We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveller rating
23
29
26
11
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
29
26
11
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews death valley cafe restaurant we loved our stay road trip large tv two queen beds stayed here for one night las vegas tipi wifi crash sierras ac desert oasis
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 114 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2018

We thought this would be a different experience for somewhere to stay when we saw the teepees on the website.

When we arrived, the office door was locked and we had to wait for someone to let us in. We were given towels and taken to the teepee we had booked.

We were told the main light didn't work as they had to disconnect it change the bulb, no apology.

There was a small electric heater in the room and 3 double beds. There was a small opening in the top of the teepee where the canvas hadn't been covered over properly so it was a bit chilly at night and there was also light coming in.

It was extremely noisy - very near the main road with trucks going past all night and also other guests turning up late and sitting outside making a lot of noise.

There is a cafe that opens at 6pm isn and that was very busy. The menu is limited - sandwiches, nachos, baked potato but better than nothing and cheap.

The server in the cafe was rushed off his feet but did a great job at trying to take orders and serve and clear up all at the same time, he was lovely as was the chef.

The teepee was overpriced for what you got and also the toilets (2 shared) ran out of toilet paper early on in the evening.

Give it a miss if you can find somewhere better to stay as it wasn't the experience we hoped for.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank B0b1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018

A. You feel most at home in a trailer park -- because it is, quite literally, a single wide trailer park, wherein the accommodations are a choice between tipis (quite cute, actually) and an array of seedy and well worn single wide trailers.

B. You don't mind taking out the trash of the previous guest, which consisted of *extremely* old and curdled dairy products.

C. You prefer your blinds to be tattered, torn and hanging off the window.

D. Working air conditioning is not important when at the doorway to Death Valley.

The bottom line is that the pictures placed on this website simply do not reflect what we walked into. This is an old worn down trailer park. They were nice enough at check in but the accommodations are the worst thing I have ever seen being passed off as guest rooms. We spent about 90 minutes in our room debating where to go from there. The couch and chairs were dirty, the blinds were falling off the windows, the room was as hot as it was outside, and then there was the garbage. We wound up leaving after just 90 minutes and driving all the way to Bishop to find somewhere we weren't concerned to put our heads on the pillows.

Honestly, it wasn't even cheap--totally worth it to drive further.

Room tip: Don't bother staying in the single wide trailers.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ttreadway02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

We had a tipi, horse 3. It cost about $88,- and al we did get is a small queen bed, 2 small bedside table and 2 lamps, one didn’t work. Also on the floor were some electric boxes. The bed was clean but it was not a very good quality. We also get 2 towels for. The bathroom was old and they were building new ones. The problem was they did it in the evening. The old bathrooms (2) were clean as you can expect to be. Housekeeping was really trying. We were promised to get wi-fi but it didn’t run at all. Also after asking at the counter no wi-fi at all. Outside the tipi was for us one wooden bench. It was not for 2 people, no table nothing. Again I started this review with the cost and that is too much for what we get. We could better go to some inn, it’s is cheaper and you get your own bathroom who is cleaner.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronald V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018 via mobile

We paid $110 for one night in a teepee. Which looking at the reviews I thought would be a nice experience. Well it wasn't. The price doesn't include breakfast. Any drinks you want including water need to purchased from the cafe or office, adding to the price. The teepee only has beds, a small table with a lamp and a fan. There are showers and toilets on site which are grubby and the showers are freezing cold. At night the security lights outside the tent switch on and off every few minutes. The traffic noise from the main road is a joke. It doesn't let up, thankfully we had our ear plugs with us which dulled the noise slightly. There are a couple of guys running this place but they seemed a bit distant when I asked them questions. Not sure if they own it or just working there. This is by far the worst place we've stayed. I wouldn't recommend it if the price is high. It's only worth $30 a night. Don't be ripped off by paying any more.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank penelope_pit_stop123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth J, Owner at Olancha RV Park and Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2018

Thank you for the input. We will address the issues. The highway is re-routing next year. During the meantime we are adding more water features. The bulbs will be inspected tonight.
Kindly,
Elizabeth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

After a along days drive if was great to finally get to Olancha RV Park and Motel, we were welcomed by the Park Manager who was very friendly and took time to explain the best places to visit during our stay. We had a great modern trailer/ room with a large TV, comfy bed and ice cold air conditioning which we couldn't fault. However the room was a little dusty and dirty but we took this as apart of being in the Desert. The only real criticism was the onsite diner wasn't great, the breakfast was terrible quality and took a long time to come.

We also visited Lone Pine Film locations, it was great and a short drive away!

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nickypoile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews