We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,494)
Filter reviews
3,494 results
Traveller rating
1,782
1,196
344
116
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,782
1,196
344
116
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews universal studios free shuttle yard restaurant brady bunch house trolley service north hollywood holiday inn el dorado metro station pool area lovely hotel bunk beds on site restaurant hot tub studio city city walk small balcony
Filter
Updating list...
914 - 919 of 3,494 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2016

This hotel was recommended by a friend living here in LA. Great choice, just off the highway so really easy access. "the WIFI works" Rooms very comfortable, we were a family of 4 sharing a deluxe room with 2 queen beds. Hotel provides a free bus to Universal Studios and metro station. Nice grounds and pool area, very clean, onsite parking at $27 for valet per day, not sure if this is a good price. Did not eat here so cannot comment on food.
Hotel reception staff can be a bit hit and mis some extremely helpful, some not so.
The valet parking guys were extremely helpful

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2016

Dear John T,

Thank you very very much for your stay and your wonderful review. It is fantastic to know that you joined us based on a recommendation by your friend and that you share his love of the property now! Parking can be expensive in the area, but we do our best to offer reasonable rates. I will pass on your praise of our valet team to them and ask them to keep up the good work! We will see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

We had a great 3-night stay at The Garland. Our family (parents and kids aged 12 and 14) were very comfortable in the Portola Suite. Plenty of room, separate beds for the kids, and even a little "entry way" where we could pile our shoes. The decor was cool and the room was very clean and comfortable. The only problem was the freeway noise (which is the reason for the 4-star instead of the 5-star review). I much prefer to sleep with the window open, which was not possible given the proximity to the freeway, and the AC unit in the room was very loud. Fortunately I had ear plugs, although everyone else in my family seemed to sleep well without them. I will say too that despite the proximity to the freeway, when you are on the hotel grounds you do feel like you are "away" from the local bustle.

The staff throughout the hotel were friendly and helpful. The food was quite good. Definitely some of the better "hotel food" I have had, and we had 5 meals there. The trolley to Universal Studios was a great perk, as were the evening movies at the pool and the foosball table. There were lots of kids everywhere, which was great for us. I would definitely recommend this lovely hotel for families.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the "river" side (the LA river is really just an empty concrete aqueduct). Might be quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Dear lizbowens,

Thank you for your visit and for your wonderful review. Your depictions of our friendly staff members, delicious food options and overall accommodations demonstrate the care and pride we take into providing every guest with the best service and choices we can offer. Thank you very much for any recommendations; We are excited for new families to experience The Garland. We hope to see you return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Love this hotel! We arrived very late in the evening and very tired from our drive. The staff were great and got us checked in very quickly. The rooms were lovely and modern. The pool was very nice. The hotel has a free shuttle bus that takes you up to Universal Studios and also to the bus/metro stop if you ask. Will stay here again when we are back in LA.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AmyLou31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Thank you AmyLou31 for your review.

Regardless of the time that someone checks in we wish to provide a smiling face to greet them. So wonderful to hear that everything about your stay exceeded your expectations. We hope your travels bring you back to L.A. and to The Garland. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

We stayed here for 5 days in June. The hotel was easy to find, great access to the highway, Universal Studios, and lots of restaurants. They offer a trolley to Universal which we took advantage of-just be sure to get a schedule. The kids had a great time at the pool and the room was nice. We had one night where the neighbors were a bit loud, but that can happen in any hotel. The neighborhood was very nice and we were within walking distance of a Walgreens and Starbucks. Great restaurants over on Franklin just a few minutes drive away. I would definitely stay here again and did recommend it to family. Loved the toiletries as well!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mom2Grlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Dear Mom2Grlz,

Thank you for your fantastic review! So wonderful to know that we were in the perfect area for your needs while you were in the L.A. area. We hope you were able to dine at our restaurant on property during one of your evenings. We look forward to your future visit and for any family members you send our way! Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Located very close to universal studios. Great for families. Very nice hotel, clean. Bathrooms are awesome. Very accommodating staff. Manager Matt was great.
Kids loved the swimming pool and movie nights by the pool

Room Tip: face the pool so you do not hear the highway
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank arbel36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, Manager at The Garland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

Thank you arbel36 for your stay and review!

We take pride in our staff and it makes our day every time someone tells us just how friendly or accommodating they were with our guests. We will be sure to inform Matt that you mentioned him by name! We know he will be delighted.

Take care and we will see you on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews