We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super sushi! Great service!”
Review of Crystal Fish

Crystal Fish
Ranked #8 of 318 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Went with my dad on a Saturday for dinner without reservations at 6pm. Got seated immediately and then the place got really busy. The waiter was SUPER friendly and SUPER efficient. The quality of the fish was outstanding, and they had TORO!!! For someone from Colorado who can never find it back home, this is a big deal. The rolls were imaginative and very tasty. Will go back for sure if in the Monterey area again!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank traveldentist74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 371 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

Sooo excited to leave a review for the Crystal Fish! Welcomed at the door by Kiitchi - Mgr. and seated at our table of choice, we began with a bit of friendly banter. Pleasant, polite and professional Kiitchi provide the “service” that deserves recognition, thank-you sir!
We order Fried Baby Octopus/Mars Attacks (FABULOUS), Japanese KFC (OUTSTANDING), BBQ Squid (DELICIOUS), Dragon Balls Z - 2 orders (UNBELIEVABLE), a Cannery Roll to share (Good), Sesame Chicken w/ Rice and extra Salad (AWESOME).
With drinks the bill was under 90 dollars. The quality of the food justified the price. The total dining experience was worth a SOLID 4 stars! The “missed” Star is due to the physical condition of the restaurant.
To those interested in a dining experience worth talking about, this is a “highly recommend” review.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank phillipl404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

Crystal Fish is an unassuming small place just a few blocks removed from the honky-tonk Cannery Row area. I prefer finding places locals frequent and this was a gem. Kind, prompt service and excellent food. Typical sushi portions.

I found it thru TripAdvisor but instead of picking a place with thousands of reviews, I looked for less in numbers but high in recommendations. Worked this time.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Kevin A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

I am a frequent guest here. Weekday "lunch specials" give you many choices to combine into a 2-item or a 3-item lunch, and both options also include rice, miso soup and salad. They have a long list of sushi rolls, also sashimi and nigiri sushi at all times. For dinner I always order chef's special sashimi, you cannot go wrong with that if you love sashimi. If you or your friends do not eat raw fish, there are plenty of cooked fish dishes, of which teriyaki salmon is my favorite. If you have a birthday to celebrate, they will provide all the guests with the cutest funny hats!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

Really nice sushi and freshly made sushi. Don't be afraid to try some nonstandard sushi like the ones with asparagus . Dragon ball z was absolutely amazing .
This is the best restaurant in Monterey and hence you will see people queuing up in front of it .
Defo recommended

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank rostislaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crystal Fish also viewed

 
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Crystal Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing