully presented. The bread was served straight from the oven with crunchy crust, soft inside. We shared a homemade dessert of baked raspberry tart on almond crust with homemade vanilla ice cream. Oh my! Don't miss this if you are in the Monterey Peninsula area.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank APBowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply marvelous !”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

My wife and I stumbled upon this little secret from Trip Advisor. We came down to experience the AT&T Pebble Beach Pro Am and treated ourselves to a tasty French restaurant. Wonderful food. Service friendly and timely. Can't wait to return. Marie and family are great hosts. Russ & Cathy from Pleasanton

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happyaspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Normandie also viewed

Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing