We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
200
42
12
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
200
42
12
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach chairsboogie boardswithin walking distanceresort feesand toysocean viewfiltered wateroceanfront roomone bedroom unitbeach cruisersoceanside piergreat resorttime sharefull kitchenthere is no air conditioningbeautiful roomtwo blocks
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 265 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

We had zero complaints here! The location is perfect, it has everything you need, the staff is super friendly and helpful, and they have everything available to make it the perfect beach vacation. We will be back!!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPR S, Manager at Southern California Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Wonderful - see you next time, Angela!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018

Booked this hard to get site via Booking.com, Unfortunately, they do not give you ALL the info you need. The skinny is that this is a lovely timeshare resort with tons of amenities, but it is not a hotel. Thus they usually have people in from Sun-Sun. Sometimes if someone does not use their full week there may be room/suites available, but they may also have to move you to a different room during your booking, which is what happened to us. The booking sites fail to mention that.
However, Kathy made this as seamless as possible and we had 3 kids--one of which was turning 2 during her trip and we had all her usual stuff, plus a TON of presents etc. So the thought of changing rooms seemed daunting, but it was not---they have many carts and we just loaded everything up and moved down the hall. So do ask if you will be in the same room the entire time, but even if you are not its really a simple move. We had so many things go wrong before and during the trip--dead dog, an accident on the freeway, party reservation getting lost, illness, a baker who did not know what a Troll was etc, that we pretty exhausted. and actually did not even use our room the first night. Kathy worked miracles and found a way to get us another night in the same suite! She really made a disaster into a great and memorable family trip.
This is really an awesome property--very clean, everything updated, staff very friendly, and the timeshare owners very kind and welcoming. They have towels, nice beach chairs that recline, beach cruisers and you can rent a boogie board--no need to pack all of that. Its a great mix of younger, older and family vacationers and there is fun for all. You can paint a rock, have wine and cheese, watch a classic movie, or check- out board games. Some reviews have complained about stairs--well that is not true--you can use elevators and avoid all stairs if you need to. One of our group is awaiting a lung transplant and was able to get to the beach and everywhere without any stairs. The garage is reasonable in size but may be more difficult with a large SUV. There is a park and of course, the beach across the street and a playground on the beach as well.
We stayed in 312 and 315, while neither it directly in front of the beach, both have ocean views from the balcony. 315 also has an amazing beach view from the living room. All of the units are identically decorated in a soothing beach palette. The beds are comfy--even the sofa sleeper. The kitchen is well equipped with good quality appliances and reasonably sized. Do bring your own foil or baggies. You can also have a family barbeque on several different grills. The bathroom has a large vanity area with nice shampoo and soaps and a standard bath/toilet area.
But the best part is the sound of the surf and the fantastic sea breezes--so wonderful! Normally we rent a house that sits directly on the strand and oddly cannot hear the surf. If you love to go to sleep to the sound of the surf--this is the place!

Room Tip: Unfortunately, you can not choose--this is a timeshare, you can only get what is available,
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPR S, Manager at Southern California Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Hi Deborah - thank you so much for this wonderful review. You have warmed our hearts here at Southern California Beach Club! We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay and want to thank you for giving Kathy a shout out. Come back any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Spent time here as a timeshare trade. Choice location with true in front of the beach feel that's hard to find in socal. Staff was welcoming, room wss clean, though i didnt manage to get an oceanfront room, i did have a partial view from the patio. Parking was probably the biggest drawback with spots so tight it was stressful.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
2  Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPR S, Manager at Southern California Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

HI Sharon - it's wonderful to hear that loved your exchange stay with us. Our location on the beach is pretty fantastic and we're glad you enjoyed it, and the views. Thank you for sharing feedback about the parking as well and we want you to know we're sorry to hear it was stressful for you to park your vehicle. If you stay with us again, let us know if we can help out with this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Wanted to stay close to the ocean without spending a lot of money. We decided to make Oceanside a stop on our way to LEGOLAND. This hotel was perfect. Great value right next to the ocean. It’s outdated. That didn’t bother us considering it’s steps away from the sand. It doesn’t have air conditioning. Not a big deal. Just open the doors and windows and you get the sea breeze. The front desk has sand toys, beach towels, beach chairs for guests to use. The hotel is in walking distance to restaurants.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank WhartonWyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPR S, Manager at Southern California Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thanks for choosing us as a waypoint for Legoland. We're happy to hear you enjoyed the beach that's right outside our doors, and some of our local restaurants. Come back any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018

Our room is beautiful, clean and peaceful. We love how clean the entire resort is, the staff always go over and above to make sure everyone is taken care of.
There is always cold water, coffee and tea in the lobby. We like how we can get clean towels and chairs for the beach everyday as well as bikes to ride.

Room Tip: The beachfront rooms have an amazing view of the ocean!
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kwestnov17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPR S, Manager at Southern California Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Thank you for the wonderful review - we want every guest to feel relaxed, enjoy the beautiful beach and ocean air, and have a chance to explore the shops and restaurants in downtown Oceanside. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews