We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful trip back to the Monterey Plaza”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful trip back to the Monterey Plaza”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed in this hotel over 25 years ago and on honeymoon and were fortunate to stay there again just recently. We ate lunch at Schooners and the food was absolutely wonderful.

Room Tip: The extra cost to have a room on the water is well worth it. You'll fall asleep to the sound of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSafranek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,273
    679
    184
    92
    42
See reviews for
1,224
1,959
118
413
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,357)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Have stayed here a few times, and just as this visit, found this a very good choice in Monterey, at the quiet end of Canery Row, very convienent, beautiful Bay views, very comfortable rooms and friendly, professional service, we will stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for a king ocean view on the 3rd of 4th floor of the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johndannermichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aptos, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I have visited this hotel and spa a numerous amount of times and have never once had a bad experience. The spa on the top floor is always impeccable. They have a full gym with high quality exercise equipment and the locker rooms are cleaner than a whistle with every type of toiletry you could ever imagine. I love this spa and the service here is above excellent. The staff is always friendly and they definitely go above and beyond for all of their clients. I'm a local and choose to use this facility over any other on the Monterey Peninsula. They offer packages that include a 50 minute service (which are always great) and then serve you a 2-course meal outside where you can enjoy the sun and jacuzzis that overlook the bay. I am tellling you that once you visit this Spa, no other will ever be able to compare. Special thanks to Martha, Sam, Samantha and Rea. You all do a wonderful job and each time I bring guests with me, they are always so impressed with you.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kami M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I'm local in Monterey now, but when I lived in Santa Cruz, my boyfriend & I would always stay at the Plaza...we love it! Everything from the people working there to the location to the ambience is wonderful. I especially love going to Schooners now & drinking champagne at the bar & watching Anna work the room...she's a joy to be around. I highly recommend this hotel for any occasion!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

My husband and I spent 5 days recently at this wonderful hotel in Monterey, California. I think we could have stayed much longer! Our room was wonderful, large, and had just an incredible view of the ocean. We could watch the amazing sea otters from the room! The dining room was also just wonderful. Every meal that we had there was just perfect and the service was terrific. It's so nice when you stay at a hotel and the staff remembers your name if you have a request or if they just happen to be sharing an elevator or see you elsewhere in the building! The warm, cozy feel of the resort is just perfect. The setting of the hotel is just amazing!

I am a big fan of the Aquarium in Monterey and you can easily walk there from this hotel. Cannery Row is just an OK spot to walk - kind of like saying you walked down Broadway in NYC but it is still a vital part of the community. We were originally supposed to stay at the Marriott but changed our minds at the last minute. What a great decision. When we saw the Marriott it was a typical large, boxy hotel geared more to conventions and large groups than to the individual traveler or family. We just fell instantly in love with the Monterey Plaza. Absolutely no complaints of any kind - just a wonderful, perfect stay that we wished would never end!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front! Also ask if they have any breakfast included packages available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montauk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.6 km away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 km away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,573 reviews
3.5 km away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.4 km away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
1,932 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
2,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa

Property: Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Address: 400 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-7501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Monterey
#1 Family Hotel in Monterey
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#1 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#1 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#7 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on the water's edge at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. Dramatically perched over the Monterey Bay and located on historic Cannery Row, the Plaza is the perfect place to enjoy the gentle sounds of the surf, the fresh scent of sea air and all of the activities that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. The only Forbes Four Star rated hotel in Monterey, the Plaza welcomes you with its warm Mediterranean ambiance and its legendary personalized service. While here, enjoy our roof-top Vista Blue Spa, the European-style Café La Strada, and our waterfront restaurant, Schooners Coastal Kitchen & Bar.For the comfort of our guests, all sleeping rooms and balconies are 100% non-smoking. In addition to taxes, a $27 per night resort fee applies to all reservations, which includes valet parking, guestroom internet, access to the spa facilities and local phone calls. Periodically, the Plaza is host to events such as weddings, dinners and concerts which may be seen and heard from sleeping rooms. Every effort is made to keep the times and volume of these events within reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Plaza Hotel And Spa
Monterey Plaza Hotel Monterey
Monterey Plaza Resort
Plaza Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing