We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch your room type”
Review of Colton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Colton Inn
Ranked #35 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Visalia, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Watch your room type”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Recently stayed at this property - overall average. Quiet and about 10 minutes walk to the main areas of Monterey; however, we were not given the room type reserved and paid for. I reserved a King room ($159/night) and was given a Queen ($99/night). When I questioned the front desk I was told my reserveration was for a Queen. Thank God for the internet and smart phones - I went down to the front desk and showed my confirmed King reservation. I was then told they were out of King rooms and the Queen was all that was available. When I questioned a price difference, I was told the rooms were the same price and a refund was refused. Just check any week-end to confirm the price difference.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    206
    89
    23
    28
See reviews for
174
206
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2011

My family thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay. The hotel is in a perfect location and walking distance to many sites. My kids loved the big park across the street and the library next door. I was pleasantly surprised with the continental breakfast and great coffee (most places offer the basics- it sure was nice to see eggs!).
If you're looking for the Embassy Suites this isn't for you. If you're looking for an affordable, comfortable and safe place to stay look no further.
We'll be back next October.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Good basic place to stay. Rate is about right, given the its in the middle of Monterey. Rooms vary in size - we had a 3rd floor room w/ sofa and fireplace. The fireplace was not a 'built in' type, which others in our party (1st floor) had. Another one in our party had a balcony but it cut into the overall size of the room. Bed was good, room was sizeable, large DVD collection loaned out for no charge. Only 'problem' was the shower - cannot control the pressure and the shower head is similar to ones at the beach - basically a stream of water. Good continental breakfast and cookies in the afternoon. Located in a quiet part of town. I don't think you would consider this a 'party' hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonoSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Good place to stay if you want to avoid huge hotel prices in the centre of Monterey. The room was spacious, breakfast ok, staff friendly. Can definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christa90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I really thought this hotel would be nicer inside given we paid nearly $300 for 1 night. The room was clean & beds comfortable. The bathroom was old, and there was an old stove & fridge near the door that we weren't sure if it even worked. Near the TV there was a newer nice fridge. The lobby area had great snacks til 11pm (cookies, fruit, coffee & tea) which we very much appreciated, and the breakfast offerings were good too. The deck area where we ate our breakfast was probably the best part of this hotel experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalMama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.9 km away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.4 km away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.3 km away
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Mariposa Inn and Suites
#31 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,238 reviews
0.6 km away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#16 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.4 km away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colton Inn

Property: Colton Inn
Address: 707 Pacific St, Monterey, CA 93940-2814
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colton Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Colton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colton Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing