We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$344
US$287
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada by Wyndham Monterey(Monterey)(Great Value!)
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$491
US$395
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monterey Bay Lodge(Monterey)(Great Value!)
US$341
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lone Oak Lodge(Monterey)(Great Value!)
US$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monterey Hotel(Monterey)
US$318
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$284
US$278
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$399
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Hotel Pacific(Monterey)
US$854
US$710
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
US$719
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (584)
Filter reviews
584 results
Traveller rating
509
41
16
8
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
509
41
16
8
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsliving roomgarden cottagethe main houseother guestsashford suitebiscottibed and breakfastport winegorgeous dining roomeach morningjacuzzi tubb and bwine and cheesequiet neighborhoodeach eveningyogurtbreakfast was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 584 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2017

This is a special B and B. It's a gracious old home built in the 1920's with spacious grounds and lovely places to sit in the garden. Each room is unique and nicely decorated, with fireplace, robe and slippers in the closet, TV, DVD player, CD player. In the afternoon there is free port, wine, cheese and crackers and nuts. There is a guest refrigerator that is stocked with water and soft drinks, ice and yogurt. The full breakfasts are delicious and set in the beautiful dining room or on the terrace, or you can elect to have breakfast brought to your room. There is always fresh fruit, juice and pastry as well as a hot entree such as the baked herbed eggs we had on our second morning. The grounds are lovely, with birds and fountains. The staff are warm and welcoming and knowledgeable of the area. They can arrange an in-room massage, a champagne or flower arrangement in the room or other special touches. Off-street parking is ample and free. The house is secluded, yet a short distance from all Monterey attractions. We will certainly return.

Stayed: September 2017
3  Thank Ruth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

We had a wonderful time here. We had one of the smaller rooms, The Rookery, and it was plenty big enough - very comfortable bed and two comfortable chairs by the fireplace. We enjoyed the appetizers and a glass of wine in the late afternoon and sitting outside in the gardens - very peaceful and relaxing. The breakfast was served at 9:00 and was quite filling, but delicious. The staff was helpful to recommend and make reservations and give tips on where to go.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

If you want to be totally hidden away for a romantic stay, but still a short hop to all of the main attractions of the Monterey area, the Old Monterey Inn would be a great choice. We stayed in a cute little cottage with every luxury you could imagine, little touches everywhere. Clearly the owners are on a constant search for delightful pleasures to add to the experience of staying there. The place is best for leisurely couples, as it is very romantic, and has none of the things that business people would be looking for. One of our favorite touches was a decanter of port wine that is left in the living room for all to partake. Evereything was just yummy!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GregoryLShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

We spent two nights at the property for our wedding anniversary, paying top dollar for a spacious well-acquainted room plus a medley of nice perks (e.g., full stocked refrigerator with drinks, coffee and tea available 24/7). The grounds are amazing and well worth a visit in their own right. On the quirky side, the mattress on the bed in our room (Ashford, the master bedroom suite) was not level. It had a hump (kind of like a mountain range cutting off two plains from one another). So you slept too close to the middle of the bed you risked rolling off. This rendered the bed uncomfortable and not conducive to a restful sleep. The breakfast, while tasty, was chock full of sugar, carbohydrates, and, of course, calories. It was served at 9 am, the first time I have ever stayed at a bed and breakfast with a set (and in my case, late) timeframe. All in all, a nice place in some respects but not worth a return visit for other reasons outlined here.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank DrFriedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

Old Monterey Inn is true to its name: old. The Innkeeper/employee on duty when we arrived was unfriendly and did not offer to help as we lugged bags upstairs(though staff person the next morning was friendlier). She snapped at us that breakfast was at 9:00 am sharp! Carpets throughout are frayed and stained; decor is stuffed with odd and somewhat creepy items; inn smelled musty; paint was chipped in many places. The sitting room was dark, cheerless and with an uncomfortable couch: hardly a place to gather. The entire place was dark, olld and uninviting. Our room had a tiny bathroom with few amenities, no room for even a cosmetics bag, and a shower that barely fit one person. The carpet was stained, the couch in the room was thrift shop quality and the room, and the entire inn for that matter, had clearly not been upgraded for years. It had a tiny tv from the 80's. Only redeeming feature of room was a decently comfortable bed.
Breakfast was inky served at 9:00 which cuts into the morning: we did not stay for the unhealthy sounding breakfast because we left after one night. As far as we could tell we were the only guests.
At over $300 for the cheapest room, this represents zero value for the area. The way the inn advertised itself was completely misleading and I would never consider staying there again. You would be much better off in one of the comparably priced Monterey hotels. We moved to a beautiful hotel in Carmel for the same price and forfeited one night's charges at OMI because staying a second night would have ruined our vacation.

Room Tip: Don't stay here at all
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank carl9697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WendyDominguez, General Manager at Old Monterey Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Carl9697,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are sorry we failed in providing you the escape you were looking for. Most of our guests love the charming historic nature of our garden estate, the cheery blue and yellow décor of our Tattershall room, and our decadent multi-course breakfasts. We regret that you did not feel more warmly greeted upon arrival, and our staff would have been more than happy to assist with bags if asked. We would have tried our very best to fix any issues if any of your concerns had been brought up while on property before you left because of an emergency as we were told at the time. We sincerely hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation.
My Best, Wendy – General Manager, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews