We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveller rating
53
62
26
18
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
62
26
18
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool areaspace heatercute placequick getawayrecord playerdowntown areastayed one nightsanta barbaralos angeleshipsterjacuzzimotelvibekitchenettebikeshammocksrelaxation
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 180 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Actually, after reading previous reviews I anticipated the worst. However, room #10 was not bad at all. We enjoyed the jacuzzi, no problem with the shower, the bed was comfortable, oh also bring flip flops...floor was too cold and rough for me.
The one room to avoid is room #7, non-stop traffic noise. Also, unless you're an early riser the gardner started with the leaf blower WAY TO EARLY!!! Luckily, we were up but other guests were complaining about the noise. Other than that We will be back but will not pay full price....I'll wait for another Living Social or Group On promotion!

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Mistybl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I stayed in the hotel for two nights. The first night I stayed in Rm. 9. A deluxe room which means there is a jacuzzi in the room. I moved rooms because the walls were so thin we could hear the people on both sides. There was a problem with the shower. It did not drain properly and pooled near the drain. After several attempts to change rooms despite being told we could the day before, I was finally moved to a standard room which was much better than deluxe room. The standard room did not have a adjoining door so it minimized the noise from the neighboring room. However, the folded clean towels placed in room were very wet and I
did not notice until after a shower. They smelled and felt wet. In general the room is very small and a bit too noisy for me.
On a positive note, the place looks charming. It has beautiful wood beds with a cute little patio in front of every room. There is a decent selection of breakfast foods and beverages daily. They offer complimentary toothbrush and toothpaste.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monika O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Two nights in a jacuzzi room as a Christmas gift.Sounds nice. The ice machine was broken,the UNHEATED pool was closed,the telephone was inoperative "since the last storm", there was only tepid water in the lavatory. There was NO HOT WATER FOR THE JACUZZI at 11PM on a Tuesday night with only 3 rooms occupied!! We were told it happens all the time wait 5 minutes and the hot water will flow. We waited 30 minutes = 75 degree water not the expected 100-102 degree normal jacuzzi temperature water. (but the ice machine was finally fixed). Next morning at 6:30 AM same thing! Still NO HOT WATER FOR THE JACUZZI AND STILL only 3 cars in the parking lot.Tepid water still in the lavatory. But the shower finally had HOT water. No hot waffles for breakfast as they are only served on week ends. No tables or chairs in the breakfast area. Office is only opened 7:30 AM -10:30 PM. So you are on your own if something else goes kaput. breakfast. Staff was of no help: just full of excuses. The phones were still kaput. We left a day early it was so bad. The decore was nice , the bed was a King size,windows sound proof because of being directly on the main 35 MPH very noisy highway.All in all stay away from the Jacuzzi rooms etc.. Oh I forgot they had no handicap rooms. Did not even know if there was one. This in violation of federal law.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for the Jacuzzi rooms with out hot water and don't accept flimsy excuses from the staff about the hot water situation.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank j n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I stayed here last weekend with 3 friends (2 rooms total) and it was okay. The rooms were very themed - lots of cowgirl/cowboy posters and the beds had twisted pine frames.

The walls were very thin and we had some cobwebs in our room. Our friends had the "deluxe" room and we had the "standard". The difference is that while we both had fridges and microwaves, their's was in a separate room (kitchenette) and ours was in the main (only) room. They also had a table and chairs in their kitchenette. The other differences were the Ipod dock and the better quality TV in their room (Samsung) vs. the regular clock radio and a no-name TV (AXIA) in our room.

The hot tub was broken while we stayed there although they did tell us we could use their sister hotels' hot tubs but we didn't feel like driving to do so. The pool was open and warm, though we didn't use it.

The bathrooms were average size; they provided shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and body lotion and enough towels for two.

There is a large garden behind the pool and in the very back corner of it is a garden swing which we used and enjoyed.

The continental breakfast in the morning consisted of instant oatmeal, boxed cereal, coffee, tea, milk, orange juice, cinnamon coffee cake, white toast and blueberry muffins. Nothing was extrraordinary, but a free breakfast is better than no breakfast.

We left our window open and had the ceiling fan on at night and we were very comfortable. Our friends a few doors down (we were in 14, they were in 11) ended up using the air conditioner unit but they said it was really noisy.

Our neighbors ended up having a brawl at 3am, waking us up and almost causing us to call the cops. We DID call the front desk, but no one answered. The neighbors eventually ended their fight, but I couldn't get back to sleep for over an hour.

The Ojai Rancho Inn is located pretty well, it's at the west end of the main drag and it is a short drive/walk to most of the town.

We noticed that most things in Ojai looked much better in the pictures online, so either the moderate weather takes a toll on the buildings mighty quickly or they employ very good PR people. So, keep in mind the pictures don't really look like reality - but the reality isn't horrible.

In terms of price, we paid $129 for one night in the middle of June. This was the price for both the deluxe and the standard rooms (even though the website says they're different) and with tax, the total was $263 for both rooms for one night each.

All in all, I might stay here again, but not before trying out some of the other hotels in the area first.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank ichbinseins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

My family booked four rooms at the Ojai Rancho Inn. Many details were mixed-up with the bookings. However, the gracious, friendly weekend staff was supportive and responsive to accommodate our needs with what seemed like limited resources at their disposal.

When asking to speak with the Manager to sort out the mix-ups we were informed that Management was not on duty until Monday.

The lady at the front desk, Treece offered complimentary wine. She made arrangements for us to change rooms near one another. Her warm demeanor was welcoming after a long day of travel and frustration with our reservation.

Breanna who served our continental breakfast was real sweet, helpful, steering us in the right direction for activities in town. She suggested the trail behind the property which turned out to be a serene scenic walking path.

The last morning there before departure the very polite, professional gentleman at the office granted us leeway with our checking out time. This started our trek back home on a good note.

I enjoyed the vibe of Ojai and had quite the pleasant trip. It may not have some of the frills of a larger establishment. It seemed understaffed at times.The kick-back atmosphere, relaxed attitude of the place definitely had it charm enough to make a return visit worthwhile.

The cute cabin-feel rooms are styled in a county-cowboy theme. The older property could use updates and work on the plumbing. Perhaps some ideally in the time we book another trip to the area.

Room Tip: Make sure to call in advance to confirm everything.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AunnieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews