We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel and nice breakfast ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites
Ranked #50 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

around 3 - 4 block from our hotel there is target and other store. and also there is a car rental near out hotel and inside westin also have the counter.
most of all we love the breakfast. there is no much choices but overall the serve the good one.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank linawati l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron H, Marketing Team at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you for the great review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, especially our breakfast. We are constantly committed to improving our guest’s overall experiences and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,942)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 67 of 2,942 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2017

My high school prom was held at the Westin Bonaventure Hotel, so when some 20 years later the opportunity to stay here came up, I thought it would be a bit of nostalgic fun.

I don't think the hotel has changed at all in 20 years. For such a landmark property in DTLA, the company is missing a trick by not upgrading the premises, particularly the food and shopping. There was nothing we found even remotely appetising in the food court area. The shops are full of touristy tat. Imagine what it would be like with high street or higher-end boutiques and a range of healthy, fresh food outlets?

Anyway, I digress. Let's do the review:

We stayed here for three nights. We upgraded to a Tower Suite in the Green Tower. Our room was fantastic -- a private bedroom with ensuite bathroom, a separate lounge and desk area, plus a second bathroom. The bed was really comfortable and afforded us a good night's sleep every night. Our complimentary water was replenished daily and the room service was good.

Hotel employees were efficient and helpful when we had questions; of particular note was the porter David. He was brilliant.

The hotel is within walking distance of Fig at 7th, Starbucks and other cafes, Grand Central Market, the Broad and MOCA, and an abundance of other DTLA attractions.

As I mentioned, we didn't eat at the hotel; we did try to get a drink at the hotel's pub but the service was diabolical and after waiting for what felt like an eternity one afternoon, we gave up. We tried again there another night to have a nightcap, but they wouldn't allow us to sit outside on their patio area.

The pool was a blessing in the heat. Clean and refreshing, with plenty of lounges, towels, and hygienic flip flops for single. We made use of the pool a few times, even in the evening it was enjoyable. The downsides here are that we found it a bit tricky to actually find the pool access from inside the hotel -- it's like a maze, and secondly, the pool is not lushly landscaped as per the website -- rather it is surrounded by concrete (both the deck and the area outside the pool enclosure), so the heat is pretty intense. Again, another opportunity to add some beautiful, native landscaping to the area to make it more California-lush and luxurious.

Overall, the hotel was fit for purpose: my husband had meetings nearby and it was a base for me to sightsee. It was clean and pleasant and friendly. We slept really well.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Tower Suite for extra space and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aprilinsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel and Suites. We really appreciate you offering your feedback.

I am sorry to hear that your experience at the Hotel pub was not pleasant. We will forward your experience to their owner. The Brewing company you mention are independently operated located on the 4th level and its not operated by the Westin Bonaventure.

I am very glad to hear your experience with the hotel was enjoyable and memorable. We look forward to seeing you next time.

Hong Tan
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We stayed here for 3 nights when in town for a festival in July. The hotel is very large, clean and in a nice location downtown. While the rooms are clean and comfortable (the Bed!) - the hotel could use an update. Overall the staff and housekeeping were very attentive. The only issue we had was that 2 nights in a row we came home late to a room with no water. The first time it came on rather quickly - the next night it took well over an hour, which stinks when you've been at a festival all day and just want to wash your face and brush your teeth.

The hotel is also close to Grand Central Market, which I would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron H, Marketing Team at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

We appreciate your valuable feedback Jamie and glad that you chose to stay with us. We are constantly committed to improving our guest’s overall experiences and hope to see you again. We'll make sure to look into the water issue for that room and share this review with our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

good bed, lots of white towels provided in bathroom, starbucks coffee in a room, great service of bellman and housekeepers! hotel needs major renovation, but i believe they have started the process (at least in lobby).nice view if u r in upper floor and good location (downtown) if u travel for party or business reason, otherwise u need car more than a hotel in downtown of LA.
parking is super pricy - 45$ a night, but around you can find places for 6-8$ a night with a condition to park after midnight and pick up before 11am.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ExploreWithHappySi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron H, Marketing Team at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thank you for the great review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and glad to hear that we were able to provide you with great service. We'll be sure to share this review with our team so that our high quality standards are constantly being upheld! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

This was an amazing trip with my son the Westin was very beautiful and amazing breakfast the valet parking was a very good time saver they are on the roll down there I was very happy with our stay a wonderful memory

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank dixonbutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aaron H, Marketing Team at The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thank you for the great review! We are thrilled to hear that your recent stay with us provided a wonderful memory for you and your son. We appreciate your valuable feedback and glad that you chose to stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#33 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,202 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 355 in Los Angeles
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Standard Downtown
The Standard Downtown
#109 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,274 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites

Address: 404 South Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, CA 90071
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#21 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#28 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#47 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#52 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: €171 - €419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 1354
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly presiding over the City of Angels, The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites provides the ultimate urban oasis in the heart of the business district. An international symbol that has come to represent the beauty and sophistication of the city itself, this famous Westin Los Angeles hotel is one of the most photographed destinations in the world. Stroll through our atrium lobby and you'll immediately see why. Whether you're visiting for a leisurely weekend getaway, business meeting or special event, our downtown Los Angeles accommodations define the essence of modern luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Bonaventure Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel Los Angeles
The Westin Bonaventure Hotel And Suites
Westin Bonaventure Hotel
Westin Los Angeles
Los Angeles Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing