We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best, but certainly ok!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles Harbor Hotel
Ranked #141 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Mismaloya, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Not the best, but certainly ok!!”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Why is it lobby hotels look so nice and the rooms are not?!!!

It is clean, the rooms look really old even on the club/executive level. If I were to be staying before or after a cruise, it is fine. Very convenient location for that and a couple blocks to the marina is a maritime museum and an Acapulco Mexican Chain restaurant. The actual city of San Pedro is pretty run down especially the main street with fast food, fuel, drugstores etc.
If you are there with a car, Long Beach is much nicer.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first. The air/heating unit in our room was so loud we did not get good rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terrynkathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Los Angeles Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
terrynkathy,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you were not fully satisfied with the accommodations received. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    203
    129
    54
    48
See reviews for
135
229
24
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lunenburg, Nova Scotia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed here for two nights pre cruise in January. We booked thru priceline and got a good rate and it was well worth what we paid for it. Rooms were clean and we found the staff very friendly and helpful. The restaurant served a very good breakfast and their evening mearls were reasonable. We would stay at this place again for a precruise.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank linric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

So, I come out here for work on a regular basis and have always requested a special time of checking in at 8am and checking out 3pm same day. I've always booked the night before, as suggested by their front desk to do so, in order to ensure a room would be available. They've always been accommodating for my special request and I've stayed with them at least 4 times in the past year. I booked again for this month's trip and of course with the new management, they were going to charge me another $80.50 if I didn't check out by 1pm. Wow, really? That was ridiculous seeing how often I do stay there. They weren't even willing to look at my past reservations. Some of the worst customer service ever.

I called the double tree down the street and they were the best ever. I've stayed with them before and they girl over the phone even remembered me from a reservation I made 6 months ago. I told her about my situation and they were beyond helpful. Even though the double tree is a little farther from where I'd like to be, it's so much better than staying at the crowne plaza.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MMS909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, ihgcare at Crowne Plaza Los Angeles Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear MMS909,

I would like to thank you for your review and apologize that your experience with our hotel did not meet your expectations. I would greatly appreciate further information regarding your stay in order that I can investigate further.

I have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Thanks,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

As others have said, this is a well kept, nicely located hotel for a pre-cruise overnight stay.
Was here on a priceline reservation for three rooms since I was taking children and grandchildren on a Disney cruise to Mexico.
When checking in we were informed that in order to get a room with two beds, an additional $10 fee was required beyond the priceline bid. I have NEVER before encountered a surcharge for a room with two beds and I travel on a priceline reservation all the time.
To use the computer in the business center required a $5 fee, even to print out a boarding pass. Again, a first.
Too bad such nice facilities are marred by fees that almost all hotels provide for free.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Los Angeles Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
DavidPortland,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. We’re sorry that you received service that was less-than-satisfactory. It is IHG's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Just stayed at the Crowne Plaza LA Harbor Hotel Feb. 17, 2012 with a "park n sail" package that includes a buffet breakfast, glass of wine at the bar and free shuttle to the ship and back with a secure parking for our car for the length of our cruise (up to 14 days and then they start fees) and our king non smoking room (sometimes we get upgraded to a suite). Reallly worth it. (Though I miss their cook to order eggs, I understand as prices are going up for everything.) It's so great to be so close to the pier, have pleasant and speedy service, wonderful accomodations (nice ammenities-comfortable bed with ample pillows, an aroma therapy sleep kit, that nice rounded shower rod that keeps your curtain clinging the tub and not you, nice little soaps and lotions to use so you don't have to unpack yours if you don't want.) and so far we always got a room with a view of the harbor lights at night and then a view of our cruise ship the next morning.
Another benefit of the location, is that there's a Rite Aid a few blocks up if you need to pick up something you forgot before setting sail (I believe that is Gaffey St). Also, several fast food places if you want to eat there or bring it back to the comfort of your room at night.
I also want to mention that the manager Allan Hernando went out of his way to help us with a special request for our friends traveling with us. We were really worried that it wouldn't work out but the manager, true to his word, made sure everything went as planned. I also want to thank Brenda at the front desk who caught the miscode on our reservation and rectified it and that she read the notes on our reservation so everything went smoothly. Kudos to all the staff. Thank you so much for making our stay the best! We'll be back in April!

Room Tip: See if you can get one with views of the harbor. I always ask for upper floors, away from the elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1funtravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Harbor
Best Western Plus San Pedro Hotel & Suites
Harbor
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Pedro
Harbor
Vagabond Inn San Pedro
Vagabond Inn San Pedro
#187 of 350 in Los Angeles
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Americas Best Value Inn
#2 of 2 in Rancho Palos Verdes
44 reviews
Harbor
Pacific Inn and Suites
Pacific Inn and Suites
#233 of 350 in Los Angeles
101 reviews
Harbor
Best Western Los Angeles Worldport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Los Angeles Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Los Angeles Harbor Hotel

Property: Crowne Plaza Los Angeles Harbor Hotel
Address: 601 S Palos Verdes St, San Pedro, Los Angeles, CA 90731-3329
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 350 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Los Angeles Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Gem of San Pedro! In this Los Angeles seaport town, you can enjoy cultural attractions, thriving businesses and a great coastal climate year-round. Recently renovated in cool hues with pops of color, our property is the place to stay! At the Crowne Plaza(R) Los Angeles Harbor hotel you are near the Port of Los Angeles, USS IOWA Battleship and Long Beach Convention Center. With almost 17,000 sq. ft. of flexible meeting space, our hotel is a great location for business and social events. We also have a Business Center, dedicated Crowne Meetings Director and Daily Meeting Debriefs, making us "The Place to Meet." Our hotel is within minutes of the Aquarium of the Pacific, Long Beach Convention Center, Terrace Theater, cruise and ferry terminals, historic Fort MacArthur and the HMS Queen Mary. You can play a round of golf at the nearby Trump National Golf Club or hop a ferry to Catalina Island for the day or weekend visit to Crafted at POLA. For a relaxing evening, spend time at the San Pedro Gateway, watch the dancing waters and light show of the Fanfare Fountain. Masters of the art of hospitality, our friendly staff will make sure your stay is excellent. You can start your day with a Guaranteed Wake-Up Call and enjoy our outdoor pool with peak-a-boo views of the harbor, fitness center and Blu Restaurant and Lounge. Make your reservations today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crowne Plaza Los Angeles Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles
Los Angeles Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing