We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
new york
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Big disappointment”
Reviewed 27 December 2011

I stayed at the Mendocino Hotel in early December 2011.
It was a single room with no bathroom. The room was tiny, really tiny!, had a tiny closet (so small, it took me a while to "find" it, in a corner...), no TV, no nightstand, it had only a chair and a small telephone stand. I had to open and place my suitcase on the floor... And of course, no breakfast included.
The price for the above was, in my estimation, outrageous: 130 dollars a night. And this included a discount, as the reception lady put it!.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank palomamarugan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    145
    98
    71
    40
See reviews for
58
333
37
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Louis, MO
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

We had dinner here one night during our stay just before Christmas 2011. We had reservations and were seated promptly, actually at the bar where we requested. The bartender was very helpful in giving suggestions. Their french onion soup is delicous! Highly recommended. I had their special pasta with salmon. It was fantastic! Everyone enjoyed their dinner. If we were staying in Mendo longer, we probably would have been back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skinker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa rosa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

wow free mimosas with Sunday brunch ! a very beautiful and romantic Inn wonderful and friendly staff

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SantaRosaLolita69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Enjoyed our stay, but glad we took advantage of a special price. We had a very large garden suite which was luxurious but showed a little wear. The lobby/bar area was a nice place to sit, enjoy a glass of wine, & look at the view. The staff, for the most part, needed to take some "nice" pills.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Judy_the_accountant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Mendocino hotel is adjacent to the ocean.... We were originally booked in one of the garden suites (Denslow building). Something about that room didnt feel quite right.... I dont nessasarily believe in "ghosts" per se, however there are tales of this hotel being haunted. Due to feeling "uneasy" about our room, I requested to be moved to a different room in the main hotel. The hotel staff was very accomodating and promptly moved us. The hotel staff was very friendly, accomodating, and pleasant.
The hotel has a very victorian period feel. Some of the rooms do not have tv's in them, and some have shared bathrooms.
The restaurant attached to this hotel had incredibly delicious food. My husband had the giant scallops dinner and I had the salmon dinner. Both dinners were delicious and melt in your mouth good!
We would definitely not hesitate to stay in this hotel again!

Room Tip: For a truely authentic feel get a room in the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendybird23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mendocino
0.1 km away
MacCallum House Inn
MacCallum House Inn
#1 of 2 in Mendocino
616 reviews
12.3 km away
Shoreline Cottages
Shoreline Cottages
#2 of 23 in Fort Bragg
467 reviews
0.7 km away
Hill House Inn
Hill House Inn
#15 of 25 in Mendocino
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
692 reviews
7.3 km away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
609 reviews
1.5 km away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites

Property: Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
Address: 45080 Main St, Mendocino, CA 95460
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mendocino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constructed in 1878 and restored in 1975, The Mendocino Hotel Ocean & Garden Suites offers deluxe accommodations: luxurious, romantic, garden suites and cottages situated on two acres of botanical gardens with fireplaces, Italian marble vanities, private balconies and spectacular ocean or garden views. Enjoy antiques, fine art, down comforters, stained glass and Oriental carpets, 24/7 front desk concierge and two award-winning restaurants. ZAGATSURVEY reports “Victorian delights abound at this charming, period Mendocino Hotel restaurant with a California menu that’s right on the mark and sets the scene for locals as the "in place" and well worth the price." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mendocino Hotel And Garden Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing