We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,074)
Filter reviews
2,074 results
Traveller rating
1,525
370
96
54
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,525
370
96
54
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswood burning fireplacewindow seatwine and cheesesilver trayrooftop gardenocean viewcannery rowcanopy bedwelcome homevalet parkingcontinental breakfastcorner roomromantic hotelhardwood floorsbreakfast deliveredstreet sideeach afternoon
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 2,074 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2017

A lovely Inn whose staff went out of their way to accomodate everything we needed .avo drinks and nibbles and valet car service fantastic breakfast in bed yum .All the suggestions for dinner were great and free dessert were a surprise

Room Tip: There is no air con but open windows are ok as there is little noise from the street
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here a couple of days to explore the Monterey Bay area. It is right on the bay and the roof top garden offered great views of the bay. Our room was a little small. We had a king bed that was very comfortable. The bathroom was a little small but very clean. There was a gas fireplace.(temps were not cold enough to use) Our room faced the street, but they do have rooms facing the bay. The hotel does not have air conditioning and our room was very hot when we checked in late in the afternoon. After we opened the windows, turned on the ceiling fan and used a tower fan they provided in the room, the room cooled down before bedtime. The next day we left the windows open, the curtains closed and the ceiling fan on while we were gone for the day. The room was fine when we returned. We visited in September and the temps were in the lower 70's during the day, 50's at night.

The great things: Valet parking, breakfast in our room each morning(complimentary), wine and cheese each evening(complimentary), terrific service(staff is outstanding). Anything we ask for, extra towels, directions, etc., were given quickly and with a smile. We felt very spoiled. On check out day we wanted to go to the aquarium before we left town. They sent us on our way so we would not have to wait on them to get the car. The valet brought our car around and loaded our luggage then re-parked our car. When we returned, the valet brought our car and we were ready to go. The hotel is on Cannery Row. If that is your main objective, you will never have to use your car. We branched out to Point Lobos State Natural Reserve, 17 mile drive, Pacific Grove, Carmel By The Sea, etc.,

Valet parking is $28 per day. There is no parking at the hotel. Any time you need your automobile, it is quickly made available.

We would stay here again in a heartbeat. The location and service is outstanding.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank strickler1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Services & Amenities
BOOK NOW
I can't wait to return to Monterey and when I do I will stay here. The hotel is beautiful inside and out. I had the pleasure of staying at the Monterey Plaza. It was beautiful. Spindrift looks perfect also. They have Silver Tray Breakfast Service and they host an Afternoon Wine & Cheese Reception. This allows gets and staff to meet and greet. Love this. They have complimentary Wi-Fi and In-Room Fireplaces. I'd love to experience their Roof Top Garden. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 560sueu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

We spent three nights in the Spindrift in September.
The main attraction of the hotel is the wonderful sea view from the sea facing rooms. The rooms are characterful with a four poster bed, wood fireplace and lovely window seat. Falling asleep to the sound of the sea was wonderful. The central location is a further positive
The common area is small and the complimentary breakfast is brought to your room. The breakfast itself is ok, but nothing special. The wine and cheese in the afternoon is a nice touch but the cheese is sadly of the plastic variety.
The staff were helpful and friendly but I was not altogether happy with their attitude. It was unprofessional at times. As an example, one afternoon I overhead two of them talking and laughing about a couple of hotel guests they had just been dealing with.

In conclusion, we booked the hotel for its view and the view is what we got. Whether that is worth the price tag is a different question.

Room Tip: Not worth staying here if not in a sea facing room
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SMD900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

We have stayed at Spindrift many times and recommended it to others due to the high standard of service and amenities. However, it is slipping. The front desk staff seem pleasant and say the right things but their body language is negative. The room is lovely and the wine social is a nice touch. But the staff don't seem happy in thei work and no-one asked us if we enjoyed our stay when we left - small things but they affect the overall experience. Our major annoyance is that we have enquired three times since we have left about some lost property and we have had no response, totally ignored. In fact, they're the only hotel we have stayed at where feedback is not asked for. This hotel really does take its customers for granted. Sad to say but I don't think we'll return.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 499joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews