We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spindrift Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Spindrift Inn
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Vacaville, California
1 review
“Spindrift Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This hotel was amazing and the accommodations were great! The room was beautiful! We even had a dry sauna in our room and working fireplace. 2 hour wine and cheese reception - free. Great location. The staff were extremely helpful. We loved it and will definitely be back!

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,434
    338
    86
    41
    26
See reviews for
185
1,359
48
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (622)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
293 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

The location of this hotel is in the main street, is on the water with views of the bay. We received a warm & friendly welcome from Marlene on the front desk when we arrived. We used the valet parking of $20.00usd a day which is unlimited for retrieving the car.
The lobby has a nice ambience with an open fire, couches, tables & chairs, where wine & cheese is held every night which is hosted by a lovely Vietnamese lady.
The room is a nice country style with open fire, window seats, and large TV and king bed. We had no noise from the street on our 2 night stay. The bed was comfortable and we slept well. The bathroom was a bit small, but adequate with a shower over the bath, single vanity and toilet. Towels are of good quality with bathroom products provided.
Breakfast is continental and delivered to your room at time you select. Breakfast was good, but with a limited selection. The service provided by the staff is very good, where they were friendly and very helpful. There is free wifi in the hotel and free use of a computer in the business centre at the side of the lobby.
The rooftop has an area where you can laze around enjoy a wine or two or just take in the views of the ocean.
Overall we were happy with our choice and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny0401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrnambool, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Spindrift is right on the beach on Cannery Row. The management and staff are friendly, welcoming and very helpful. We were 4 guys from oz doing the drive from Sa Fran to L.A.We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were great with wood burning fire, terrific view and a big comfy bed. Bit of a waste really on single blokes!

Room Tip: Ask for an Ocean King room. Ours had a wood burning fire, great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GarryRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MD
Level Contributor
145 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

We spent two nights at the Spindrift. Loved the location and the room. We upgraded to a water view room. The room was beautiful and the bed was so comfy that we didn't want to leave. In the evening we lit a fire in the fireplace and enjoyed the ambiance. In the afternoon they have wine and a light cheese tray. The fireplace in the reception was lit and overall it made for a lovely social gathering with friends for a glass of wine. We will definitely come back again and stay at the Spindrift. The employees are also very nice and accommodating.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are very nice. We stayed on the fourth floor and were very pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chefpeppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mentor
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

I agree with the previous reviewers. This was a lovely hotel with great service. We had an Oceanview room on the 3rd floor. Loved looking at the seals, loved the wood burning fireplace., loved the service. Great comfy bed. We needed breakfast delivered early as we had a tee time at Pebble to make and the food arrived promptly. The wine and cheese was great, and we tried sitting on the rooftop garden, but it was a bit chilly, so we went to our room and watched out the window. We went to the Cannery Row Brewing Company for a casual dinner. It was perfect after a long day of travel. I would stay there again in a heartbeat and highly recommend the Spindrift Inn!

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mentoroh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 km away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.5 km away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
2.4 km away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
1.6 km away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Property: Spindrift Inn
Address: 652 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1021
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
#3 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spindrift Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Cannery Row, directly on the beach, Spindrift Inn offers an atmosphere of romance, elegance and gracious hospitality. The Inn's distinctive two-story lobby, with its hand-tiled floors, Oriental carpets, charming antiques, original art, and wood-burning fireplace, invites quiet conversation or private reflection. The 45 comfortable, luxurious rooms-half with breathtaking ocean views-are uniquely decorated and include wood-burning fireplaces, down comforters, feather beds, honor bars, TVs, CD & DVD players, wireless internet connection, marble baths and window seats or private balconies. Complimentary silver-tray continental breakfast is served in-room, & an afternoon wine and cheese reception is held daily. Valet parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing