We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
112
11
0
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
11
0
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wonderful hosts humming birds making their guests feel wild deer watching the wildlife amazing location a lovely place to stay home cooked breakfast stayed longer lovely couple home from home stayed here for nights first morning san francisco clay joy cottage
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

An Absolutely fab place to stay

We were relieved to have found this place to stay near Yosemite for part of our fly drive around California.
Joy & Clay were great hosts, accommodation was spotless and very comfortable. Bedroom and bathroom well equipped. The area was so peaceful it was great & the wildlife at the back of the seating area was great with seeing deer & hummingbirds .. something we don’t get to see in the UK obviously.
Breakfast was lovely - our only regret we set of early for Yosemite and so opted to miss our first morning eating here because the queues into the entrance were noted to be long and the reviews were right so based on this our only niggle would be to have an earlier breakfast .
On asking for recommendations for eating in town we were given a list to help us on our way - perfect .
We booked in at Charles street dinner house and omg it was great . Ignore the decor and book it ... staff are lovely and food is plentiful.
We were recommend Jantz cafe & bakery ( think that’s the correct spelling ) for grabbing packed lunch ahead of our day in Yosemite and there you can have fresh sandwiches made up . Lovely accommodating couple .
We used a large store/supermarket at top of the town where we found what we needed for our 2 nights in Mariposa .
If we ever had the chance to visit the area again we’d definitely book here and certainly recommend this accommodation.
It’s August now and we look back on our trip around California for our belated honeymoon with great fondness and our stay with you was the best out them all .
Thank you , Heidi & Mike .
UK

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Titaniu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights during our travels.

The location is amazing! Great scenery and right in the middle of no where, this is great after coming from the city!

Clay and Joy are the best hosts, they provided recommendations on places to go for dinner in the evening, provided a map and scoring guide for the best and worst places.

We stayed in the Sierra room, it was great! In the room you get a TV with satellite channels, free WiFi, M&M’s, coffee machine and microwave popcorn!

In a great location with great hosts, highly recommended.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank josh381991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018 via mobile

What an amazing location with brilliant hosts. A little piece of heaven. Lots of wildlife to watch and the breakfast is amazing each day. Clay and Joy are fantastic hosts. Highly recommended this place for a Yosemite base

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Jmr166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

reading some of the poor reviews of bed and breakfasts, it is obvious that B & B are not like hotels, that's the reason we chose them. This place was exceptional in quality and if you ask then all things can be provided. we were in a rush the first day and we were given a packed breakfast to take into Yosemite, the second day we had breakfast with Clay and Joy nice people. The wildlife around the house was amazing considering September is late in the season and I was able to see hummingbirds close up. I would not hesitate to book again.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

My wife and I had a lovely experience. Hosts Clay and Joy go above and beyond making their guests feel welcome and “like family”. Joy cooks a wonderful breakfast and Clay serves. Great conversation with our hosts and fellow guests. The room is tastefully decorated, comfortable, extremely clean. Outside deck overlooks beautiful mountains with deer and wild turkey walking the property. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews