We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (419)
Filter reviews
419 results
Traveller rating
103
130
94
48
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
130
94
48
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstate parkbird sanctuaryhotel restaurantgreat happy hourheat wavesea birdsnice fireplaceclose to towngreat viewstayed nightsgas fireplaceocean viewmini fridgesecond floorking bedbeautiful roomshort drive
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 419 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2018

This hotel is long overdue on maintenance!! We (over)paid 300,- for: a room with cracked paint coming from the ceiling and walls, doors with chipped wood, a permanent water puddle in the shower, dirty tile grout, no waterpressure for a nice shower, a frayed bathroom-mat and missing central light when entering the room. Taking the car to our room we had to avoid the holes in the road and also the paintwork on the hotel exteriour was long overdue. This highlight of our trip turned out to be a lowlight.

Room Tip: Hotel + rooms are overdue on maintenance. The view is great, but when paying 300,- I want a great room next to a great view!
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank SaschaHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie Y, General Manager at Inn at Morro Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Dear SashaHM,

I am very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We strive to make every guest encounter a positive and memorable one. We regret that we missed the mark on your most recent stay with us.

I understand that you were dissatisfied with the condition of our historic Inn. I want you to know that we are using this feedback to improve our guest experience in the future, and we are looking forward to our planned room renovations!

Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback.

Thank you,
Charlie Yates
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

The Inn is located south of the town and tourist area of Morro Bay, just inside the park boundary. It’s away from all the noise and congestion. There’s even an unaffiliated golf course a short walk away. The restaurant and some rooms look out over the bay and Morro Rock. So, location - five stars.

Everything else is down hill.

Service - The front desk staff seemed rushed, unorganized, and not particularity helpful.

On one of our two full days there, we had the do not disturb sign out until about 2pm. When we left the room, we removed the sign, and saw that cleaning staff and carts were still working their way toward our room. When we returned at 7:30 pm, we found our room had not been serviced. We didn’t notify anyone because we didn’t want to leave our room again that night.

There is a happy hour in the restaurant and bar area from 2 to 6 every day. We arrived at 5 and was assured by the front desk that we were in time for the event. We walked into the bar at 5:20 and saw the sign saying wait for hostess. So, we waited, and waited. After about 10 minutes we spoke to a waitress walking by, and she also said we had plenty of time, and that the hostess should be with us shortly. Finally the hostess showed up, only to tell us that we were too late for happy hour and there was no where to seat us. We said we’d stand and have a glass of wine, but evidently that isn’t allowed and she said again that even though is was 5:40, we were too late. We went back to our room and made our own drinks!

We thought we’d try again the next day, and arrived about 2:30. Sign said wait for hostess. Again, no hostess. After a few minutes we went in and sat at a table. We had the small paper menus in our hands when the hostess walked over, grabbed them from our hands and said abruptly, “You can’t use these.” She returned with different little Paper menus, dropped them on the table and said, “Here.” And walked away. Luckily she did come back and take our order.

Happy hour consists of $2 off any glass of wine and half price appetizers. The wine selection was nice, with per glass prices from about $9 to $12, less the $2, and was a nice size glass of wine. We tried two appetizers. The flat bread/pizza and the ceviche.Appetizers may be half price, but you only get a half serving of a marginal appetizer.

Once the hostess/waitress delivered our wine and food, she again disappeared. Never to be seen again! After waiting for 15 to 20 minutes after we finished our wine and food, we asked the bartender for help, then left. After these two experiences, we decided not to attempt to eat any of our meals at the restaurant. In any case, the menus were limited and not particularly exciting.

Rooms and grounds - this is an older property that i’m sure was quite the place when new. But now is showing its age. There has been some attempt at updating the rooms, but inconsistent and not well designed. Our room had a nice fire place and a bar area with large granite top. But the refrigerator was tiny and down on the floor. You practically had to kneel to put things away and retrieve them. The bathroom had a pedestal sink with narrow edges, and the only shelf was about 3” by 12”. So there was nowhere to place shaving needs, makeup or hair products in the bathroom. The sliding glass door and screen door to the small patio were damaged from salt air, so took some pulling and tugging to open. Evidently our room was not alone as we could hear the doors in other rooms also rumbling when opened and closed.

Not only were the walls between rooms thin, the acoustics of the building seemed to amplify sounds so that you not only heard your adjacent neighbors, but also those elsewhere who had their windows open. We heard romantic sounds for over an hour one night, and again the next morning. The next night had a group of giggling teen girls talking until 10, and then again beginners at 6 in the morning.

I spent a couple hours by the pool and hot tub one afternoon. There were newspapers scattered around, plastic bags and some other unrecognizable items at the bottom of the pool, and dry cereal spilled all over one table and chair. Granted, whoever left that mess was a pig, but staff should have been cleaning up the area as needed.

Certainly I have stayed in modest hotels at times, and would have accepted all the above issues as par for the course. But for the rates charged by The Inn, I find them unacceptable. Which brings me to the lsst issue - I reserved what referred to on their website as a Deluxe Partial Bay View Room. There was NO View from our room or from the tiny open patio. The only way to see the Bay was to drag our chairs and table across a huge stone deck, large enough for parties/receptions, and sit in view of all other occupants of the two story probably 30 unit wing. When we questioned the front office staff, they assured us this was one of the rooms in that category, with the second highest room rates in the property.

Needless to say, we will not be staying here again.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank EugeneGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie Y, General Manager at Inn at Morro Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Dear EugeneGypsy,

Thank you for your recent stay with us at the historic Inn at Morro Bay. We strive to offer our guests the finest on the coast, and truly missed the mark during your stay. We learn much from each review. Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel, restaurant and lounge.

Sincerely,
Charlie Yates
General Manager
Inn at Morro Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

It's been quite a few years since we visited the Inn at Morro Bay but I remember we had a hot tub, fireplace and down covers.We had a pricey but tasty meal at the restaurant.We just stayed overnight and the next morning they gave me a bucket of golf balls to hit at the range across the street.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank 666Maynard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie Y, General Manager at Inn at Morro Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Dear 666Maynard,

It is great to hear that you had a nice return visit to the Inn at Morro Bay! Our unique location within the State Park and across from the Morro Bay Golf Course has it's charms! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!

Warm regards,
Charlie Yates
General Manager
Inn at Morro Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

Keeping this short...accommodation of the most basic type but well located with management that was responsive to our requests. Housekeeping did a good job. The location just off of the main road is very good: you are close to restaurants, gas stations,and ATM. The way up to the dunes of Pismo involves a 15 minute walk or a few minutes by car. The Amtrak station is right there...couldn't be better.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank triptaker58jtbjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie Y, General Manager at Inn at Morro Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Dear triptaker58jtbjr,

Thank you for your recent stay with us at the Inn at Morro Bay. We love our guests and hope to see you back soon. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!

All the best,
Charlie Yates
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

What a charming inn on the Bay! Wife loved the fireplace and the sliding doors going out to the bay. Large spacious room with a bar and very comfortable bed. Bathroom wasn't quite what we would have liked -- pedestal sink and no place to set toiletries. And just a small 2' square shower stall. Otherwise enjoyed it. Pool and Jacuzzi looked inviting and well maintained. Staff friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Raker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie Y, General Manager at Inn at Morro Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear Raker1,

It is great to hear that you were charmed by our historic Inn at Morro Bay! We love our guests and it shows! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon!

Cheers,
Charlie Yates
General Manager
Inn at Morro Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews