We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly,tired hotel”
Review of Doryman's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Doryman's Inn
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Bad breakfast offerings. No cream or milk,no staff visible for help,tired frozen bagels.Room 6 smelled like sewer gas.This B&B/hotel prides themselves on their great breakfast pastries, none present.
Parking is 3 blocks away and problematic.

Room Tip: not room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MLD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2017

After a debacle at Balboa Inn, I was lucky to have the reservation transferred to this location. The front desk person was very helpful, she made sure I understood the parking situation and showed me around.

We had the room right next to the small breakfast area. What it lacked in privacy it made up for in space and comfort. The breakfast was tasty, the roof top deck was a nice touch, and the location can't be beat.

If you have the opportunity, I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thatsnotfunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

Beautiful old world hotel. Room #6 was spacious, private and quiet. Excellent location for a cozy day at the beach and a crazy night on the town! It says Bed & Breakfast. But the "breakfast" was not impressive even on the "continental" scale. But we will definitely come again. It's worth the price. Great time ❤️

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Chq17q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

I booked this hotel for friends of mine who were visiting. Their room had an ocean view, with a fireplace, super comfy bed and beautiful marble bathtub. It is only a few steps to the beach which is nice because parking near here is very hard. This Inn does offer valet parking, and they have a breakfast buffet. I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars just because the location is congested and can be loud at night. At the same time if you want to hangout at fun bars and restaurants without driving it's the perfect spot.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paige S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Looking at the pictures of the rooms, they are exactly as they look. This is a vey old property, but well kept. The desk clerks were so nice and helpful, I can't say enough about them! As we were bringing our luggage from the parking garage a worker, who was leaving for the day assisted us, which he didn't have to do. The desk clark upgraded us the first night, since we didn't need two beds that night to an oceanfront room. The ocean breeze was wonderful You can hear the people outside, but understandably with the window open and being right on the boardwalk. The second night we were in the back and was offered a different room. It was a Friday night and again we had the windows open to have a nice breeze, so we were subjected to the noise from the local bars on each side. It wasn't awful, and we were warned.They do offer earplugs for that room. No complaints we knew upfront about the noise. Again, the local and staff made it pleasurable!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 23Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
0.4 km away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 18 in Newport Beach
602 reviews
0.2 km away
Newport Beach Hotel
Newport Beach Hotel
#9 of 18 in Newport Beach
244 reviews
3.8 km away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
7.6 km away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 18 in Newport Beach
513 reviews
5.2 km away
Fashion Island Hotel
Fashion Island Hotel
#2 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doryman's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doryman's Inn

Address: 2102 W Oceanfront, Newport Beach, CA 92663-4327
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Newport Beach
Price Range: €167 - €295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doryman's Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Doryman's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doryman`s Inn Bed & Breakfast Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Doryman`s Inn Bed And Breakfast Newport Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing