We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible cave and wine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jarvis Estate

Jarvis Estate
Book In Advance
More Info
US$420.00*
and up
Private Napa Valley Customized Wine Tour
Ranked #11 of 186 things to do in Napa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Jarvis Estate is a family owned winery dedicated to crafting a limited quantity of preeminent wines from our sustainably farmed, estate vineyards in the rugged hillside, four miles east of downtown Napa Valley. The Jarvis Estate winemaking facility is entirely contained within 45,000 square feet of cave tunneled into the scenic Vaca Mountains,and is not only a visual masterpiece, but a technical masterpiece as well. Wines are produced only from estate grown grapes and are cave-aged to perfection prior to release. Varietals include: Chardonnay, Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, Petite Verdot, Tempranillo and a two proprietary Bordeaux blends.
California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Incredible cave and wine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

This is an amazing place. It is expensive, but the cave is quite impressive and the wine is wonderful!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Randy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    26
    8
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Obnoxious staff - good thing Napa has a ton of other options”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

We had booked a tour of the cellar based on a review in Food and Wine magazine, planning for the end of the day. My husband pulled a muscle in his back during the day and was in agony. I called to cancel the tour and the guy I spoke to was snotty and rude. Apparently they really need the business. My wine guy at home recommended this place as well so I'll make sure to let him know I don't appreciate the bad referral.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MDG02186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Just the tour alone will knock your socks off...and the wines are superb...although a bit out of my price range

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre4710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Such a cool place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Alex was our tour guide - great personality and you can tell he loves what he does (really - who wouldn't?!). The winery is a sight to see - all carved into the mountain, it feels like your stepping back in time. And the wine is very tasty - I am normally not a Merlot fan but LOVED it - and the Tempranillo was not included in the tasting but Alex retrieved a bottle from the back to share. Still savoring my purchases!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank jastarr77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
108 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“My Favourite Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

I visited a range of wineries (Opus One, Silver Oak, Cakebread etc) but found Jarvis to be the best. Unlike other winery tours, this wasn't boring at all. Our tour leader was animated, funny, witty but most importantly, didn't make us stand around barrels for 1.5 hours. Instead, we walked around the cave in which the winery was built (very cool) but spent a good potion of the tour sitting around a communal table eating cheese and sipping incredible wines. It was the perfect balance between informative and relaxing, the latter of which was lacking in many of the other tours I went on. I definitely recommend this to wine connosseurs and casual enthusiasts alike!

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank VancouverCDN_travlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jarvis Estate also viewed

 

Been to Jarvis Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing