We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”
Review of il vecchio

il vecchio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Award winning authentic Italian food on the Monterey Peninsula. We serve dinner every night from 5 pm, Lunch Monday - Friday noon til 1:30 pm and Sunday Brunch every Sunday from 11 am - 2 pm. You will enjoy our wine list with very reasonably priced wonderful wines. We also serve beer. We have a catering menu and host rehearsal dinners and other special occasion large parties. Our food is loved by the locals for being consistently fresh and delicious. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Monterey, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

This is a real find on the generally overpriced Monterey Peninsula-excellent Italian food, friendly and prompt service, nice ambience, all at a reasonable price. Recommend going during the week or out of tourist season so you can get in-although it's fairly new the word is getting around fast on what an outstanding find it is.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tom w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    124
    50
    19
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LINCOLN
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“great pasta in PG”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Just finished 4 days on the Monterey Peninsula and we found a great new place to eat.
This was our first visit but it won't be our last. Seven of us ordered a mix of things and arrived at this joint conclusion. Their pasta is just outstanding...made fresh at the restaurant. I had spareribs in a tomato sauce that were mediocre at best...not meaty and the sauce was poor --but the pastas were just outstanding. We tried to go back a second night but they were already booked.

The resturant has a nice feel to it, the service is good, you can see into the kitchen where staff are very busy. Prices are good too. Those wonderful pasta dishes were running about 11 to 12 dollars.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe-Lincoln-CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

From the bread served with a pepper/onion/olive oil mixture to the ragu lamb pasta, rock cod and the BEST cannelloni ever, we all thought it the GREATEST!!
Also with our reservation, we were seated immediately.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campton, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Very nice food and people.”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Went here based on Tripadvisor reviews. Was not disappointed. Managed to walk in at 6:30 on a Saturday night w/o reservation. Probably got last unreserved table. Even though full, the place was not noisy

Service was excellent. I had the lamb ragu which was great. Wife had pesto cod which she loved. Would definitely return if we lived around here. Price was reasonable - two entrees, 4 glasses wine, two desserts and two coffees - $104 including tip.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nhraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Grove, CA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Welcoming and Delicious!”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Il Vecchio restaurant is our new favorite place to eat in Pacific Grove (or Carmel/Monterey for that matter). The food is amazing . . . simple but elegant. Always delicious. The wine pairings and appetizers are perfect, and the dessert is scrumptious. At our table, we tried two types of gnocchi and two pastas, the antipasti, and three desserts. We took the server's wine advice, and just had a wonderful evening. We felt like old friends of the establishment. We'll definitely be back. Because the food is so special, it would be a great place for an anniversary or special night out. But casual attire is perfectly acceptable. So it's good for your average Tuesday night, too! Yum.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PrincessAndThePeaPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed il vecchio also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to il vecchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing