We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel room we've ever stayed in”
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spindrift Inn
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2017

We spent three nights of a relaxing northern California vacation here, and we truly did not want to leave our room at the Spindrift Inn. We splurged on an oceanfront corner room, and it was worth every penny. It was not only immaculate, large, and beautifully appointed, but it came with two comfortable easy chairs in front of a wood-burning fireplace and a large window overlooking Monterey Bay. Complementary continental breakfasts here are delivered to your room (you order them the night before), and nothing's better than eating breakfast in bathrobes while relaxing in front of a fire and watching the sun rise over the bay. It was the combination of the two easy chairs, fireplace, and window that made this the best hotel room we've ever stayed in.

The Spindrift Inn has a great location in the middle of Cannery Row. The oceanfront rooms are a quiet, peaceful refuge, but walk out the front door and you're in the middle of plenty of restaurants and attractions within walking distance.

The streetside rooms would be a very different experience. Cannery Row is pretty busy and they would be noisier. The hotel isn't air conditioned, although fans are provided, and when we visited in late September we kept the windows opened.

The lobby is very comfortable but rather small and somewhat noisy because of people coming in and out. The staff were all very professional and helpful.

This is a perfect choice for a romantic or decompression getaway--worth every cent.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lin0515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Monterey, Manager at Spindrift Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Hello Lin0515,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review on our property. We were all so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and are happy that we were able to accommodate you on your trip to Monterey and that you made such lasting memories. It was also wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary continental breakfast in your room each morning and were able to cozy up to the wood burning fireplace, complimented with the sounds of the ocean just outside your window! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Monterey.

Sincerely,
Management of the Inns of Monterey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,022)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 2,022 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2017

A lovely Inn whose staff went out of their way to accomodate everything we needed .avo drinks and nibbles and valet car service fantastic breakfast in bed yum .All the suggestions for dinner were great and free dessert were a surprise

Room Tip: There is no air con but open windows are ok as there is little noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here a couple of days to explore the Monterey Bay area. It is right on the bay and the roof top garden offered great views of the bay. Our room was a little small. We had a king bed that was very comfortable. The bathroom was a little small but very clean. There was a gas fireplace.(temps were not cold enough to use) Our room faced the street, but they do have rooms facing the bay. The hotel does not have air conditioning and our room was very hot when we checked in late in the afternoon. After we opened the windows, turned on the ceiling fan and used a tower fan they provided in the room, the room cooled down before bedtime. The next day we left the windows open, the curtains closed and the ceiling fan on while we were gone for the day. The room was fine when we returned. We visited in September and the temps were in the lower 70's during the day, 50's at night.

The great things: Valet parking, breakfast in our room each morning(complimentary), wine and cheese each evening(complimentary), terrific service(staff is outstanding). Anything we ask for, extra towels, directions, etc., were given quickly and with a smile. We felt very spoiled. On check out day we wanted to go to the aquarium before we left town. They sent us on our way so we would not have to wait on them to get the car. The valet brought our car around and loaded our luggage then re-parked our car. When we returned, the valet brought our car and we were ready to go. The hotel is on Cannery Row. If that is your main objective, you will never have to use your car. We branched out to Point Lobos State Natural Reserve, 17 mile drive, Pacific Grove, Carmel By The Sea, etc.,

Valet parking is $28 per day. There is no parking at the hotel. Any time you need your automobile, it is quickly made available.

We would stay here again in a heartbeat. The location and service is outstanding.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank strickler1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Services & Amenities
BOOK NOW
I can't wait to return to Monterey and when I do I will stay here. The hotel is beautiful inside and out. I had the pleasure of staying at the Monterey Plaza. It was beautiful. Spindrift looks perfect also. They have Silver Tray Breakfast Service and they host an Afternoon Wine & Cheese Reception. This allows gets and staff to meet and greet. Love this. They have complimentary Wi-Fi and In-Room Fireplaces. I'd love to experience their Roof Top Garden. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SueZCue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

We spent three nights in the Spindrift in September.
The main attraction of the hotel is the wonderful sea view from the sea facing rooms. The rooms are characterful with a four poster bed, wood fireplace and lovely window seat. Falling asleep to the sound of the sea was wonderful. The central location is a further positive
The common area is small and the complimentary breakfast is brought to your room. The breakfast itself is ok, but nothing special. The wine and cheese in the afternoon is a nice touch but the cheese is sadly of the plastic variety.
The staff were helpful and friendly but I was not altogether happy with their attitude. It was unprofessional at times. As an example, one afternoon I overhead two of them talking and laughing about a couple of hotel guests they had just been dealing with.

In conclusion, we booked the hotel for its view and the view is what we got. Whether that is worth the price tag is a different question.

Room Tip: Not worth staying here if not in a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SMD900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 km away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.6 km away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,662 reviews
2.4 km away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.3 km away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
3.7 km away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#9 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: €175 - €388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing