We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot to be near the beach but centrally located in LA”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
200 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great spot to be near the beach but centrally located in LA”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Our long weekend was taking us to Burbank one day and Temecula the next. This was a great spot to be able to get to both locations and still be near the beach so that we could take hour long strolls along the beach or the boardwalk before or after our daily trips.

Helpful staff. Small but nice rooms. Good variety for breakfast. Dated but convenient collection of DVRs.

One note - if you face the street and open the window, it can be very noisy. We tried shutting the window but there was no option to cool down the room so we were quite hot at night.

Room Tip: Select a room that does not face the street so that you can open the window at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fritch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred-BSPH1, Owner at Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Hi Fritch,

Thank you for the nice review of my property! I'm a bit concerned however about your comment on not being able to cool off the room. We have relatively new individual air-conditioning units in each room, with "fan only" options for bringing in fresh air for folks who dislike a/c, was your unit not working or did the staff not explain that option to you? With the windows shut and the fan running, most of the street noises will disappear. Thanks again for staying with us and for the nice review, we hope to see you again sometime! ---Fred Pratt, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    84
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
111
294
23
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

Doing business in Orange County offers a couple of possibilities: stay at the chain hotels adjacent to the office(s); or stay at the beach.
I like the laid-back style of Newport Beach. Yes, it is a wealthy neighborhood, but there's a great surfing under-culture and everybody is of a certain age with sand in their hair and in their socks from having been on the beach in the last couple of hours (day or night...).
The Bay Shores hotel is like that; it's an older hotel a block from the beach boardwalk, but the ocean feels very close by and the air is very fresh. When showering, the smell of the water and the force of the shower-head made me feel like I was washing off after early morning surfing (which I wasn't). Many of the 2nd and 3rd floor rooms are accessed by open air verandas, and it all feels like vacation (which it isn't). There's WiFi and hard-wire connectivity.
The breakfast - included - is a pretty-comprehensive continental, and all the staff were very friendly. There are good restaurants and bars up by the pier 300 yards away, and not much farther to some really excellent fare.
I recommend staying here for work or for play if you wish to be in Orange County.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor and away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank another_traveler0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

This is our favorite beach get away. Walking distance to numerous great restaurants. We even did a several block pub crawl. The pier is a couple blocks away.
It is reasonably priced for what you get. Clean, great service, best continental breakfast ever. Antique style elevator is pretty cool too.
We have stayed both in summer and winter. Love it. We will be back again.
There is a roof deck with ocean and bay views.

Room Tip: Ocean view more noisy but nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoybJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

A friend and I stayed in the suite at this hotel last month and it was a great value and location. The staff there is helpful and friendly, especially the woman who helped me with the reservation and assisted us while we were there for two nights. It felt safe and comfy and very clean and they serve a hearty breakfast every morning. You can eat it in their dining area, in your room or up on their deck overlooking the ocean...it's a lovely spot. The parking is okay if you can get into their lot or you may have to walk across the street although it's a quiet neighborhood so that's not really a problem. I felt security was good and the maintenance man was helpful in securing a gate for us. We liked this place a lot and would stay here again. It's literally one block from the beach so what a find!!! It's not too large which is also a good thing. The beach in that area is vast and clean and the boardwalk is behind a lot of pretty beach homes with nice landscaping so makes for a happy walking area and a great spot to take photographs....it's really refreshing!

Room Tip: Tell the front desk if you have a disabled parking tag so they will save the space for you rather th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

I have been to the Bay Shores Peninsula twice now and will definately become a regular! My first trip was in June with my Grandson and I just wanted someplace close to the beach that we could walk to. This was perfect! Newport is not crowded and a very easy drive from where I live in Las Vegas. The second time I brought my daughter and Grandson and it was just as great. It was Christmas time and we went to see the annual Boat Show! Lots of decorated boats crusing the harbor (which you can see from the roof).
My Grandson acts like it is a home away from home! And they have an excellent breakfast, afternoon cookies, free beach equipment and movies to borrow. So glad I discovered this place! Friendliest and most helpful staff ever, you can tell they really love their job. My next trip is in August for my Grandson's birthday - can't wait!

Room Tip: Book early - all rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrendaT216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport Beach
4.8 km away
Island Hotel Newport Beach
Island Hotel Newport Beach
#2 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
3.5 km away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
4.3 km away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Newport Beach Hotel
Newport Beach Hotel
#11 of 17 in Newport Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
7.7 km away
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach Resort & Spa
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,154 reviews
8.2 km away
Marriott's Newport Coast Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel

Property: Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Address: 1800 W Balboa Blvd, Newport Beach, CA 92663-4515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Newport Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newport Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrating over thirty years under the same family ownership and operation, the Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel is the perfect place for tourists, business travelers and beach people who love to find value and quality in a small, B&B style environment. Only steps from America’s finest beaches on the "California Riviera", we are just 3 blocks from the historic Newport Pier including the shopping, fine dining and nightlife you would expect from the southern California beach scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Bay Shores
Peninsula Newport Beach
Newport Beach Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing