We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
US$245
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
US$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fashion Island Hotel Newport Beach(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
US$417
US$248
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$207
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
US$277
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Balboa Inn(Newport Beach)
US$400
US$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Doryman's Inn(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$306/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Newport Beach Hotel(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
US$266
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$760
US$713
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (918)
Filter reviews
918 results
Traveller rating
577
186
82
44
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
577
186
82
44
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaterline restaurantclub membersduffy boatwater viewroom servicevalet parkingbeautiful hotelhotel guestsvalet servicepool stafflarge bathroomearly checkjohn wayneorange countyfitness centershort drivesouthern california
Filter
Updating list...
331 - 336 of 918 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2016

We stayed 2 nights here in July. We were given a lovely room in the Club building which overlooked the pool and the Marina. Everything about the room was excellent and the service throughout the hotel was faultless. Room services quick and efficient and the food all lovely. The hotel is close to some great restaurants - in walking distance.

What lets this property down is the Balboa Bay Club - a members club attached to the resort. Whether it was because we were in the Club building, so didn't get as good a feel for the hotel, but the facilities offered to the Club members were far superior to those offered to hotel guests. The hotel has a pool in a courtyard at the back of the hotel, totally surrounded by buildings and where one side of the pool is in shade all afternoon. The Bay Club has a large Marina fronting pool and Bar as well as a small beach with a water slide. Hotel Guests do not have access to this facility and the resort services felt very restrictive.

As a result, we felt a bit like second class citizens. Its a shame, as the location and the property are good. Sadly, I don't think we would return because of this.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Club building are lovely. Ask for a bay view room
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2016

Dear Rachel011,

Thank you for staying at Balboa Bay Resort during your recent visit to Newport Beach. We're so pleased that you enjoyed the comfortable luxury of your guest room, as well as the flawless service provided by our team of dedicated staff members and our exclusive waterfront location. We do regret, however, that you were disappointed during your stay regarding the use of Balboa Bay Club facilities. Balboa Bay Resort offers an array of exclusive amenities and luxury facilities, thoughtfully designed for comfort and indulgence, to provide our guests with the ultimate Newport Beach getaway. We do hope that, should you return to Newport Beach in the future, you offer us the opportunity to welcome you back to Balboa Bay Resort for a stay that surpasses your expectations.

Warmest Regards,

Sam El-Rabaa
General Manager
Balboa Bay Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

I called in to make a reservation and the front desk was so accommodating ... She made sure I had the room location, size and even helped with a early check in. Great staff, great food (room service), valet is quick, resort clean, spacious. Will definitely rebook. Singles will enjoys, couple will enjoy and very family friendly.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
Thank contactdermavita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2016

Dear contactdermavita,

Thank you for staying at Balboa Bay Resort. It's a delight to know how much you appreciated the warm hospitality provided by our front desk and valet teams, the spaciousness and beauty of our resort, and our savory cuisine! We truly appreciate the excellent rating you have awarded us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Balboa Bay again soon for another fantastic stay.

Warmest Regards,

Sam El-Rabaa
General Manager
Balboa Bay Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016

It has taken me a while to take the time to write a review--better late than never, right? I visited in late May and had a wonderful experience! Everyone at the resort is more than happy to assist you in anyway that they can. Staff members that really caught my attention and detail to service is Brenden in Valet and Summer in the restaurant.

The restaurant was amazing! If you are wanting an after dinner drink with an amazing view, then definitely check it out.

The fitness center is state of the art! I feel that I should have been in there everyday, but who wants to go when you're on vacation, right? In any case, if you are a workout person then it is amazing.

I was a little disappointed with the pool being closed for renovations. However, we were able to use the pool on the Balboa Club side which was just as appropriate. The only complaint that I have is that it's a pain to have to order food/drinks. They should have servers readily available rather than having to go to a phone and call 'room service.'

The rooms are elegant and clean!
We will absolutely be back, for sure!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank travelfreak903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2016

Dear travelfreak903,

Thank you for choosing Balboa Bay Resort and for taking the time to share your review. It's wonderful to know how much you enjoyed the beauty of our newly refreshed guest rooms, our luxurious amenities, and the stellar service provided by our team of dedicated staff members. We will be sure to share your comments with Brenden and Summer, both of whom will be delighted that you appreciated their great service. We truly appreciate the excellent rating you have awarded us and look forward to welcoming you back to Balboa Bay soon for another splendid stay in beautiful Newport Beach.

Warmest Regards,

Sam El-Rabaa
General Manager
Balboa Bay Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

We just got back from a 3 night stay here. The rooms were roomy and comfortable. They seemed like they had recently been remodeled. The location is beautiful, right on the bay with wonderful views of the water and million dollar yachts! The restaurants offered very healthy selections, which were yummy, but pricey. The A&O restaurant had a great bar with live music nightly. The pool was big, with food & cocktail service provided. I would definitely stay here again!!

Stayed: July 2016
Thank 453dannyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2016

Dear 453dannyh,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Balboa Bay Resort. We truly appreciate your high recommendation and the excellent rating you have awarded us. It's a delight to know how much you enjoyed the comfortable luxury of our recently refreshed guest rooms, as well as our exclusive waterfront location and the savory cuisine served in our restaurants. We look forward to welcoming you back to Balboa Bay soon for another fabulous stay!

Warmest Regards,

Sam El-Rabaa
General Manager
Balboa Bay Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016

My girlfriends an I go on a weekend trip every year, and this year we chose to stay at the Balboa Bay Resort. When we got there, it was packed. Were checked-in by Becca, who was very lovely and informative, in spite of some other people that were rude (One guy cut the line! & another cpl demanding about their "bags") and to add that she was the only one working the front desk at that time. She was really incredibly welcoming, assured us that she will notify us once our room is ready and provided recommendations to restaurants around the area. Also, when we got to the room, we were surprised by champagne and chocolate covered strawberries from Becca. She really made our stay exceptional and is the reason why I am rating this as an Excellent stay.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imd1530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestRelations M, General Manager at Balboa Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2016

Dear imd1530,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your annual trip at Balboa Bay Resort. It is a joy to read your review, telling how the dedication and warm hospitality of one of our team members made your stay with us an excellent one. Becca is a tremendous asset to our team and we are very fortunate to have her on staff here at Balboa Bay. We will be sure to share your comments with her, as she will be particularly pleased to know how much you appreciated her stellar service. Thank you for the excellent rating you have awarded us. We hope to welcome you back to Balboa Bay soon.

Warmest Regards,

Sam El-Rabaa
General Manager
Balboa Bay Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews