We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected - perfect for a long stay”
Review of Magic Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magic Castle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Unexpected - perfect for a long stay”
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I really enjoyed my stay here. I expected a hotel and found myself in a really roomy apartment. The place looks like a retro apartment building. Pool in the middle and rooms all around with balcony.

The staff here are just great. They greet you with a complimentary drink and snack. In the evening they bring chocolates to your room with the next days weather report. You call down or ask the desk for anything and they bend over backwards.

Rooms are large with dining table, kitchen and lounge as well as separate bedrooms. Plenty of cupboard space. This place is ideal for the longer stay or for families. I was there for work and found it perfect.

You are right in the heart of Hollywood and in walking distance to everything - even the train. Plenty of restaurants in the area or a short cab fare away.

The place is not slick and modern but it is comfortable and welcoming. Its also great value. I will be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djfowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,056 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,282
    576
    123
    51
    24
See reviews for
1,430
799
68
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Great choice. The location was perfect and central to everything. Great place to stay for tourists as it is only one street back from Hollywood boulevarde. Short train ride to Universal Studios. We quite often approached hotel staff when we needed help with directions, bookings, etc and nothing was ever a problem. The rooms were very big and clean (we stayed in a one bedroom apartment), beds were comfortable. Endless supply of free drinks and snacks on hand whenever required. They woudl even deliver them to the room for you. Breakfast was continental - wide variety of cereal, fruit, yogurt, bread with spread, cakes etc. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Porko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitchurch-Stouffville, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Actually saying Hotel is wrong. It is more like a 2 bedroom apartment with 2 bathrooms and a huge living room and a fully functioning Kitchen. Location is walking distance to the Hollywood strip. But the absolute best is the service. They will do anything for you. We mentioned we were thinking of going to disney really early and they offered to start the breakfast earlier then scheduled if we wanted. But they were correct the traffic was fine and we didn't need to. Free snacks. My daughters timed them 1 min and 16 secs from the time ordered to time delivered both times they ordered a bunch of snacks. Amazing. Only problem when my daughters came home they said this isn't home. The Magic Castle Hotel is. Met a lady there from Australia. Her second time staying at this Hotel. We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Our room was perfect room 106.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swoopbns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

My family and I arrived at this hotel at the end of a pretty intense five-week trip around the States. We were travel weary and ready for home. The Magic Castle Hotel was just perfect for us. As soon as we walked in, we were made to feel pampered with a welcome drink, a bag full of ‘munchies’ and a blissfully tranquil courtyard in which to relax. The staff, without exception, were incredibly friendly, helpful, informative and efficient. In fact, I am not sure that I have ever experienced such outstanding levels of customer service. They certainly do ‘go the extra mile’.

We had opted to stay in the (cheaper) apartments up the hill and not in the main hotel at the bottom. Thanks to Tripadvisor, we knew exactly what to expect. The apartment complex has little character and the rooms were very dated BUT the location was very quiet, there was a great view of LA from our bedroom window, a view of the Hollywood sign from the driveway and the best Japanese Restaurant right next door.

The staff of the Magic Mountain Hotel transformed a compulsory stop-over in LA into an unforgettable experience. Thankyou!

Room Tip: We did not see the rooms in the main hotel at the bottom of the hill - so comments about the rooms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blaze_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I could write pages on the Magic Castle Hotel the staff and added extras made this place. All the guys behind the desk were great but Nick in particular went out of his way to help us he was awesome and very approachable.

The free snacks, movies, weather forecasts left on our pillow and all the other touches make this place amazing. If you're going to LA there is no where else you should look at. The rooms have everything you need and are very clean.

HIGHLY recommend - go there

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingkiwi84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 350 in Los Angeles
2,148 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 350 in Los Angeles
3,659 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 350 in Los Angeles
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Garland
#12 of 350 in Los Angeles
3,027 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 350 in Los Angeles
706 reviews
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magic Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magic Castle Hotel

Property: Magic Castle Hotel
Address: 7025 Franklin Avenue, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-8603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#2 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magic Castle Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one block from Grauman's Chinese Theatre, Hollywood Walk of Fame, and the Hollywood/Highland Center. We feature mostly very large One-Bedroom Suites. We also have smaller "Single" rooms, which are great for short stays and we have Two-Bedroom suites that sleep up to six people. All suites have a full kitchen, dining area, living room with pull-out sofa, and either one or two private bedrooms. We don't just talk about amazing guest service...we live it. Come and experience a truly unique and independent hotel. Enjoy the complimentary snacks available 24 hours a day, complimentary breakfast, and complimentary WiFi. Turndown service every night, and a newspaper delivered to your door each morning. Also enjoy access to the private club, The Magic Castle. There are age and dress code restrictions, so please ask us about it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Magic Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magic Castle Los Angeles
Hotel Magic Castle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing