We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great choice in Ojai”
Review of Ranch House

Ranch House
Ranked #13 of 99 Restaurants in Ojai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Besant Rd
Transit: Ojai Trolly stops 1/2 block away. Ojai Taxi available.
Description: The ultimate in romance--hidden away in the beautiful Ojai Valley located between Los Angeles and Santa Barbara. Intimate garden dining, meandering streams, award winning cuisine, Wine Spectator Best of Award of Excellence wine list with over 700 selections available, bakery and herb garden on premises--for over 56 years this romantic garden restaurant has been perfection in Ojai.....
Reviewed 27 November 2017

Interesting, creative food in a lovely outdoor setting. Note that it's prix fixe with a choice of three or five items from their selections of appetizers, soups, salads, entrees, and desserts.

I very nice ambience, but the waitstaff could be a little more attentive. We wanted more wine and had a hard time connecting with a waiter to order it.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JonSCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2017

Visiting my dad for Thanksgiving.We made a reservation for the Ranch House.Had always had great food in the past. A friend mentioned it had a new owner.~ The garden seating was lovely as ever I remembered. The food,not so great. It was 55$ each for the 5 course Thanksgiving menu.~ I am a foodie and chef myself.~ The courses were just alright.After our appetizers,soup and salad, it took almost 45 min.to get our entree and we had to ask about it.For instance, our waitress did not come by much to check in.When they came,our entrees were not hot and the dish(we ordered the turkey) was kind of bland. We were disappointed.~ The dessert buffet,though pretty,was the best part.The truffles were delicious,the pumpkin cheesecake was flavorful but the creme brule was runny....So, you get the picture.~Who knows if we will return.

Date of visit: November 2017
1  Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017

This is a place where food, service and atmosphere come together for the total experience. It should be a first pick for a special occasion. It's open only for dinner and reservations are a must for weekends. They have a unique way to choose your meal. There are 5 courses available. You can choose any 3 for one price or one from each course for another. There were sufficient choices for each course. The experience was well worth the price.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ronald t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

This is one of the most attractive and romantic restaurants in California with dining outside nestled under trees with a brook and twinkling lights. It is quite magical. Disappointed a bit in the food. The salmon and pork tenderloin was on the tough side, overcooked. The service is very friendly and welcoming. Maybe they could improve the kitchen and then I would consider returning!

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank torontobiggs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

The restaurant is situated just outside Ojai town proper. Tables are nestled among bamboo and along babbling brooks. The food is delicious. A three plate prix fixe dinner is $45, five courses are $55. It was exquisite. I had an avocado-cucumber gazpacho, house-made pate, and a filet mignon. It is truly lovely.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jeannej77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ranch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing