We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Newport Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel!”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I stayed here in August for 2 nights whilst travelling around the staes for 6 weeks.

The hotel is a great choice for a mid priced option in Newport Beach where alot of the hotels are quite expensive!

The location is good, there are restaurants around within walking distance or a 5 min cab ride down to the pier and beach front would also give you more choice.

The hotel had a small pool which was nice, a good free breakfast, and free wireless, the staff were friendly, the rooms were very nice, clean and comfortable.

We had a car and parking was 7.50 dollars a day which isnt too bad

I would recommend this to anyone wanting to visit the lovely newport beach, a good option for a reasonable price!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mims6321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    133
    54
    25
    15
See reviews for
116
86
20
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Eagle, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

This is an older hotel, but is immaculate. We were very comfortable here for 4 nights and definitely would stay here again. There are great restaurants within walking distance, Balboa Island is nearby, and so is the beach. We also enjoyed the drive and beach at Huntington Beach and a very nice mall nearby.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We visited Newport Beach August 2011 and booked in to the Holiday Inn Express for one week. For a small quiet Bed & Breakfast, it was fantastic. I think that most people use it for one night stop overs as it does not have the facilities of a large complex. Having said that, the breakfast each morning was very adequate. The rooms were comfortable with all the usual accessories needed in the bathroom. If you needed anything else, the staff were only too pleased to oblige. As a bonus, it has a small swimming pool and jacuzzi, which was nearly always emply, so it was like having your own private pool, sun loungers, pool towels and a cabanna, and it was so well situated that the sun was there till quite late into the afternoon. It also had free internet access and, on returning in the evening, there were cookies to eat in the reception. All in all, very well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamFreedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hienb, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your vacation and we are glad we could be a part of making it "fantastic". Please come back and stay with us again next time you are in Orange County.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Beware of using this place if you need to legally use your handicap parking status as I did. Upon arrival the parking lot was full, including the handicap spaces, along with the cross-hatch markings (which is not legal) -- but one space was in use by a couple who did not have valid use of it. They informed me that the hotel had told them to go ahead and park there and would not move. The desk clerk would not redirect them. Upon insisting to speak to the general manager, he said there was nothing he could/would do about it. So if you care about fair-play and legality, not to mention honoring the needs of the disabled community, I would boycott this place in particular, and if that is the corporate policy, this chain in general.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank la4cjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hienb, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Thank you for your feedback. I sincerely apologize for the parking issue you encountered during your stay. I first want to inform you this is not the policy of the Corporate Chain or the hotel. The issue came about due to some miscommunications with my team and I and the communcation error has been rectified. We are currently undergoing construction and this has limited our parking availability. We had some groups staying with us this weekend and we did not anticipate the amount of spots needed for these groups. I have spoken with the majority of my team and made memos to avoid this situation in the future. Again I thank you for your feedback as it helps us improve the hotel and our guest service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Stayed here for a couple of days before Labor Day Weekend. It was a great place. The room was very roomy and clean. The staff was very helpful with directions and suggestions. The FREE breakfast was GREAT. More than cornflakes and bagels. And the pancake machine was fun, too. The only downside to this great little place was that the elevator had a terrible musty odor and I find it strange to have to pay $7.50 to park your car in a lot of the hotel (I just don't get that). This place is convenient to Newport, Balboa, Laguna, Anaheim and the airport. Would definitely stay here again at another time.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheberlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hienb, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach, responded to this review, 19 September 2011
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very happy you enjoyed our Staff and Breakfast. We hope you will come back to visit next time you are in Orange County.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
2.9 km away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,456 reviews
3.8 km away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.4 km away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 17 in Newport Beach
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Best Western Plus Newport Beach Inn
2.7 km away
Newport Channel Inn
Newport Channel Inn
#10 of 17 in Newport Beach
326 reviews
7.6 km away
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
The Duke Hotel Newport Beach
#9 of 17 in Newport Beach
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach
Address: 2300 W Coast Hwy, Newport Beach, CA 92663-4717
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Newport Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctively different, the Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach hotel is located across from Newport Beach Harbor, on exciting Mariner's Mile, a short drive to John Wayne Airport and walking distance to a wide variety of restaurants and entertainment. Come stay with us when you are attending some of Orange County's best events. Just minutes away from the OC Fair, Toshiba Senior Classic, Pageant of the Masters, Newport Harbor Christmas Boat Parade, Newport Beach Film Festival, Newport Boat Show, and the Taste of Newport Our professional staff is courteous, friendly, attentive and committed to making your stay fun, and memorable with first-class quality accommodations and legendary service to exceed your expectations. The Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach is also located near many top Orange County attractions such as Newport Beach Pier, Fashion Island, Balboa Island, South Coast Plaza, Disneyland, and the Orange County Fairgrounds. Newport Beach is also situated between two other exciting beach cities Laguna Beach and Huntington Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Holiday Inn Newport Beach
Newport Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing