We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (619)
Filter reviews
619 results
Traveller rating
263
201
74
42
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
263
201
74
42
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky loungetrain noiseocean viewparking passsan diegosales pitchnorth towerfree underground parkingoceanside pierfull kitchenbedroom deluxesales presentationwasher and dryerno pressurejacuzzi tubtrains runpizza place
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 619 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

I loved that the ocean was across the street and view was beautiful. The kitchen and washer/dryer came in handy with two kids (both age 9). Pizza place is great to order fresh and unique pies along with buying beer or wine. We went to talk about the timeshare with kids and it was interesting but not an option for us at this moment. Do your 90 minutes, put a timer on and get out ASaP to enjoy the rest of your vacay.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank dalvidr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherie O, General Manager at Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Hello!

Thank you for the great review of our resort! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2018 via mobile

This hotel is well maintained, beautiful and has the best location (walking distance to the pier, harbor, and beach). For the most part we loved staying here! The only problem is that in order to get your parking pass, you have to go to the concierge, and they were INCREDIBLY pushy when trying to get you to go to their timeshare presentations. After a seven hour drive with a one year old, we just wanted to get checked in and pick up our parking pass. However, they kept pushing us to agree to attend their presentation on Sunday morning, after saying “no, thank you” more than five times we finally agreed to it to be able to get to our room, and had to put a deposit to hold our spot. When we tried to cancel it the next day we learned that if we don’t go we forfeit our twenty dollars. We ended up not going, because we didn’t want to attend a 90 minute seminar with a one year old during our vacation. Other than that hotel was wonderful.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherie O, General Manager at Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2018

Dear Sarah,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. I have forwarded your comments regarding your experience with the Concierge to the sales leadership ti=ea for their review. Hope to see you again very soon.

Warm Regards,

Cherie O
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018

I'll start this off by saying that I'm not going to complain about the train noises. I had read up on this resort ahead of time and I knew that was part of it. They do provide ear plugs and a sound machine and honestly the train never woke us up even though we were facing the tracks. I also don't have much to say about the concierge desk trying to get us to attend a presentation to sell us a timeshare. My wife pointed out that we hadn't even seen our room yet, so why would we even think about buying?

Here is what I will say. It's hard to beat the location of this hotel. It's just a block from the beach with lovely views (not in our room but in the lobby and Sky Lounge). The hotel was in decent shape and certainly didn't appear rundown, but it didn't wow us either. It was just decent. I really have no major complaints about this hotel, just to say that it was average and nothing to write home about. They provided coffee in the morning, but it was pretty weak. They did have real cream for the coffee though.

I would certainly not consider purchasing a timeshare here and if we ever chose to stay near the beach in Oceanside again, we'll probably go for a beachfront condo through AirBnB.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicolasM807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherie O, General Manager at Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Dear Nicolas,

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback. We do hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Warm regards,

Cherie O
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

What a lovely area!
But!
We unfortunately had a room on the fourth floor just above the dock area. Every morning at 6:30 the delivery trucks would show up. Also the street sweepers and the Amtrak train.? So freakin noisy. No restaurant, room service or bar! Thank goodness there is a ton of great places very close
I would look somewhere else next time we stay in Oceanside

Stayed: July 2018
Thank mkhegna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherie O, General Manager at Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I'm sorry we didn't meet your expectations. However, I'm glad you were able to enjoy some of the restaurants close by. We do have two restaurants on the property that are separately owned and operated which many of our guests enjoy! Hope you do consider another visit with us.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018 via mobile

We were in San Diego for a soccer tournament and our team chose this hotel. The hotel is located in a very convient area to get around everywhere, either walking or driving. There is a train that goes by this hotel about every ten minutes, and does blow his loud horn. The hotel is VERY accommodating to offer sound machines & ear plugs for night time sleep. I do have to say that you get used to it and block it out once you are there, but it is an active train. The hotel is located next to the pier and there is a lot to do there, but be cautious because there are MANY homeless people all in the area, at all hours of day and night. All in all, The Wyndham Oceanside Pier are VERY friendly and helpful if you need anything and there is a lot of security & local police always around.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank galatigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherie O, General Manager at Wyndham Oceanside Pier Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Hello!

Thank you for the great review of our resort! We appreciate the detailed feedback, very helpful! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Warm regards,

Cherie O.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews