We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Magic Castle Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Kinney(Marina del Rey)
US$324
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$373
US$346
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$308
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$377
US$342
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$476
US$375
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$582
US$552
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Beverly Terrace(Beverly Hills)(Great Value!)
US$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$287/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$694
US$588
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$480
US$457
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$513/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Shore Hotel(Santa Monica)
US$427
US$405
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$642/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (3,241)
Filter reviews
3,241 results
Traveller rating
2,413
615
130
56
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,413
615
130
56
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree snackspopsicle hotlinefree laundry servicemelrose placehollywood boulevardice cream machineone bedroom suitefull kitchenheated pooldvd playerchinese theatreapartment complexuniversal studioscontinental breakfastdining tablesofa bedhome away from home
Filter
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 3,241 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2017

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Magic Castle Hotel in late December 2016. It has a great location, a couple of blocks away from Graumann’s Chinese Theater, Hollywood/Highland Mall/ Metro stop. Runyon Canyon, a really nice park, is also nearby. The hotel has its own parking garage on the premises, your room key gets you in and out.
The staff is over-the-top friendly and helpful, and one gimmick the hotel has is giving away limitless amounts of free snacks, as well as unlimited use of a free soda machine and a soft-serve ice cream machine.
I had the pool to myself every morning for an hour swim at 7 AM; it can get busier later on. It’s large enough to swim laps, heated enough to be comfortable in cool weather, but not so much that you get uncomfortable with vigorous swimming. Hotel also has use of the nice LA Fitness club a block or two away.
Wifi was great.
The one-bedroom suites are HUGE, with full kitchens and dining-room tables…as big as any hotel I’ve stayed in.
One caveat: if you are looking for a brand-new/ newly renovated hotel, this is definitely NOT it. You may enjoy, as I did, the retro/1970s look/feel of the place, but some of the rooms are pretty worn and could use a facelift. I was not pleased that the bathroom door in our suite didn’t latch and the bedroom door was a bit loose on the hinges. They charge plenty for these rooms, so they should step up the “fit and finish” a bit, in my opinion.
That said, we’d stay here again; really nice people, a unique and truly enjoyable accommodation!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Roy-Tto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We stayed for two lovely nights in a family suite at the Magic Castle Hotel. The hotel has a wonderful, quirky charm and I have never stayed anywhere with such a focus on customer care - nothing was too much trouble, fantastic recommendations from reception staff and the kids of course loved the snacks, ice cream and popsicle hot line! On top of that a brilliant location. During a four week trip across California this was our stand out hotel and we would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: All rooms centre on the pool, the family suites do not
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

This was our 4th visit to the hotel. Having originally stayed here with very young children, they have never forgotten the pool and the free candy, and we have never forgotten the fantastic staff and central location of the hotel, and so we found ourselves back here for the 4th time with now teenage children. What excitement when we learned about the addition of the free popsical hotline and the soda & ice cream machine!! Staff, as ever, were fantastic, but I wanted to particularly call out Bryan this time who went above and beyond the call of duty. His restaurant/tourist recommendations were all spot on and, in addition to telling us about the nearby Runyon Canyon for walking, he even told us about a yoga class there and was super helpful and friendly despite the class being on his day off. All in all, a fantastic experience....maybe we'll be back for a 5th visit some day!

Room Tip: Best rooms are on the 2nd floor, overlooking the pool
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

We spent three nights in room 208, a spacious suite with a king-sized bed and a full-sized sleeper sofa. It was the best hotel stay we've experienced and my children were despondent when we left. The rooms themselves are spartan and a bit dated but clean. What sets this hotel apart, though, are the endless guest perks and the warm hospitality of the staff. As others have enumerated, it starts with a cold, bubbly lemon drink upon check-in (refreshing in the LA summer heat!). The amenities include:
- fantastic pool, open 24 hours
- complimentary sweet and savory snacks
- complimentary, unlimited soft ice cream
- complimentary soda machine with dozens of sodas
- complimentary access to premium TV channels
- nightly turn-down service with mints and a card listing the next day's weather
- complimentary laundry service (really!)
- numerous board games and DVDs (and I should mention the TVs in the rooms are quite nice)
- free newspapers at breakfast
- complimentary continental breakfast with an assortment of teas, coffee, oatmeal, fruit, cereal, yogurt and croissants and muffins. (The baked goods are mediocre but very fresh.) There was even a tube of Vegemite at the buffet, presumably for the many Aussie guests.
- parking for only $13/day with in and out privileges
- a bookshelf by the pool where guests can leave or pick up books
- a roving magician at breakfast a few times a week
- and of course, the famous popsicle hotline by the pool

My children were in absolute heaven, which in turn, delighted us and made the trip so special. The layout of the hotel - akin to the Melrose Place apartment - meant they could safely wander down for snacks whenever they liked.

The hotel is well-situated within easy walking distance of the Walk of Fame (a disappointing tourist trap but that's another story) and just one subway stop from Universal Studios.

The Magic Castle Hotel has distorted my children's expectations of what a hotel should offer. I'm afraid no one else will be able to meet the very high bar! We will *definitely* be back.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Scandiophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

I stayed five nights at the Magic Castle Hotel. The hotel is not new or fancy, but that is one its delights - a place with character and personalised service. The stay was memorable for this reason. One of the outstanding attributes of the hotel is their staff and their willingness to help on anything. They offer free snacks and we did avail ourselves of the soft drink and soft serve ice creams after a hot day of sight seeing. They did two bags of laundry free for us, which was useful after some weeks travelling - it is hard to even find a hotel that has laundry facilities these days, let alone doing it for us.
The hotel location is excellent - a short walk to Hollywood Boulevard and the Walk of Fame- this area is chaotic due to the number of tourists - the hotel provided a welcome relief from this activity.. It is also close to the Metro station and we regularly caught this to Universal Studios and the Citywalk, as well as Downtown. It is also walking distance to the Hollywood Bowl and we caught a Lionel Richie concert there - we asked directions at the hotel and they offered to drive us down for free - great service (we walked back because the traffic comes to a standstill after the concerts).

Breakfasts were provided - cereal, toast, muesli and fruit - very pleasant eating by the pool.

Overall, a memorable experience and particularly great for families.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Bob59943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews