We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch for a very reasonable price”

Won Ju Korean Restaurant
Ranked #147 of 318 Restaurants in Monterey
Cuisines: Korean
Restaurant details
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

Of course, you do not have the view on the sea, but this restaurant was a great surprise. Fresh products, authentic menu, welcoming service.
Worth it :)!

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank ManuOnAir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2016

We came across this Korean restaurant amongst several others along Lighthouse Avenue, a 5-minute or so walk from our hotel After walking up and down the street and checking menus (if displayed), my wife opted for a Korean dinner. It wasn't crowded and a small party of Koreans youths were finishing up, leaving us as the only guests. We didn't know it at the time that they were due to close at 9.00 pm but they willingly stayed open while we ate. The food tasted genuinely Korean, portions were rather large (another thing we didn't know), and with the rather numerous other side dishes, we were full rather quickly. But the food was good enough that we requested for the balance to be doggy-bagged. The owners were also some of the most friendly and engaging folks we met in Monterey - through our conversation, we learned about tourist trends in the town, the cost of various properties, their history as a couple, and of course...the weather. What a lovely place!

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ianwyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2016 via mobile

Restaurant competition is fierce in this area. But sometimes you crave authentic Korean and this is the spot. Truly a mom and pop restaurant with each meal prepared next to the tables. Homemade kimchi, great soups and flavors. I love Korean food and this is one of the best around. A bit pricey for dinner, but they have a lunch menu 1200- 3:00pm. May not seem like much when you walk in but wait for the food!

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank JakeH1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2015

My cousin and I were craving Korean food today and picked this restaurant due to online reviews. Now that I've eaten there I agree with the other 5 star ratings. Great food, warm service, and considering the quality of their food the pricing was fair. One of those little places you can't wait to visit again. Can't imagine anyone would be disappointed unless you aren't a fan of "made from scratch" real Korean food.

Date of visit: November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2015

This is a casual small restaurant that makes authentic Korean food. Owners are very friendly and the food is spiced as it should be. The Korean appetizers are refilled as much as you want. A nice escape from the fancy places on the penninsula.

Date of visit: May 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MARKL55_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Won Ju Korean Restaurant also viewed

Seaside, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Won Ju Korean Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing