We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So rude”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Napa Discovery Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Napa Discovery Inn
Ranked #25 of 30 Hotels in Napa
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So rude”
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I called up to make a reservation. On their website it says that they are pet friendly. When I told them we had a dog, he said "no" and hung up on me. I can't believe he was so rude. We go up to Napa a lot and clearly will never stay here if that's how they treat their guests.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank P_S98742934723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    72
    41
    20
    49
See reviews for
24
100
20
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2011

This place is terrible, when we checked in we were shocked by how disgusting the room was. It was so bad, that we had to sit in the car to decide what we wanted to do. The hotel had a 72 hour cancelation policy, so we could not cancel. So we decided to pay for the room and find another hotel. This is after telling the people at the front desk that we were not happy, them moving us to the "larger King Suite" where there was a gigantic stain on the comforter. Again, we could not even stand to stay in the room to decide what we wanted to do.
I could go on and on listing and describing, but I don't really feel like re-living. Trust me...it was bad!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdaniel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Napa hotels

Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

I had made an reservation for a date far in advance to stay 2 nights which was verbally confirmed, but I never received a written or email confirmation only to discover later that I was charged for a no show on a date that I had not reserved. I then called the Inn to inquire and the man was unpleasant and screaming at me on the phone. I requested to have my credit card look into the matter and found I had no recourse and was stuck with the $100 bill.

Now I fully support hotels charging for no shows but what if a reservation was made in good faith but not correctly recorded by the hotel?

I can only advise that you request written proof of your reservations here and double check the dates.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
104 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

From the outside this motel looks just fine and of course it is one of the more affordable accomodations in Napa. That's why we did not mind the smell of chemical cleaners combined with closed windows all day while it was about 90 degrees outside. Nothing, what open windows and an AC can't take care of. However, when we discovered long black hairs in our beds, between the sheets and everywhere, we were not very happy. Combined with the fact that the manager handed out fresh and apparently clean towels which did not look white at all, not even close because the maid forgot to leave one more set of towels in the room, we chose not to leave any tip. We did not try any breakfast, cause it was served in the tiny office of the front desk. Wifi worked, but the connection was not really good in our room. There was a fridge and a microwave in the room as well, however the microwave was not clean at all. Overall, the place served it's purpose but nothing more.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunsetd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We arrived to our room and it was hot and smelled of old animal urine. I think it used to be a pet friendly hotel. Once we turned on the A/C and opened the windows it helped a little but the smell was still noticeable. The bathroom was nice but the bed was very hard and difficult to sleep on. The front desk was not very helpful when asked questions about tours, transportation and other things to do in Napa. The continental breakfast was limited but at least the coffee was good. This place would be good if you have a car and need a free space to park, however if you don't have your own form of transport it is not very convenient or close to downtown. If you are looking for a cheap deal and a bed then this place is for you, but if you require a little more service, cleanliness, convenience and comfort then it would better to go for a place that costs a little more.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enp0907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napa hotels
1.1 km away
Napa Valley Hotel & Suites, a 3 Palms Boutique Hotel and Resort
1.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at the Vines
0.8 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Napa Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Napa
2.0 km away
RiverPointe Napa Valley Resort
1.6 km away
Hotel Napa Valley
Hotel Napa Valley
#6 of 30 in Napa
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Napa Discovery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Napa Discovery Inn

Property: Napa Discovery Inn
Address: 500 Silverado Trl, Napa, CA 94559-3413
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Napa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Napa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2 star — Napa Discovery Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Napa Discovery Inn is located just just minutes from the action. This Napa hotel was remodeled in 2007 and is located 1 mile from downtown Napa, the Wine Train & dozens of shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Napa Discovery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napa Discovery Hotel Napa
Napa Discovery Inn Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing