We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and Cozy”
Review of Inn at Occidental

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at Occidental
Ranked #1 of 1 Occidental B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
SoCal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cute and Cozy”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 2 night stay here and we were very pleased. The Inn at Occidental is a cute B&B tucked away in a small corner of Sonoma county. The bed was very comfortable and with all the rain we experienced, the large soaking tub and fireplace were a sight for sore eyes. The town itself is very tiny, but not lacking in charm. There are only a handful of restaurants within walking distance, but if you tried a different one every night you can't go wrong with any of them. The lobby has a book of menus from all the local restaurants which is a great help in deciding which restaurant to try.
The breakfast is great...the other reviewers are correct in mentioning how great the home made granola is! The hot accompaniment doesn't disappoint, either. The evening wine and cheese reception was very nice. It gives you a chance to meet the innkeepers and taste some local wines.
My only reason for not giving the Inn a full 5 star rating is because of a faint pet smell. There is a small dog on the property and some cats that hang around outside. The animal smell in the office was pretty strong and when the rain came, the dampness brought out some odor in on the decorative pillows in our room. This doesn't bother some people if you're an extreme animal lover, but as for us, we like pets to remain outside.

Room Tip: We had the "Summer Room" which was very bright and cheery, even on the rainiest day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dramamama23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerryoccidental, Owner at Inn at Occidental, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
As owner of the Inn, we value the input our guests provide regarding their stay. We appreciate and thank the guest for their complimentary remarks made on Cute and Cozy. There are two comments we would like to respond to. We do own a small Shih Tzu who is 14 years of age. She, at times, is the joy to many of our guests as she is very friendly. Many guests miss their pets so they are delighted to have Kahlua around. We bring her to the office on most days. We are in the office daily along with several of our Innkeepers. I can assure you that there is no pet smell. The Shih Tzu breed has silky hair, similar to human hair and does not shed, which is great for those with allergies. I would challenge anyone to find a pet odor in our office or Inn. As to cats in the area, we do not own any. Our neighbor above our parking lot has several cats and on occasion you can spot one in our parking lot. As to the pillow and wet weather, I can't imagine what the reviewer is referring to. Pets are not allowed in that room and I find it hard to believe there would be any odor regarding a pet on one of our pillows.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    45
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
23
222
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tracy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

My husband and I just celebrated our 16th wedding anniversary here. Every year we celebrate by staying in a B&B...so this review comes with someone who has stayed in over 17 different inns all over California. I am very picky before I book an inn . I read every review and look at ALL the rooms.
When I called to book I asked about the 40 dollar "reservation fee" . I have 4 kids under the age of 8...so the possibility of having to cancel due to my parents not making it to watch the kids or one of the kids getting sick was a concern to me. I intended on rebooking if this was the case...and it was told it was not a problem. I think a cancelation fee of someone who does not rebook is fair.
Also I could only afford the room on sale. Jerry and Tina were SO generous and gave us a free upgrade to the Heritage Room when we arrived. When I got in the room I was so happy. It was very clean! I always check the bed to make sure it is clean ...and everything was clean and nicely decorated. The bed is very comfortable too! The breakfast is yummy!
The setting of the redwoods and the beach is spectacular! You must try zip lining at Sonoma Canopy Tours. It was very safe and so much fun!
I am so glad we stayed here!

Room Tip: Choose the rooms separate from the main building which have a private entrance and a porch. More pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LUTZ
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My husband and I spent part of our honeymoon at the Inn at Occidental. The staff was helpful and very welcoming. They gave us many great ideas of things to do in the area. Our room was immaculate and so warm and inviting. Breakfast was delicious! We will definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Couple022512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2012

My husband and I were celebrating a special birthday and it was our first stay at the Inn. Wonderful hospitality, Jerry and Tina the innkeepers are very friendly and warm to all the guests. They made our special occasion very special and memorable even adding a birthday rose to our room. Also, Victoria who handled our reservations was extremely nice and professional. Everyone at the Inn makes you feel at home. We definitely will remember our January visit to the Inn and hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: The Summer Room was private and bright. It was just perfect for sharing our special occasion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Occidental, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We've stayed here several times in the rooms with private deck outside the main house. The view from the deck is wonderful. Heat is from a thermostat-controlled fireplace. The room decors are all themed and fun. It's very quiet and gracious - bathrobes, wine in the room, jetted oversized bath. The chef who cooks breakfast is wonderful. Coffee is available at 7am for those who need to wake up early. We stay here on business trips and it is very nice to decompress here after a tough day. Jerry and Tina, the innkeepers were born to do this. They are wonderful hosts. We will continue to stay here when in Occidental.

Room Tip: Check with the innkeepers if you aren't comfortable climbing a lot of stairs with your bags. So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Occidental
12.5 km away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,276 reviews
0.2 km away
Occidental Hotel
Occidental Hotel
#1 of 1 in Occidental
115 reviews
10.8 km away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 km away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
490 reviews
19.1 km away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
577 reviews
32.0 km away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Occidental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Occidental

Property: Inn at Occidental
Address: 3657 Church St, Occidental, CA 95465-9116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Occidental
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Occidental
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Occidental 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded beneath towering redwoods in the village of Occidental, the Inn is centrally located to the spectacular vineyards and orchards of Sonoma wine country, the stunning beaches and cliffs of the Pacific Coast, and the delightul, meandering Russian River. The Inn is a perifect spot for a romantic getaway or special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Inn at Occidental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Occidental Hotel Occidental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing