We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
52
20
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
20
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesbed was very comfortablethe main housefamily weddingfrench toastnice sizedelicious breakfastlovely treeshuge backyardthree nightsclear lakecalistogapondpropertydogstovewoods
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2017

We stayed three nights as the result of a family wedding nearby. The B&B has three one-room cabins in a quiet wooded setting behind the main house. The rooms are a nice size, beds comfortable, and baths with showers up to date. Coffee and tea-making facilities, TVs, strong WiFi, and roomy closets are most welcome.

The owner, Greta, is an intelligent and delightful person, and we looked forward to our breakfast conversation that covered many topics. One morning we had French toast, another an omelet with a choice of ingredients, and the third huevos rancheros. Fresh cut up fruit and muffins or toast are also available.

Room Tip: The last of three cabins has the best outdoor patio facing the woodes.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rrsstscull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GretaLZ, Owner at Backyard Garden Oasis B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I meet some of the most interesting people when they are staying here to attend a wedding. Your detailed review of my breakfasts is especially welcome. I try to make them a special treat for a meal which is usually neglected by people who are rushed every morning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

Couldn't have asked for more at Backyard Garden Oasis. Lovely little cabin in the garden with some decking where we sat in the evenings sipping local wine and watching the hummingbirds.
Great is a superb hostess and Rusty the dog was great fun. The breakfasts were excellent.The accommodation was very comfortable and we spent our days walking up St Helena at nearby Robert Louis Stevenson park, dove ground pretty Clear Lake and enjoyed delicious wine tasting.
Highly recommended

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ajajfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GretaLZ, Owner at Backyard Garden Oasis B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

We love having visitors from Great Britain! You are always gracious and appreciative. Your comments are very kind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

The cottage is situated in the huge backyard of the host's house. It is a very nice room: spacious, nicely designed and equipped with a refrigerator, TV, coffee machine.
The bed was very comfortable and the surrounding calm and quiet. There are 3 cottages in the yard, Ours had a nice deck with chairs and a round table.
The host was very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GretaLZ, Owner at Backyard Garden Oasis B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

This is a small, 3-cottage B&B. Gretta, the owner, is very nice and serves a great breakfast. The cottages are comfortable, as was the bed. It is definitely in her large backyard. Her property goes way back and includes a pond in the lower area (below the cottages). Our only problem was the heat. I don't recommend Middletown or Clear Lake in the summer. We were there June 19 and 20, then headed to the coast to cool off. This would be a wonderful place to come in the spring and fall. I don't know about winter.

Room Tip: If you want to bring a pet, one cottage is pet friendly.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karrol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GretaLZ, Owner at Backyard Garden Oasis B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2017

Karol, I only wish I could reverse climate change! This coming week will be in the 80's, so it will be a great escape from June glooom in the Bay Area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

A beautiful, well-equipped but (thankfully) not over-fancy oasis out in the country, bordered by hills with horses, a running stream, an iris-filled pond and lovely trees and gardens. Greta is a wonderful cook and kind host.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GretaLZ, Owner at Backyard Garden Oasis B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Thank you for your kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews