We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Never judge a book by its cover” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stevenson Monterey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Stevenson Monterey
Ranked #20 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Never judge a book by its cover”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

I had mixed feelings about choosing this motel after reading other reviews here... but in the end i am really glad we did!! My family and i stayed for 2 nights and were very pleased! The room was nicely decorated, clean, and comfortable. The staff was very friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. The breakfast offered each morning included 2 kinds of cereal, oatmeal, boiled eggs, fresh fruit, yogurt, 3 kinds of juice, toast, and a variety of muffins. The only downsides for us were 1) we had chosen this location specifically for the pool so the kids could swim-- it is currently closed for renovations. 2) there is quite a bit of street noise. Running the a/c covered most of the sound except for the brakes on the buses. It wasnt terrible, but if youre a light sleeper, you may want to bring earplugs.

Overall this was a great place for a weekend getaway and we will visit again the next time we are in town :0)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klier_calling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catsseat, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Thank you for the positive review. We are glad you stayed 2 nights and noticed the room was nicely decorated, clean and comfortable. Our staff is, as you stated, very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The new swimming pool looks great and will be open again next week. We started bringing many rooms up to date in the summer and are actually finishing these paint and tile projects now. We do take pride in the property. Come again soon!

Craig Smith
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    245
    132
    38
    25
See reviews for
162
264
32
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

The good points - centrally located , room is clean and good value for money BUT if you are looking for a decent nights sleep then avoid . The position of the 'hotel' is right next to a petrol station on a busy crossroads so traffic noise is loud ALL NIGHT . Ok, so this is maybe to be expected ish , however the walls are paper thin and we could literally hear every conversation and every tv program that was going on in the next room . Ok in the day but at midnight when you have a long drive the next day , it is slightly annoying to say the least . There are plenty of other inns and motels further along Mundas ave so if you don't mind an extra 5 or 10 minutes walk to the harbour then I would definitely advise it , otherwise pack your ear plugs !

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wishiwasthere78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catsseat, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Thank you for noticing a few of our strong points being centrally located, clean room and good value for the money. Traffic exists but is not all night long as Monterey is a small, quiet residential community right on the ocean. WE are 4 blocks from the beach The walls are normal and insulated. Some of our rooms have connecting doors. Our 24 hour desk is ready and willing to answer questions and any guest concerns. We have Pillowtop bed systems in each room. Many guests come back because we have these Simmons Pillowtop beds.

Craig Smith
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

Please don't stay here without checking others first.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry33a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig S, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, 18 July 2015
Thank you for your review. Sorry there was a misunderstanding. You liked our location.
Please come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

If you wanna experience the 60ies then you are right at this motel. Although the rooms have been renovated the place itself is quite old. Location is not as great since at least one gas station is in front of the door. Moreover, the Downtown Travellodge is surrounded by streets; ergo you will not have the quietest night. Staff is ok but not especially nice.
Please keep in mind that you have to pay an extra fee if you want to use the lockers.
It is written on a sign. However, the staff did not tell us the information when we checked in.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naveed N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catsseat, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Thank you for mentioning all our rooms have been renovated. We added Simmons Pillowtop beds, Duvet bed toppings, all new furniture,carpeting and a 3 way curtain system in 2009. We also have double-paned windows(really helps with most outside noise issues) and in 2006 added
Amana A/C-heat pumps. Our location is in the heart of Downtown and Historic Monterey,
4 blocks to Monterey Beach and 6 blocks to Fisherman's Wharf and the Ocean Front Recreational Trail (about 12 minutes on foot.) A Chevron station with a Mini-Mart
is in front of us. The front desk staff is on duty 24 hours a day and is known for giving great
concierge style assitance with a smile. We receive many positive comments about them.
The cost ($1.50) for the safe is written on the Registration Card that guests sign upon Check-in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

Pros: handy for downtown; ample free parking inc. underground; clean; decent free breakfast

Cons: overpriced for a motel; tiny pool by main road; fixed shower head means anyone over 5' tall has to stoop! Bizarre design of shower!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fraser1893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catsseat, Owner at The Stevenson Monterey, responded to this review, 11 September 2011
Thank you for the response. Our central location is one of the reasons we have so many return guests and the word of mouth on this key point is very strong.

We do have a few shower heads in our 51 rooms that need to be higher and we are fixing those
as soon as we can. Sorry for any inconvenience.
Craig Smith, Owner/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.0 km away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
3.5 km away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
3.1 km away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.2 km away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#8 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
0.7 km away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stevenson Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stevenson Monterey

Property: The Stevenson Monterey
Address: 675 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-3107 (Formerly Monterey Downtown Travelodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Monterey
#19 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#20 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Stevenson Monterey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 51 unit boutique hotel in one of the most central, city center locations in Monterey. We are a 12 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharf and the Ocean Front Rec Trail. We are 100% non-smoking with air conditioners, an outdoor seasonally heated pool, hair dryers, free continental breakfast, free wi-fi, a 24 hr front desk and a very experienced front desk staff. Monterey Bay is one of the most outstanding vacation destinations in the United States. The Stevenson hotel is perfectly located in historic downtown Monterey, California. Our Monterey hotel is within a short distance to the well-known attractions like Monterey Bay Aquarium etc. And minutes from exciting whale watching cruises, diving, amazing parks, wineries and restaurants. Our delightful hotel features two types of guestrooms, one Queen Bed room and two Queen Beds room, all rooms are spacious, stylish with a host of modern lifestyle amenities. Ideal for the family or romantic getaway and are equipped with the highest quality amenities, including air conditioning, wireless internet, HD TVs, Cable TV, alarm clock, iron, ironing board, lamp, safe, hypoallergenic pillows, hairdryers, and Eco-friendly bath amenities. Our downtown Monterey hotel places you within walking distance from the most popular attractions, golf courses, beautiful beaches, and restaurants. Monterey is home to the world renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Conference Center, Carmel By-The-Sea, Pebble Beach, and 17-Mile Drive. The Stevenson hotel in Monterey is located very close to Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row where fine cuisine and boutique shops await your visit and offers exciting glimpses of fabulous seafood. Popular restaurant boast a full range of excellent dining options such as Rosines, Lallapalooza, Bubba Gump Shrimp Company, Abalonetti Seafood Trattoria, and Monterey Fish House. Also, experience delicious culinary excellence at Old Fisherman's Grotto, Bistro Moulin, Restaurant 1833, Montrio Bistro,and Ambrosia India Bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your The Stevenson Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Downtown Travelodge Hotel Monterey
Travelodge Monterey
Travel Lodge Monterey
Monterey Travel Lodge
Monterey Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing