We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”
Review of Doryman's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Doryman's Inn
Reviewed 31 March 2017

Very cool old world décor. Check in was very nice and evening staff were extremely helpful. Overall a great experience.
Loved being able to go to the restaurant downstairs without going outside in the cold.
Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Try Charlies Chili across the way for breakfast or lunch, food is great and so is customer service a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlahameister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

We were looking for a quaint hotel in Newport Beach area, and we got that....and so much more. First the staff is great. From minute we got there till we waved goodbye they were helpful and wonderful. We had the corner suite and it was great. Fantastic view of the pier, beach and street below. Yes noisy at night but not awful. The rooms are old but beautifully decorated. Fireplace was great since it was in 50s at night. The restaurant downstairs was awesome. Denise a great server. When you stay at Doryman Inn you will have a wonderfully romantic adventure. You only live once....experience life at places like Doryman Inn.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kualum2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

This B and B is charming and brilliantly situated. The staff are helpful and kind, and the room we were in was very comfortable.
Breakfast is good- not exceptional for a B and B, but tasty and a good start to the day.
The biggest challenge with a few rooms is late night noise, particularly on weekends, as the neighboring restaurants are busy and loud. But the staff at the inn made sure we were prepared and offered all means of assistance if the noise bothered us, which it did not. Parking is great (which is a big benefit in this area) and it was absolutely wonderful to walk outside and be right at the beach. A great place to stay!!

Room Tip: rooms away from the front of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank denverjjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Based on previous reviews, we decided to spend a night at this hotel. We spent the night in room 6 which is uniquely furnished. We felt like we were in a 1930's New Orleans hotel. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The gal at the front desk was not only friendly but extremely informative about places to see and dine near the hotel. We are definitely heading back for a weekend in the near future

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ernesto B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

The Doryman has a lot of potential – each room is unique, the service is friendly, and it’s in a perfect/central location. However, it is unbelievably loud at night, even in the rooms that don’t face the boardwalk/beach. One of the other reviewers noted that they should install soundproof windows and I couldn’t agree more. Simply offering ear plugs is not a solution to this problem. The rooms themselves are all unique with old-fashioned décor – ours had a big canopy bed which was nice. Breakfast was included in the rate, but was pretty underwhelming – I’d recommend skipping it and getting something to eat somewhere else. They should also communicate the passcode for the door before check-in – it was a big pain to just get into the hotel while toting several suitcases. At this price point, I expected more from the Doryman than just cute rooms and a good location – I’d recommend staying at the Bayshores Peninsula Hotel instead.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
1  Thank stephandgio_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport Beach hotels
0.4 km away
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
#1 of 18 in Newport Beach
602 reviews
0.2 km away
Newport Beach Hotel
Newport Beach Hotel
#9 of 18 in Newport Beach
244 reviews
3.8 km away
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach
#7 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa
7.6 km away
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview
#8 of 18 in Newport Beach
513 reviews
5.2 km away
Fashion Island Hotel
Fashion Island Hotel
#2 of 18 in Newport Beach
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doryman's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doryman's Inn

Address: 2102 W Oceanfront, Newport Beach, CA 92663-4327
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Newport Beach
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Newport Beach
Price Range: €165 - €296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doryman's Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Doryman's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doryman`s Inn Bed & Breakfast Newport Beach Hotel Newport Beach
Doryman`s Inn Bed And Breakfast Newport Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing