We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (537)
Filter reviews
537 results
Traveller rating
306
194
33
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
306
194
33
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmagic fingerslarge closetcoffee makerwalk in closetfridge and microwavemain streetclean roomsshops and restaurantstwo blockswalking distancemorro rocknight's sleepcomfortable bedone night staymotellacedoilies
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 537 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2018

Super clean. Smallish rooms, but we were not expecting a resort. Parked in front of the room. Friendly owners. Tried the magic fingers bed vibrator, and it lasted a long time for 25 cents. A good location for walking to anything downtown. This is a good value.

Stayed: June 2018
1  Thank DClarkPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 via mobile

Nice, small motel on the ain street. It is a walking distance to the Morro Bay harbour. Great for a short stay. Good value, clean and friendly staff. Not pet friendly in case you want to bring your dog / cat.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank ap0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

This is the perfect place to stay in Morro Bay. We ended up getting into town very late but someone from the property called us earlier to see when we would arrive so that they could make sure we were able to check in. The hotel itself was cute and very clean, our room was great. I've never stayed anywhere so accomodating - I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cook3242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

About the lowest priced motel near the Morro Bay core. The property is immaculately clean and excellently maintained. Lady at front desk was amazingly friendly and helpful.

The rooms are in great shape with newer windows, heater/air conditioner, flooring, etc. Super clean. Nothing worn or damaged despite this being clearly a more 'classic' motel. There are two things that are totally out of place though: Large doilies on all the tables and coin operated bed vibrators ('massagers'). Those just don't belong here, although I got a good laugh at the coin op massagers which are old mechanical style but appear to be in great shape.

Soundproofing is their biggest need. The first room I was in was horrible. Guests in next room were loud and the sound came through so bad it was almost like they were in my room. Lady at front desk was very apologetic and immediately relocated me to a room on the other side of the complex. Much better, but I could still hear the people in the next room, although fortunately they were much quieter. They need to seal up the adjoining door frames and caulk along where the ceiling meets the wall. If they did that, the sound situation would be tremendously improved.

Washroom is quaint but again, incredibly clean and meticulously maintained.

Sundown Inn is a super clean, well managed, quaint little motel which offers good value in comparison to prices of most hotels in the area. Best suited for people with bad hearing or good earplugs though.

Room Tip: Try for an end unit or something - noise between rooms is the only real concern.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GeoffNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

Nice owner that explained that took the time to explain the area. In June Morro Bay can be very chilli because of the gloom.

We stayed at the handicapped room because that was the only one available wich was spacious and clean.

Within the area there are several places to have breakfirst so we didn't miss this at the Sundown Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews