We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Red Lion Hotel is a glorified motel..… Mediocre at its best” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Red Lion Hotel is a glorified motel..… Mediocre at its best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We stayed at the Red Lion Hotel because we were only in for the day to watch a football game and it was near the Oakland Airport, which would make it easier to catch our 6:00 am flight versus staying in the city. Convenience wise, the “hotel” was very close to the airport and provided an airport shuttle but as far as service and amenities go, the hotel was pretty much a glorified motel. We also felt as though we were being nickel and dimed on a couple things.

Granted we arrived early Sunday morning and requested an early check-in, but even though there was plenty of availability, we were still charged a $50 early arrival fee. We paid it just to be able to take a couple hour nap before heading into the city. The hotel had a shuttle to the BART….. but that was also an additional $5 per person. Something that wasn’t mentioned anywhere in advance. I asked about the $5 BART shuttle fee when checking out and got three different answers from three different people?!? Courtesy and service from the front desk could use some improvement.

The hallway getting off the elevator had a musky smell to it but the hotel rooms were fine. Clean but small. The bed wasn’t the most comfortable but it worked for just being there for one night. The water pressure in the shower was good but again, the bathroom and sink area was small. All in all, the hotel is fine if you don’t mind a “motel” and are just in-and-out.

The Red Lion did have a restaurant with a bar in it, but we didn’t experience it. I do wish they would have been open or provide room service upon our 10:00pm return to the hotel. It would have been convenient because we were starving and too exhausted to go out.

For those that need to stay in Oakland longer than a day, I would personally recommend paying more for the Hilton just a couple blocks away. We stayed there earlier in the season when we had to catch another 6:00am flight, and had probably one of the best night’s rest in a while because the beds were so comfortable. They also had a complimentary shuttle to the airport and BART.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JJandAdice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    102
    66
    47
    56
See reviews for
76
76
26
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

Booked in advance for two adults three kids. the website said two queen beds, rollaways available. Found our room, the beds might meet the minimum requirememts to be queen sized, but were smaller than tje queen sized beds at Motel 6 and Circus Circus. Called the front desk 5 times to get rollaway, no one answered, called room service, was told they would have the front desk call us, 15 minutes later, had to walk to the lobby, asked for rollaway, was told it wouldn't fit in the room. Asked for just a mattress, was told no, asked for 5 pillows and 2 blankets so we could make a bed on the floor, at least. After 15 minutes, tried the phone again, 6 calls 0 answers, went to the front and repeated my request, waited 5 min, got one blanket. I asked the delivery guy for 5 pillows, one blanket, he was rude and didn' t want to accommodate me, 10 minutes later, got two pillows and a mattress pad, not a blanket, was a cold, uncomfortable LAST EVER night in this "hotel" To top it all, the free wifi didn' t work in my room. I won't be back and neither should anyone wanting reasonable hotel accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gcameron169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oakland hotels

Bala Cynwyd, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

All in all, this hotel was as safe as any in Oakland could be, great location next to the airport and near the stadium, perfectly clean, great shuttle service, great price, and friendly and helpful staff. While your opinion may vary, I was impressed. A great layover hotel, and a great game-day hotel.

Because of airline scheduling problems and unavailability of or destination accommodations in San Francisco, I was forced to layover one night in Oakland. I wasn't willing to pay the high prices of downtown San Francisco hotels to sleep for a few hours. Usually layover accommodations only need meet minimum standards. Travel had been difficult and I wasn't expecting much, especially after reading other reviews. When I got to Oakland and collected my bags, I called the Red Lion for their (free) courtesy shuttle. By the time I walked to the shuttle pickup, the shuttle was there waiting for me. Pleasant surprise number one.

At the front desk was a very charming and pleasant Virginia, mentioned negatively in another review. She was a delight to chat with, very welcoming and offered to help in any way. Pleasant surprise number two.

I got to my room and it was an immaculate, spacious, well-appointed room with a comfortable king bed, desk, WiFi, etc. Pleasant surprise number three.

I unpacked, and went to sleep and slept soundly... none of the disturbances so common in layover hotels. There just wasn't any noise. Pleasant surprise number four.

Because the hotel had been so quiet the night before, I was expecting it to be empty. It was full to capacity. There was an Oakland Raiders game on Sunday so by all rights, the hotel should have been full of drunken partiers. For some reason, it was not, or at least I did not hear them on my floor. Pleasant surprise number five.

I got to the front desk to check out which went fine and then I asked for the shuttle. It was ready and I had read online that the shuttle was only to and from the airport. When I mentioned that to the shuttle driver, he said that wasn't true and he would be glad to take me to the BART station. Which he did. Pleasant surprise number six.

A pleasant experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QVCruzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawalli, Kuwait
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

I booked this for my parent's one night stopover en route to Alaska. As much as we wanted their trip to be special from beginning to end, there was not a real need for luxurious accomodations in Oakland. But as they are very clean and somewhat picky, we didn't want them in a dump either [even if it was only for one night] . And based on what I'd read on tripadvisor, this seemed worth a try.

The first thing my mom said when they arrived was , " This Red Lion has the BEST customer service and it is soooooo CLEAN." This coming from someone who does her own sanitizing everywhere she goes. During their stay and our conversations back in forth she kept mentioning how impressed she was with how well things were run and maintained. She raved about the Front Desk staff, Lounge and the shuttle drivers.

Based on the price it was an excellent value and they helped launch my parents into their Alaska vacation with smiles on their faces, full tummies and a real good impression of this hotel and Oakland. Red Lion Hotel, if you're listening, isn't it funny how excellent customer service goes a very long way?!

Room Tip: Do Not Choose Hegenberger Side rooms. Inner pool area rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

We had 2 rooms. 1 of the rooms had a water leak and they told us that they would move us by the end of the day. At the end of the day they told us there were no rooms available but they kept checking people in while we were arguing with them. The lady at the counter, named Virginia, was horrible. She told us that there is no manager after 5 pm, no cleaning staff after 5 pm, and there was nothing she could do. Well after arguing for over an hour she finally got the manger to come over (surprise surprise, there was a manager on duty) and she immediately told them to move us. I told Virginia she needed more training and she certainly was not the right type of person to be in the hospitality business. The hotel itself is falling apart and it not well staffed, and what staff is there lies and does not care for the customer. I would look elsewhere. Thanks.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DG_in_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport
0.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
1.3 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Radisson Hotel Oakland Airport
0.4 km away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
0.6 km away
Courtyard Oakland Airport
Courtyard Oakland Airport
#12 of 49 in Oakland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport

Property: Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport
Address: 150 Hegenberger Rd, Oakland, CA 94621 (Formerly Park Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport hotel in Oakland, California offers superb Three-Diamond, full-service accommodations where personal service and comfort will give each guest a memorable experience. Our beautiful Oakland, California hotel is located halfway between San Francisco and San Jose, California located in the heart of the East bay. We are minutes away from the University of California at Berkley, California State University East Bay, Stanford University and San Jose State University, as well as numerous community colleges. Also be sure to visit Jack London Square bustling with unique shops, restaurants and nightlife. If your leisure time allows, please make Bay Street Mall a priority for all of your retail shopping needs, this shopping center, located less than 18 miles from the hotel, features a variety of specialty shops as well as known retailers such as Coach, Abercrombie and Fitch & Nike just to name a few. The Red Lion Hotel in Oakland, CA is also fortunate enough to have nearly forty well-established houses of worship nearby, including First African Methodist Episcopal Church, Allen Temple, Buddhist Church of Oakland, Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints, and Temple Sinai & Jehovah's Witness Oakland Central. Weddings, Bar/Bat Mitzvahs, Quinceañeras and Corporate Events are our specialties, with meeting rooms ranging from our executive boardrooms to Monterey room and our California Ballroom. Red Lion Oakland International Airport Hotel offers complimentary shuttle service to and from the Oakland International Airport from 4:00 A.M. - 11:00 P.M. Our shuttle service also provides transportation to the Coliseum BART Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Hotel Oakland
Park Plaza Oakland
Oakland Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing