We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of Anderson Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Morro Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Anderson Inn
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Morro Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2017

What can we say! From the moment we arrived Mollie & Jeff simply could not do enough for us, the over the water room was simply spectacular, seeing and hearing the sea lions and the sun rise and sun set over Morro Rock was just amazing. The furnishings, the art work, every little detail makes you feel like you are home.

We simply did not want to leave

Room Tip: Over the water room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank deaconwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 607 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2017

My wife and I recently returned from our second stay (5 days) at the Anderson Inn. We have already booked for next year because, well....we love Morro Bay and the surrounding central coast area. Obviously, there are many choices for lodging in the area, but we will continue to stay in The Anderson Inn because it's a family run hotel with an emphasis on details, personal touches and making you feel like part of the
'family." Roger, Mollie and Jeff Anderson are the third generation of the Anderson family involved in the hotel/restaurant industry. Their experience in the industry, local area knowledge and love for people is evident from the time they greet you upon arrival to the goodbye's at checkout.

The Anderson Inn is a small boutique hotel with only 8 rooms; 5 smaller rooms with small balconies (I believe) and three larger Harbor rooms with wonderful, glass enclosed balconies hanging out over the edge of the bay. From these balconies, you have a magnificent view of the bay, Morro Rock, the otters and seals in the bay and some of the most spectacular sunsets you've ever seen. All of the guest rooms are upstairs (they have an elevator) and all have a view of Morro Rock and the bay. The ground level has a small jewelry/art shop, the hotel office and the Galley Restaurant on the west side overlooking the bay.

The Harbor rooms are more spacious than the other rooms and include a jacuzzi tub with separate shower and fireplaces. They also have two comfortable, swivel lounge chairs and chairs/table on the balcony. We chose one of the Harbor rooms based on all the excellent reviews on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed. In fact, we were pleasantly surprised by unexpected touches like the soft, plush robes, chilled champagne on our anniversary, fresh cream brought up for our coffee and binoculars in the room to view the abundant wildlife in and around the bay. The rooms are well appointed with high quality sheets and towels, a small fridge, free hi-speed (VERY high speed) internet, an HDTV and granite countertops. It just feels like luxury when you are there.

Mollie, Jeff and Roger go out of their way to make sure you have plenty of water bottles, that you have dinner reservations (we HIGHLY recommend The Galley restaurant), directions if you need them, and recommendations for just about anything you want to do or see in the area. I haven't asked but I'm pretty sure Mollie kept notes from our first visit last year so they could "customize" our visit this year. This is the kind of service and attention to detail that you rarely see these days. It's charming and builds a relationship that makes you want to come back again and again.

The ONLY thing one might complain about is the seals located on the floats in the middle of the bay. They truly do bark around the clock and are pretty loud. We enjoy it, it adds to the charm of the place but if they keep you awake at night, ear plugs are supplied in each room. I realize the Anderson Inn is not the least expensive place to stay but if you want to pamper yourself and enjoy the most incredible views of the rock at sunset with cute otters eating crabs just below your balcony, then book a Harbor room and enjoy it. After all, isn't that why you work(ed) so hard in the first place?

Room Tip: Chose 201 or 203, they both have windows. 201 is quieter; 203 is next to the Otter Cafe bar- live b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wyndoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

We had driven from Los Angeles to Morro Bay as part of a road trip and arrived quite tired
As soon as we parked up we were met by the family of owners
We were totally welcomed and shown to the best room overlooking the bay and the huge rock shielding the bay
Totally blown away by the welcome, the quality of the room and furnishings and most of all the animals outside in the bay
Otters passed our balcony over the water and a colony of sea lions kept barking all the time
Quite noisy but very funny at the same time
We slept really well and we’re up early to sit in bed listening to sea lions barking
Really really liked the Anderson inn
Totally recommend them
Alan xxx

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank CatnAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

This gem is worth the visit. Molly and Jeff were amazing hosts and made us feel like old friends. The room (bay view), was immaculate, spacious and extremely comfortable. The location is amazing, and we did dine downstairs so our commute after dinner was pretty simple! Our only issue was the sea lions do bark all night long, but if the door is closed, or you put the earplugs that are thoughtfully provided for you in, you're in good shape. Really a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: If you can do the ocean view it certainly is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cindy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Family run hotel and what a family. The nicest, most considerate hosts. Thank you so much. We had a beautiful room overlooking the bay - looking out at seals and sea otters and what a view when the sun goes down.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Morro Bay hotels
0.5 km away
Estero Inn
Estero Inn
#3 of 29 in Morro Bay
385 reviews
0.4 km away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
866 reviews
0.4 km away
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
Comfort Inn Morro Bay
#5 of 29 in Morro Bay
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Bayfront Inn
Bayfront Inn
#16 of 29 in Morro Bay
460 reviews
0.5 km away
Sundown Inn
Sundown Inn
#4 of 29 in Morro Bay
507 reviews
1.7 km away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#21 of 29 in Morro Bay
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anderson Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anderson Inn

Address: 897 Embarcadero, Morro Bay, CA 93442-2147
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Morro Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Morro Bay
#1 Romantic Hotel in Morro Bay
Price Range: €194 - €245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Anderson Hotel Morro Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing