We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monterey Fairgrounds Inn
Ranked #56 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

We booked the inn with the price of at least 3 stars hotel due to the peak season. When we arrived we were so shock to see the condition of the room. It's run down and it looks more like an old hut rather than a room! Shabby and all the facilities were not working well too. I'm not a very picky person but this is too much for me. I didnt even feel comfortable to put my body on the bed, afraid if it's not clean. Hairs in bathroom and trash on the kitchen. Not recommended at all.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank 661ellenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2017

This motel is barely a step above camping. Only one outlet worked in the entire room, everything in the bathroom was stripped from the walls, and there was no hot water available until the last day of our stay. One of the missing things from the bathroom wall was a hair dryer. After my cold shower, I asked the front desk if they had an extra hair dryer and the person behind the desk said they would be able to locate one in a few…hours. It is without a doubt the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

This place is seriously a joke. The price for this room should be 29.99 at most. Jacuzzi was broke, telephone didn't work in the room. Dirty carpet, saggy bed, dirty bathroom had soap from others on the shower even. All around a craphole. Don't stay here

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

I don't know where the other reviewers normally stay, but for the price, this is on par with what you would get anywhere. The room was clean. The interior was dated and the bed was not the best, however, definitely sleepable. The water pressure was okay and I really had no issues. As long as you don't expect luxury then you won't be disappointed. The wifi is terrible, but then again, cell phone service is terrible out here too.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Silas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

This motel offers little more than a bed and shower. The room looks cheap and stale. The bed and sheets are old, but clean. The breakfast offered is dry flakes, coffee and juice. I will not stay here again, there are better with similar price in the area.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank ald233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 km away
Quality Inn Monterey - Fremont Street
3.1 km away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#54 of 56 in Monterey
70 reviews
3.5 km away
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
#50 of 56 in Monterey
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 km away
Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras
0.6 km away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
0.4 km away
Motel 6 Monterey
Motel 6 Monterey
#51 of 56 in Monterey
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Fairgrounds Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Fairgrounds Inn

Address: 2042 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5237
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range: €46 - €188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Fairgrounds Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Fairgrounds Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Monterey Fairgrounds Hotel Monterey
Econolodge Monterey Fairgrounds
Monterey Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing