We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at Playa Del Rey
Ranked #4 of 95 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2017

I can't recommend this place enough. The service, the size of the rooms, the ambience, the location. All were perfect for a little get-away. Cookies were waiting for us in our room, the doors and windows of the veranda downstairs are open, bright and breezy. Tea and snacks are available throughout the day, breakfast in morning was great. The Grand View Suite is a lovely room with it's own porch overlooking the Bologna Wetlands -- you feel removed from the hustle and bustle of LA. Truly lovely.

Room Tip: great ambience, large rooms, amazing service
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz H, General Manager at Inn at Playa Del Rey, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Hi Matt T - we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Inn and that you loved our view of the Ballona Wetlands as much as we do! Today we saw several Great Blue Herons during our Wine & Cheese hour and just last week, a hawk visited and sat on our back porch - he was beautiful! We hope you'll come back and visit the Inn soon - homemade chocolate chips cookies will be waiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 21 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2017

I am torn on this hotel. The service is top notch, its so easy to get in and out, park etc. The breakfast is yummy, not just a continental, but actual protein packed eggs involved. The rooms themselves are well maintained and designed in a very relaxing coastal way. Problem is, I was on the first floor and could not fall asleep. I could hear everything in the kitchen/office and hallway and even my neighbors cell phone vibrating. I actually went to target to buy a fan to provide white noise for my second and third night. Also,if you are on the street side, you are right up against it. I was a room away and could still hear cars into the night. So...if/when I stay again, I will bring a white noise machine and request a room on an upper floor. Because I did find it peaceful and enjoyed my stay nonetheless. Especially because it is so pretty, off the beaten path, and still convenient to the west side.

Room Tip: choose and upper floor, off of street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank turkeybacon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz H, General Manager at Inn at Playa Del Rey, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Hi turkeybacon1, thank you for your review and feedback. We love what we do and we so appreciate you noticing our team’s great hospitality service. We are also delighted you enjoyed our breakfast buffet – isn’t that homemade granola amazing!? Thank you also for your feedback; we have addressed it with the team. We strive to ensure each of our guests has a peaceful stay and leaves the Inn rejuvenated. It is always helpful to the staff and to the guest to bring attention to anything that we can take care of during your stay. We would have assisted you with a fan or, if possible, found an alternative room.
We sincerely hope you will stay at our Inn again and when you make a reservation, please call us directly at (310) 574-1920 so we may note your preferences and make sure to book the perfect room for you. We look forward to seeing you again soon – homemade cookies will be waiting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

This is a very friendly family run hotel and it just ozzes character.
It's been several years since we have stayed here and it's our go to place when stopping over in LA...and it just seems to get better with ever visit if that's possible.
Set just a 10-15 minute cab ride from LAX, it's a brilliant convenient and quiet location with an elegant three story wooden hotel that's carefully maintained and beautifully furnished.
The staff are very helpful and nothing seems to be a problem that they aren't able to help solve.
The breakfasts are home cooked with lovely fresh ingredients and cover a wide range to satisfy most tastes. It's also the small things they do that make you feel that you are visiting an old friends house who are keen to make you feel welcome...from the complimentary wine and biscuits at 5pm, to the fresh cookies brought to your room at check-in.
We also were fortunate to receive an upgrade to one of their suites and what a fantastic room that is ( although the standard rooms are great as well)
The owners and staff really know their business in running a great hotel

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the wetland sanctuary and over to the Marina are the pick
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz H, General Manager at Inn at Playa Del Rey, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Hi Bruce M - thank you so much for your kind words and for noticing the good work of our team. We particularly loved that you noticed our homemade breakfast items are made with lovely fresh ingredients. We enjoy our small garden and the fresh vegetables it gives us for our cheese soufflés! We strive to be a sanctuary in the big city of Los Angeles and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. As always, homemade chocolate chip cookies will be waiting!





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

We were here for two nights. Everything was great. Rebecca was very friendly. We were given an upgrade!! Fantastic room. Lots of space. Meals were very good. Great view. I can see if on road side it would be noisy. Bed was hard for my taste but most hotels have too hard of beds for my choice.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dunn45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

We love this boutique hotel and stay here pretty frequently.. All the amenities you need for a Southern California sojourn. The hotel is tastefully decorated and is located on the estuary next to the main Marina del Rey shipping channel. The staff are quite friendly and the breakfast food was very good. Yes, I love the chocolate ship cookies...... Highly recommended.

Room Tip: West facing rooms towards the Marina are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#9 of 355 in Los Angeles
808 reviews
Jamaica Bay Inn
#3 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,299 reviews
Marina Del Rey Hotel
#1 of 11 in Marina del Rey
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venice
The Kinney
The Kinney
#2 of 11 in Marina del Rey
1,434 reviews
Venice
Hotel Erwin
Hotel Erwin
#11 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,380 reviews
LAX Area
Embassy Suites by Hilton LAX North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Playa Del Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Playa Del Rey

Address: 435 Culver Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90230
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Westside
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range: €196 - €319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Playa Del Rey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come stay at exquisite lodging near Los Angeles. Enjoy bike rides, country breakfasts, walks on the beach, luxurious amenities, private sunbathing gardens, and the serenity of nature at this elegant inn. Many rooms come complete with fireplaces, Jacuzzis, and private decks. Rated one of the "Ten Best Urban Inns" by Forbes.com, our Inn is sure to please. Look online to learn more about our convenient location, superb accommodations, and to book your stay today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Inn at Playa Del Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Playa Del Rey Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing