We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place where time stands still”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mendocino
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mendocino Farmhouse
Ranked #18 of 25 Mendocino B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We returned to Mendocino Farmhouse after far too long since our last visit. We've stayed there in the '70s, '80s and the last time in 2002. Simply put, it is the best of B&Bs - - and we've experienced many over the years. An early 1900s-styled home nestled in a majestic forest and yet just minutes away from the Mendocino village. Warm, beautifully appointed guest rooms, indoor/outdoor chairs in inwhich to sit and read, a pond, gardens and chickens wandering the grounds. Margie is a marvelous host. Breakfast a winner every time (blueberry pancakes and bacon this time). Just a wonderful, oh so relaxing experience. Can't wait to return.

David and Karen Brudney

Room Tip: Less demand midweek and 1st quarter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013

My partner and I were staying for 3 nights at the Margie's Mendocino Farmhouse and it was great. Beautiful place, located in the middle of a forest with a big garden. The house itself is very nice, the rooms big and lovely decorated. There is nothing to complain at all. Margie is the perfect host. Very friendly and open. We truly miss the Farmhouse!

Thomas & Monica, Zurich / Switzerland

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I truly wish I would have come onto Trip Advisor and read the reviews before visiting the Mendocino Farmhouse. The grounds are gorgeous, the rooms are adorable, and the price is much more reasonable than many of the other Mendocino B&B's in the area. However, I feel that this all comes with a price due to the Host/Inn Keeper's general attitude. Every single question that we asked...she answered in a manner that was "scolding" us. She was unfriendly, cold, and curt. We had a much better experience with her Assistant who cooked us breakfast the next day. Just before we left around 9am on our final day, she barked at us, "Oh, you're still here! Well, I thought you would have left by now!". That was obviously our key to go...and so we went...and will never be returning. The scenery was gorgeous but the attitude was ugly. It's quite a relief that after looking at previous reviews, I'm not the only one who thinks the Inn Keeper needs an attitude makeover...or perhaps a Customer Service refresher class.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ShadesRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely and very relaxing stay last week. Great star watching! The inn is just a few minutes from the village. We enjoyed a couple of picnics on the back patio basking in the fall sun. The innkeepers were very welcoming and served up some very delicious breakfasts. We would definitely stay again if we're in the area.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

After the long and winding road trip out to Mendocino, The Farmhouse was a welcomed sight! Nestled in the beautiful trees this B&B had it all. We were greeted at the door by the owner,Margie, who was very pleasant and she got us settled right away. Our room was charming. It was not covered in grandmas old wall paper but instead has a comtempary country feel to it. The bathroom was huge and well stocked. The little porch was nice to relax on and read a book while listening to all the birds and wind rustling in the trees. The king bed was so comfortable. I loved how it was built in with reading lamps on each side and also had place to plug in your cell phone and put you book and glasses next to the bed.
We were glad the breakfast was not served at the crack of dawn because we slept so soundly and did not have to rush. We were enticed to breakfast with the wonderful aromas drifting into our room. I think the gal who made and served our delicious breakfast was Bessie and she was a delight! She was so informative about the area and gave us some good ideas about what to do and see. She had our table set in a darling window area looking out to the beautiful garden as she served the yummy breakfast she had just made. There was plenty of great coffee and fresh squeezed OJ and she offered seconds on the orange pancakes but we were too full! The one thing I would have liked is a smaller amount of pancakes and either an egg or fruit to go with the breakfast.
After breakfast we took a walk around the lovely gardens and meadow area and Bessie let us peak into the two rooms in the barn. The were awesome. When we return we will book one of the barn rooms with a fireplace and both of those rooms have private baths.
Sadly we had to leave the Farmhouse after only one night. We do plan on returning and spending a few nights there. It is really a wonderful retreat from the busy life's we all live!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mendocino hotels
14.5 km away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
14.4 km away
Headlands Inn Bed & Breakfast
14.4 km away
Sea Gull Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 km away
Blackberry Inn
Blackberry Inn
#8 of 25 in Mendocino
232 reviews
15.9 km away
Brewery Gulch Inn
Brewery Gulch Inn
#1 of 25 in Mendocino
1,185 reviews
15.1 km away
Stanford Inn by the Sea
Stanford Inn by the Sea
#6 of 25 in Mendocino
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mendocino Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mendocino Farmhouse

Address: 43410 Olson Lane, Mendocino, CA 95460
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Mendocino
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Mendocino
Price Range: €98 - €127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Mendocino Farmhouse Hotel Mendocino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing