We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
US$245
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$207
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
US$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fashion Island Hotel Newport Beach(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
US$445
US$248
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
US$277
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Balboa Inn(Newport Beach)
US$378
US$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Balboa Bay Resort(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
US$369
US$306
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Newport Beach Hotel(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
US$266
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$759
US$713
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
53
23
9
6
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
23
9
6
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrestaurant downstairssunken marblecanopy bedb and bocean viewfront deskcrab cookeryogurtrooftop deckfree breakfastchecking outearplugspierfireplaceproximityfurnishings
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

We were looking for a quaint hotel in Newport Beach area, and we got that....and so much more. First the staff is great. From minute we got there till we waved goodbye they were helpful and wonderful. We had the corner suite and it was great. Fantastic view of the pier, beach and street below. Yes noisy at night but not awful. The rooms are old but beautifully decorated. Fireplace was great since it was in 50s at night. The restaurant downstairs was awesome. Denise a great server. When you stay at Doryman Inn you will have a wonderfully romantic adventure. You only live once....experience life at places like Doryman Inn.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kualum2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017

This B and B is charming and brilliantly situated. The staff are helpful and kind, and the room we were in was very comfortable.
Breakfast is good- not exceptional for a B and B, but tasty and a good start to the day.
The biggest challenge with a few rooms is late night noise, particularly on weekends, as the neighboring restaurants are busy and loud. But the staff at the inn made sure we were prepared and offered all means of assistance if the noise bothered us, which it did not. Parking is great (which is a big benefit in this area) and it was absolutely wonderful to walk outside and be right at the beach. A great place to stay!!

Room Tip: rooms away from the front of the hotel are quieter
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank denverjjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Based on previous reviews, we decided to spend a night at this hotel. We spent the night in room 6 which is uniquely furnished. We felt like we were in a 1930's New Orleans hotel. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The gal at the front desk was not only friendly but extremely informative about places to see and dine near the hotel. We are definitely heading back for a weekend in the near future

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ernesto B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

The Doryman has a lot of potential – each room is unique, the service is friendly, and it’s in a perfect/central location. However, it is unbelievably loud at night, even in the rooms that don’t face the boardwalk/beach. One of the other reviewers noted that they should install soundproof windows and I couldn’t agree more. Simply offering ear plugs is not a solution to this problem. The rooms themselves are all unique with old-fashioned décor – ours had a big canopy bed which was nice. Breakfast was included in the rate, but was pretty underwhelming – I’d recommend skipping it and getting something to eat somewhere else. They should also communicate the passcode for the door before check-in – it was a big pain to just get into the hotel while toting several suitcases. At this price point, I expected more from the Doryman than just cute rooms and a good location – I’d recommend staying at the Bayshores Peninsula Hotel instead.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
1  Thank stephandgio_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017

I so enjoyed our stay at the Doryman! The rooms are beautiful and the view is spectacular! The staff were very helpful and warm. The breakfast was perfect
as well. We loved the little quiches. You can sit outside or in your room. It is very clean and well kept. It is located right at the pier and in the middle of lots of bars and business so it can be noisy. The desk gave us earplugs the second night and that solved the problem. We slept till 9:30 which we never do. The restaurant downstairs-21 Oceanfront is fantastic. Do not miss it. We loved it and went there 2 nights! We will go back.
On suggestion-The pillows were not very good.

Room Tip: Pick a room with ocean view. The inside rooms get a lot of noise from other late night places.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews