We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (608)
Filter reviews
608 results
Traveller rating
371
146
42
31
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
371
146
42
31
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarbon beachocean fronthigh tideoceanfront roomvalet parkingturn down servicesanta monicasound of the wavesworth every pennygas fireplacebeautiful roombalcony doorboutique hotelgreat restaurantthe pacific coast highwayprivate beachmini bar
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 608 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

My 11 year old son and I stayed two nights and every single thing exceeded our expectations! Every detail, every friendly employee, the room, the view, the beach..also perfect location. You are just a short walk to the pier. I felt safe going for a walk alone in the morning. Nothing compares to falling asleep to the sound of crashing waves and waking up to the ocean breeze and gorgeous sunrise.
I regret making plans to visit other areas of CA with my son and wish I had just stayed here the entire visit. Thank you for making our vacation memorable!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank 308rebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018 via mobile

Very nice hotel with friendly staff and incredible ocean views from the room and restaurant area.

Great service: nice beach lounge-beds with umbrella’s - set in front of the hotel on a private part of the beach.

What we did not realize when we booked the hotel is that it is straight on a very busy road (the Pacific Coast Highway). It does not have any impact on the experience in your room (there you hear just the ocean), but it does make it less romantic than we expected. That’s why we did not give 5 stars.

Rest is just as good as everyone else is saying in those reviews.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank dirkh67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

Our family, (husband plus college age kids), just returned from a first time, weekend getaway visit to the Malibu Beach Inn. This small, boutiquey hotel is located in a prime location with Malibu Pier, restaurants & shops all located close by. We booked 3 rooms and each room was exceptional with a cool, hip, modern vibe. The view from our rooms was AMAZING directly overly looking the Pacific Ocean, (literally, at high tide the water ran right up to the edge of our hotel)!
Property in Malibu is at a premium so the front desk is small but staffed with nice, efficient, friendly personnel. (Check-in took literally no more than 3 or 4 minutes:)
Again, because of size constraints, the restaurant, "Carbon", & bar is small but SO worth the visit!! Dining is either on the outside deck or tucked inside with cozy tables and great views. We had both dinner one night at the restaurant as well as breakfast this morning. Both meals were delicious with a really nice, efficient wait staff. (Tip, you don't have to be a guest of the hotel to dine at the restaurant. It is definitely worth a visit!!!).
The whole Malibu Beach Inn experience was just amazingly pleasant & relaxing... with everyone commenting on what a great time we'd had without ever having had to step foot on an airplane to get us there!!!
Whether you're a California native or an out of town visitor, I highly recommend Malibu Beach Inn. Our family has traveled all over the world and this little gem of a hotel definitely holds it's own amongst some of the other larger luxury resorts we've visited!

Room Tip: Great friendly, efficient staff, great views, great food.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TravelBarb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

My wife and I recently spent two nights at the Malibu Beach Inn. The hotel has been recently refurbished and is simple but sophisticated, sitting directly on the water/beach. While the facilities are relatively limited, the restaurant is good, beach service is excellent and the hotel offers yoga on the beach, while there are hiking trails all around. A short walk along the beach is Malibu farm (excellent for breakfast or lunch with a upmarket beach boutique shop), while Nobu is 300 yards the other way. All in all a great spot to chill out for a few days, and the sunsets can’t be beat!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018 via mobile

We stay here every year to celebrate our anniversary (and birthdays). We’ve been loyal returning guests since MBI first opened.
Great location, a bit pricey, however I believe in most cases you get what you pay for and for MBI it’s definitely location.
Only issue with this visit is they first sent us to a room that was equipped for handicap which we didn’t need nor request plus the bed in that room was turned sideways so in the morning you do not directly face the beautiful ocean view that your paying $$$$ for....
Requested to be changed which was honored immediately and ironically we moved right next door. Now for guests who are repeats like us (they knew this as they stated it at check-in) why not assign a room that meets our needs and past history - that would be excellent customer service not just good service. Otherwise staff are great and very helpful. Just need to look at bigger picture for returning guests (especially multiple times).

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank CAgirlPasadena_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews