We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deservedly popular bistro”
Review of Bistro Des Copains - CLOSED

Bistro Des Copains
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 14 September 2014

We ate here twice. Food and service very good on both occasions. Varied menu plus daily specials, all well presented. Good list of wines available by the glass.

Date of visit: September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank iandcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2014 via mobile

A charming little bistro tucked in Occidental! The menu is creative and incorporates local products. The wild king salmon is so fresh that it wiggles on your tongue. The clafoutis is delish! No corkage fee on Thursdays so you can bring your treasures from a day of nearby wine tasting. Not to be missed so make reservations.

Thank Annie3232014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2014

We went here for dinner last night after a series of lackluster meals in Bodega Bay. We were so, so happy! The woman who took our reservation on the phone was super-friendly and that continued with the whole staff when we arrived. The place was nearly full on a Wednesday night, and justifiably so. The menu is full of tempting choices. We started with the fondue for the table. It is small and elegant, serving as a perfect appetizer. The salads were fresh and tasty and the summer squash and leek soup was stunningly good. There were four of us and we had the sole meuniere, the salmon special, the croque madame pizza, and the mussels with fries. Everyone enjoyed their meals immensely, as indicated by the fact that all talking ceased at our table for nearly five minutes after our entrees arrived! We all cleaned our plates. The wines were also lovely and paired well with the meals. Even after all this deliciousness, we decided we had just enough room left for dessert. We shared the chocolate pot de creme, which was topped with the most wonderful caramel, and the clafoutti, which was amazing with chocolate and fresh, juicy berries.

This place is very French, with the tables close together, a bustling ambiance, and elegant presentation of simple food made with the best ingredients. If I lived in the area, I'd be a regular.

Date of visit: September 2014
Thank Kachampagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2014

We had a group dinner at Bistro Des Copains and were so pleasantly surprised by the quality of food and warm service. Highly recommend the onion soup and the braised short rib, which were both truly exquisite. Of the entire weekend in Sonoma and San Francisco, this ranked as our favorite meal. Will be back on the next vacation!

Date of visit: February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ryeguy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We've been to Bistro des Copains a few times and have always found it to be very agreeable. If you want to be transported to a French country bistro instantly, this place does the job. The decor, service, and food all say France, starting with the onion soup and ending with the mousse. But it's not all cliches; the menu is constantly changing and it's creative. The bistro lost its chef recently, and we went there last night for a prix fixe dinner, hoping for the best, with a new chef on board. The new chef is doing just fine, thank you very much. Dinner started with a Provencale pepper dish with olive oil, and it was delicious. Then came a main course of duckling in a mustard sauce, with wild rice. This one reads like Northern France, and again, excellent. We finished with a shared clafouti unlike the usual version, but very tasty. The portions are quite large, and we ended up taking some of each course home. The bistro seems a long way from anything, but that's deceptive; it's less than 10 minutes from the Bodega Highway, the closest main road. I would have given it an excellent rating this time out, but we had dined just a few days earlier at Terrapin Creek (in Bodega Bay) and recently at The Farmhouse, both Michelin-starred, and both within 10 miles of Bistro des Copains. The bistro has been reviewed by Michelin, and no star as yet. They're not really ready, but very good, nevertheless.

Date of visit: August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Triumph3A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro Des Copains also viewed

Occidental, Sonoma County
Occidental, Sonoma County
 
Occidental, Sonoma County
 
Occidental, Sonoma County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing