We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Kinney(Marina del Rey)
US$373
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$451
US$402
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$726
US$552
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$554
US$520
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$375
US$358
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Angeleno(Los Angeles)(Great Value!)
US$324
US$305
Official Website
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Chamberlain West Hollywood(West Hollywood)(Great Value!)
US$359
US$278
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$313/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Shore Hotel(Santa Monica)
US$519
US$491
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$574
US$534
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$270
US$256
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
20
4
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
4
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslos felizsmeg fridgeboutique hotelhollywood blvdfireplacehangerssilverdalecomfortneighborhoodtoiletriescleanlinessluggagehallway
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

This 5-room boutique hotel was such a comfort to us after a long 30+ hours flight. The room is amazing, it feels more like a home than a hotel. Bedding was comfortable, everything was meticulously clean. The rooftop lounge area is a +++ ! Although we didn't really have time to make use of it.

Location is away from all the busy-ness, however there are a few restaurants nearby, Metro is under 5 mins walk. Best thing about the location is, awesome coffee shop AND awesome ice cream store just next door!

If I'm back to LA one day, I will stay here again.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank wsk_abc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We stayed for 3 nights in Chapter 1 in October last year.

As most people have mentioned, there is no formal reception area as such. On the Hollywood Blvd side, there is a gold door which leads up a flight of stairs (see picture of panelled staircase on their website) to the hallway of suites. This is the main door you use to access the suites although there is also a back entrance with a flight of stairs which allows you to access the small rooftop deck and (3?) of the suites including Chapter 1 in which we stayed (i.e. Chapter 1 has 2 entrances in which you can access, one from the main hallway and one from the breezeway that is connected to the rooftop deck). Via the back entrance you can also access the “reception” under the stairs to the rooftop deck which is largely just a room in which to meet the hosts and drop off bags if you are early like we were. It’s not a room in which you use to gain entry to the suites so you wouldn’t use it as a place to hang out like a standard hotel.

Chapter 1 is roomy and contains all of the eclectic and quirky features which no doubt readers of reviews of this hotel are seeking. The bed was super comfortable with a tv mounted on the wall running parallel to the bed so you can lie in bed and watch movies quite comfortably. There is a decent kitchen with a full size Smeg fridge and built in timber table for dining as well as lots of room to store luggage and generally stretch out.

You don’t stay at this hotel if you want full service (luggage taken to your room, turn down service, concierge etc). You stay here because you want to experience LA on your own terms and want to feel like you are a resident and not a tourist (although the hotel still provides creature comforts like amazing toiletries - see photo).

Bar Covell is located downstairs and offers a welcome place to eat when your feet are too weary to venture further to Silver Lake or the Los Feliz restaurants (which admittedly are only 5 mins walk away). Next door to the hotel is a café (Go Get Em Tiger) on one side which we had breakfast at a number of mornings (see photo) as well as Homestate on the other side for all your Mexican food cravings (open until 3pm).

If you are looking for Hollywood stars this is your neighbourhood. We encountered stars at Bar Covell and Go Get Em Tiger. If you want to mingle with stars in their natural environment this is the place to be!

When we booked this hotel there weren’t many reviews on TripAdvisor and I was originally concerned that being so close to a bar and main road such as Hollywood Blvd this would create noise issues. I can say in all honestly this was never a problem. We didn’t hear any noise in our room. Chapter 1 is located in the middle of the hotel and runs alongside the hotel rather than facing Hollywood Blvd so this coupled with the super comfortable bed no doubt helped.

I can’t speak more highly about this hotel. It’s quirky, is in a great location (I highly recommend walking to Silver Lake for all of the fabulous shops!), it is close to public transport if you want to catch a bus to Silver Lake or Echo Park and is a short walk to Los Feliz shops.

If you want to experience trendy LA, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: There are only 5 rooms so book early to get the room you want. Chapter 1 is located in the middle of the hotel and was very quiet and roomy.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Simsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

Very funky and fun. Super clean and comfortable and in a great neighbourhood. Roof terrace was lovely and the complimentary wine much enjoyed. Not your typical hotel and there is no lobby or reservation desk. You give them a call when you get there and someone comes and lets you in. Be forewarned, there is no elevator and luggage has to be navigated up a long flight of stairs. Totally worth it though!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adriaanse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Another reviewer praised the "cool" rooms. Indeed! If you want a hotel room that is full of stylish, kitschy, "cool" "objects" then Hotel Covell is for you. If, on the other hand, you want a hotel where you can comfortably spend some time just hanging out, my advice is to keep looking.

Certain features of Hotel Covell are terrific -- good bed, quiet (despite being on a busy street), efficient AC, high-end toiletries, super fluffy towels, comfy bathrobes, an ironing board, and a coffee pot with real coffee. What was missing (at least from our room) was anyplace comfortable to sit. (See photo. The only 2 chairs in the room.) Also missing... a reading light. Oh there was a light at the bedside alright but it had a 15 watt bulb in it. Very stylish but totally useless for reading. The only real light in the room was from the 8 overhead Halogen lights -- bright enough for a surgical suite but not so nice in a hotel room.

The whole Hotel Covell esthetic can be summed up in the photo of the terrace fireplace. Looks great and probably works ok, too. Don't know because it was warm when we were there. Check out the little carrier full of firewood right next to the fireplace. How handy! Except the fireplace is actually an electric stove. The basket of firewood is there just for looks.

I could forgive Covell's rather major (IMHO) deficiencies if the room had been inexpensive. But for $350 per night, I expect to at least be able to lie in bed and read before I go to sleep.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2016

This is a fantastic place to stay for exploring the area. Walk to all the local sights and come back and drink at the bar or on the very welcoming terrace!
Rooms are so spacious and very cooly decorated.
Owners could not do enough for us.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews