We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable rooms. Excellent value in a great location to Hollywood sights.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hotel Hollywood
Ranked #10 of 91 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable rooms. Excellent value in a great location to Hollywood sights.”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Hollywood (careful not to confuse with 'Hollywood Hotel' = two different places!) for 4 nights in early feb 2012. I had booked through booking.com but payment was not taken until check in. Having arrived from Australia in the morning after a very long and tiring flight, we were a few hours ahead of check in time. Being told we were early, panic set in...however the guy was kind enough to check us in. Relief! Nothing worse after 20 hours travel to wait around even more. We were given room 306, the Marilyn room, which was lovely. Yes, there is no elevator but ground floor is 1st level, so it's just 2 floors up not three. You only really make 1 trip up and down the stairs with suitcases anyway so it wasn't a big deal for us. The room itself was functional for the size: queen bed, bedside table, desk with chair, fridge (big plus), microwave (big plus again) and free, I mean FREE wireless Internet. Other hotels please take note!!! (pet hate of mine to pay for Internet). The bathroom was ample, decent shower with good pressure and hot water. A breakfast consisting of bagels, coffee tea juice, fruits and cereal bars was provided free of charge in reception area. A few tables to sit on but could take up to room if preferred. I thought this was a nice touch. Really they didn't have to provide this but it was very convenient not having to hunt out brekky first thing in the day. As for the location, couldn't be much better. A short walk (<5 mins) to Hollywood/vine metro station Red line which takes you to downtown LA and north Hollywood (universal studios on this
line). Around the corner from Hollywood boulevard, although several blocks walk required to get to kodak/graumans theatre etc where the movie magic action is. Many 'interesting' shops on the way and if they aren't your thing just look down at the stars: walk of fame is very long and extends far beyond
kodak/graumans area. Hollywood blvd has many restaurants, bars and takewaway shops so you won't be short of options to eat. Venture down Cahuenga or Vine Streets for even more options. Recommend Kitchen 24, open 24 hrs and really nice. Trader joe's supermarket on vine, very convenient. The staff were very courteous and helpful with printing tickets for us. I could go on about how great the hotel is, but then again we had a really great stay and enjoyed Hollywood so much. It's very handy to universal studios, sunset blvd, train to downtown LA, a bus ride to a great market/ shopping area and of course the spectacle of kodak/graumans theatre area. Not so handy to the beach cities though. I would definitely stay here again, for the price this hotel is excellent value and so convenient in both what the hotel gives you and the location.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    235
    116
    26
    25
See reviews for
49
276
63
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

This bed and breakfast would have to have the most disorganised, inefficient booking system I have ever encountered.

After making a booking to stay here over the telephone, we then spent 2 days trying to contact them to amend our arrival date. When contact was finally made, we were informed that there was no reservation under our name (even though the cost of one night's accomodation had been deducted from our credit card).

A subsequent reservation was then made with an online travel booking agency.

A short time thereafter, a telephone call was received from the bed and breakfast asking if we had made a reservation directly through them by telephone. We confirmed the reservation, new arrival date, that we had booked through them directly and that we wanted to stay there.

A call was then made to the online travel agency cancelling the second booking made so as not to be paying twice for the same time frame.

We arrived a couple of days later to be advised that our original reservation had been cancelled, they had allocated our rooms to other guests and were now fully booked!

It then took several telephone calls to have the one night's accomodation refunded to our credit card.

It is clear that even making repeated telephone calls to this establishment cannot guarantee that your confirmed reservation will be honoured.

Stay here with caution.

Room Tip: You cannot be auured that your reservation will be honoured so think carefully before booking here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tropicgirl39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

This property is very like the boutique hotels we stay in in London. Tiny room, but comfortable. If you are looking for a hotel with a front lobby, elevators, electronic keys, and bell hops, then this is not it, but if you are looking for a clean, affordable dwelling with great staff and one awesomely comfortable bed, then this is the perfect spot.

We arrived early, but Dan, the front desk clerk, got us into our room early. We had heavy luggage and there is no elevator, but he pitched right in and took our bags up to the 3rd floor. Thank goodness. The room key is the old fashioned type; it's an actual key!

The room is pristine, with a large mirror, a rack for clothing, a fridge, and a microwave. I dearly miss having a tea/coffee maker and complained at the front desk. The dear man put a small electric kettle into our room when we were gone, so I can have my middle of the night tea.

It is so easy to get around from here: the Metro is a short walk away, and the heart of Hollywood is a short cab ride, Metro trip, or walk away.

There is a laundromat across the street, a CVS pharmacy, a 7-11, and a market right nearby. Capital Records is just down the street if you care to see a nice picture of the Beatles.

The Hollywood Walk of Fame is within spitting distance, and the famous corner of Hollywood and Vine is a couple of minutes away. The Pantages Theatre is here, too.

All in all, this is a great bang for our buck: fair prices, very, very comfortable bed, and wonderful staff.

The breakfast is very simple fare, so we mostly passed on that. And the breakfast room is more like a tiny cocktail lounge with stand-up tables, but again, no big deal. We can find food elsewhere.

Beware, if you take a cab from the airport, your cabbie will probably have no clue where this hotel is...Google as you drive...and SHOW traffic...that will help a lot in keeping the cab cost down. About $55-70.

If you don't have a lot of luggage, try the Metro. It's fast and efficient. A little short on signage, but once you get the hang of it, it is okay. Parking is not terribly expensive, but it is not free. We cabbed and took the Metro...saved quite a bit on rental car fees.

All in all, we would stay here again in a heartbeat if we wanted to be in the heart of Hollywood.

Free wireless internet!

Room Tip: If you have trouble climbing stairs, ask for a ground floor room; otherwise, this place is not for y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheree Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

We visited back in October for our 2Nd TIME. We had an awesome previous experience so we decided to do this hotel again. However, we seen a roach running around. This was disgusting and surprising considering the hotel didnot appear to be dirty. Well except for the carpet that left our feet dirty but we didnot expect a roach. We like the staff and so writing this review is difficult as they were so super nice to us. I am like a bug phobic and just seeing that roach kept me up at night. So I sincerely hope they deal with that because that is the only horrible thing about this hotel. I would totally give it four stars if the roaches were gone. I couldnot go anywhere else as our budget didnot allow for that. Oh and another thing is we seen a rat running across the street but theres none in the hotel that We had seen. Thanks:).

Room Tip: If you cannot handle stairs request a low floor room because theres no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TrisHAnNDecE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

The location was perfect for the event i was attending. Was able to take the train into town and the cost for my tickets was less than what parking would have been. The room was decently sized, with a fridge/microwave, flat screen tv and wifi. Room rate was very good, and in the morning bagels,fruit, orange juice is served until 11am. I definitely enjoyed this location and will keep it in mind next time i venture to the hollywood area.

Room Tip: Call in ahead of time to ask for early check in if you require it, they were very accomodating with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omarucsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#44 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,450 reviews
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#27 of 351 in Los Angeles
400 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#18 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,864 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,126 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#21 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Hollywood

Property: The Hotel Hollywood
Address: 6364 Yucca Street, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Region: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hotel Hollywood 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Hollywood is an historic boutique hotel located in the heart of Hollywood, "as close as you can get" to all the action and glamour of the world’s most visited city. The hotel is situated just one block north of the famed Hollywood Boulevard. Centrally located to everything Hollywood has to offer; The Hollywood Bowl, Mann's Chinese Theater, Walk of Fame, Kodak Theatre, Pantages Theatre, Movie Star Homes and much more are all just steps away, making The Hotel Hollywood the most accessible of all the Hollywood, CA, hotels. You can even hop on the Metro Red Line, the city's subway that links Hollywood to Universal Studios and the Greater Los Angeles Area, making your stay that much more convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hotel Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Westside Rentals Hollywood
Westside Rentals Hollywood Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing