We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible food, Fabulous service, Wonderful History”

Musso & Frank Grill
Ranked #65 of 10,748 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Hollywood
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

If ever you want to dine in one of the last bastions of civility and best classic fine dining restaurants on Hollywood Boulevard, do choose the historic Musso and Frank Grill. It’s one of the last restaurants in L.A. that can still grill the perfect steak over mesquite charcoal, and that flavor and fragrance permeates their excellent cuts of meat to perfection every time. It’s over 100 years old and has an illustrious history starting with Charlie Chaplin, Mary Pickford, Rudy Valentino and the like enjoying meals...Fast forward a few years and still experience the extraordinary service, delicious steaks and salmon and amazing cheesecake. Of course they do serve the very best martini you might ever have! Don’t hesitate... make your reservation today!!

1  Thank gomccall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (928)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 72 of 929 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

We had 4 big steaks, everything cooks perfectly but have chef test it lately? all steaks with same sauce and 4-5 piece of vegetables.. Good tho just lack of favours

1  Thank Nimit T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

We came here 12 months ago and booked in advance of our return. The food,service and atmosphere did not disappoint. This is a must visit restaurant which is proud of its heritage and tradition as the oldest remaining restaurant in Hollywood. Marilyn had her favourite booth here and the restaurant pre dates the depression and prohibition.

Thank rustygrecian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

We dine out a lot, go to the best places in town no matter where we are. We have no special budget, just want a good experience. This place did not offer any part of a good experience. The waiter had lots of "attitude", served thing incorrectly, and the portions are extremely small...however boy do they know how to charge! I think they get away with it because inexperienced vacationers have heard about this "historic" spot, and are willing to throw their money away just to be able to be somewhere a star from the Golden Years hung out. We actually live here, had a lousy experience abut 10 years ago and then returned not too long ago and we will never, ever go back. There are lots more great places, with great food at normal prices, even upscale that are night and day to this "joint". I even wonder about how clean the kitchen is, after walking through their back door to get in. That, honestly is just an outside opinion I have no actual reason or knowledge about it, just the thought because of the "unclean" feeling I have in this place. You'd be far better off at another place you can Google "near Pantages theater" which is in the same area and if you want to see movie stars, go to Beverly Hills during the week. They usually stay away from crowds on the weekends.Sorry Musso & bFrank Grill, clean up your act, advertise that you did and "maybe" more people like us would return.

Some other places to have a descent meal in Hollywood would be: Delphine (definitely clean and right across from Pantages)- Cleo - OMG this spot is AMAZING!!!! You must check them out online but wow, what an amazing experience we had. Fabulous!

Although we were there about 10 months ago - we were also there about 9-10 years ago and didn't go back because they were really....really lousy!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank judysinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

We went here for a pre-theater dinner and it was very good. The portions are LARGE! I had a wedge salad which was essentially a small head of cold Iceberg lettuce with fresh bacon, lots of good blue cheese dressing, small croutons and chives. Honestly, I could have stopped there but went for a New York Strip, mashed potatoes, creamed spinach and french beans with mushrooms. Shared a large piece of fluffy plain cheesecake that was just the way I like it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gsconnor2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Musso & Frank Grill also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Musso & Frank Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing