We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Air Conditioning”
Review of Hotel Abrego

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Abrego
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Petaluma
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“No Air Conditioning”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

This is a very nice, modern, clean hotel, but is is somewhat removed from most attractions in the Monterey area. We had a fireplace in our room, and turned it off after a while, due to the amount of heat it put out. We then opened our balcony door to cool the room down, but found that the room was very noisy with the door open. At midnight, some skateboarders were practicing in the parking lot under our room. I called the front desk, who immediately sent someone to dispurse the teens. The problem could have been avoided if only there was air conditioning in the room, and we could have left the door closed. I was amazed that a modern hotel would not have in rood airconditioning. Other than that, the room was very nice and the beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,217
    813
    256
    78
    35
See reviews for
701
1,156
86
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

This hotel was a FANTASTIC deal for the price. Only about 10 min to the water and Fisherman's Warf. About 20 min walk (along the water) to the Aquarium. Great price and nice new hotel! Will be back!!

Room Tip: Room 1306 was great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2012

A Great hotel with a balcony, fireplace in some rooms, great location 5 minute drive from downtown Monterey. They have Italian bedding and a real duvet and very comfy beds. Great TV, iPod dock, free wifi, and the best pizza I ever had at their lounge. A great place to stay if you are in Monterey!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a fireplace room, it's definitely worth it and needed if you want two beds instead of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suisun City, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We got a no charge upgrade from standard room to a fireplace one -- Unfortunately the fireplace gave off a lot of heat and we had to turn it off! lol.. The rooms were very nice, with a large flat screen tv, upscale sinks & faucets, and very soft 500+ count sheets. They had nice soft feather pillows, but I prefer something firmer so if you do as well, or are allergic, let them know ahead of time. Towels were standard, and spa robes provided. It was very quiet all night, but at 4:00am Monday morning the garbage trucks came banging around the dumpsters. You'd think they could schedule a hotel pick up a little later in the morning!..

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My hubby and I booked this hotel because it was one of the lesser expensive hotels on a weekend when all the others were at least triple the price. We were hoping it would be nice, but were prepared for it to just be okay. We thought it was perfect! We were in building 2 and our room was beautiful! We slept with the balcony door open, and everything was quiet. The hotel was packed since it was the weekend of the Pebble Beach National gold tournament and other than a few footsteps above us while the people unpacked we never heard another person. The fireplace in the room was a nice addition and warmed up the room on a cold day! I would consider myself a bit of a picky hotel person and I would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momof2kyds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.6 km away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.9 km away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,617 reviews
0.2 km away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,981 reviews
0.9 km away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
3.5 km away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abrego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abrego

Property: Hotel Abrego
Address: 755 Abrego Street, Monterey, CA 93940-3101
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
#7 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Abrego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craftsman-style inspired guestrooms in warm, inviting earth tones reflect Monterey’s relaxed and friendly style. Italian linens, luxurious bathrooms, mini refridgerator, complimentary Wi-Fi and a wealth of other thoughtful amenities creates guest rooms that exceed expectations. Additional features include a walnut desk and ergonomic chair, a plush chaise lounge and 32 inch flat screen TV. Most rooms include fireplaces. Bistro Abrego serves an eye opening breakfast menu and a locally inspired dinner menu, and there is a spacious heated swimming pool and hot tub to relax in. Complimentary parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Abrego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abrego Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing